We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frinton Road, Thorpe le Soken CO16 0JD England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (997)
Panoramas (59)
Room & Suite (496)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Updated 12/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 12/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


Lifehouse Spa & Hotel, located in Thorpe-le-Soken, Essex, is a contemporary lifestyle spa. Only 80 minutes from London by train and set in 130 acres of grounds, Lifehouse Spa & Hotel will help you revitalise and relax in beautiful surroundings. With a selection of day and residential packages to choose from, guests can indulge in a day of pampering, or truly get away from it all with an overnight stay. With 89 bedrooms, 35 treatment rooms, a gym, exercise studio, swimming pool, sauna & steam room, thermal spa area with salt-inhalation room, relaxation area, manicure and pedicure stations,and 12 acres of listed gardens, you can do as much or as little as you like!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
Steam room
Adults only
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
2230Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 840
  • 624
  • 405
  • 210
  • 151
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Arianne wrote a review 16 Jun
Essex, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
The spa is lovely and we had no difficulty getting loungers. There is also an outside area with loungers which is perfect if the weather is nice. Due to covid restrictions you need to book to use the sauna & steam room but that’s easily done. Myself and my partner both had a full body massage which was amazing. Our room was huge and very clean! Unfortunately there was no air con which was disappointing as it was a really hot day but there was a fan provided in the room. I wouldn’t recommend having dinner at the restaurant. The food is very very average and incredibly overpriced. If we are to stay here again we wouldn’t eat at the restaurant and if we did it would only be for the convenience of it being on site. There are a couple of pubs a 5 minute drive away which you can go to rather than eat at the hotel restaurant. I also wanted to add that the all the staff were friendly and very helpful! We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t eat at the restaurant - very overpriced and not worth the money.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Imogen B, Revenue Management at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Hi Relax, thank you for your comments, delighted you enjoyed your stay ! Hope to see you another time.
Read more
ninathescoop wrote a review May 2021
Theydon Bois, United Kingdom18 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed overnight on the UK’s third unlock to celebrate my friend’s birthday. The staff were attentive, friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent for dinner in the restaurant and the room was lovely, with a great view. The treatments were wonderful, including my first scalp & face massage by Deborah. She’s converted me! Really spoilt ourselves with the Prosecco Spa Package which included a full body massage. Maisie and Jana were also great when doing my pedi and mani. COVID restrictions were well sign-posted, including pre-booking to use the sauna, steam and salt rooms. Overall, couldn’t recommend the Lifehouse more!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There’s good parking. Check-in was 1400 and check-out 1200, but you can stay on as a day spa...
See more room tips
Response from Imogen B, Revenue Management at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Ninathescoop, thank you very much for your review! I have passed your comments over to the team, they are delighted you enjoyed your break. Hope to see you again in the future !
Read more
Flossy14 wrote a review 13 Jun
St Albans17 contributions2 helpful votes
This is our second stay . Chosen for the location rather than the facilities (we spent most of our stay at lovely Frinton during the day) That said - we wanted to use the pool and did book a couple of treatments . So positives first - struggling here tbh ! Restaurant was probably the best experience . Very welcoming staff , food good though small portions and as it was busy ,there was a nice atmosphere - mix of chatter and background music . We were lucky with the weather so sat outside in the pretty courtyard after dinner . Sadly I don't really have much else good to write about this Venue :-( Breakfast was disappointing ! Inedible scrambled egg and awful herby sausages that might be ok as a supper dish but not first thing in the morning ! We paid a supplement for a room upgrade and checked into a room close to our previous stay . But were so disappointed that the room felt very tierd and unloved and not sure it had seen a lick of paint in the two years since we last stayed ? Carpet was stained ,curtains faded and our little Garden Patio and furniture were filthy - cobwebs all around the patio doors .An overhanging flowering bush left a carpet of brown blooms on the patio and every time we went in back into the room it got caught in our hair covering us and we could not avoid treading it in . I felt so sorry for the cleaners ! I just cannot understand why in the months that the Venue was closed that they didn't spruce the place up a bit . A lick of paint and a jet wash would have made all the difference . Sadly the gardens had been forgotten too during the lockdown and most beds full of weeds - including the sunken garden which was a sorry state to see ! There were a few Sunbeds outside near our room - again in need of a jet wash ! I went to Reception to ask if they had any cushions for them to be told no !! We had to use pillows from our bed , to lay out on them . My partner and I both had treatments on day two of our stay . We both had massages which were very good - however the room was incredibly hot and the therapist said she was waiting for a fan . In the meantime I asked her to open a window , but unfortunately loud conversation from the room next door drowned out the relaxing music ! so I found it difficult to relax and I felt so sorry for the therapist having to work in those conditions ! I also had another treatment as part of a package we had booked - the girl was very pleasant , but there was no consultation ,nor any discussion following the treatment about the products she had used or recommended for my skin .She used awful smelling (I presume cheap ! ) products . normally I love the smell of products used in a spa . We did use the pool , but remembered from last time and even pre covid that it was best to avoid during the day as gets very busy. I did mention my concerns to a disinterested Receptionist and she said she was new and so made a note and said leave it with her ! However at checkout there was no mention of my concerns or an apology of any sorts and we weren't even asked the generic ''was everything ok with your stay ?'' So after sorting out our incorrect Bill ! we were pleased just to be heading home . I really hope the resort ups it game and spends a few bob and a bit of love on the venue - I am sure they will blame Covid but they are selling rooms now and it sad to see the state its currently in .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Room Tip: Garden rooms
See more room tips
Response from Imogen B, Revenue Management at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Flossy, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit. As I am unable to idenitfy which room you stayed in I can only confirm that the reception team feedback comments daily and any issues highlighted are checked. Our team when permitted through closure over the last year have been working hard to refresh the property, so i can only apologise if you did not see the many improvements we have managed to accomplish throughout a very difficult and restrictive time.
Read more
Kim A wrote a review 12 Jun
1 contribution
Book a one night get away. Place is very tired. Staff are rude. Gym is filthy. Supplement for steak which was tough and fatty. Buffet for breakfast although table service is only allowed for covid. Room carpet stained and door hard to close Tried to speak to receptionist about my concerns but she just started talking to someone else. Emailed and no one has had the decency to respond. A lot of money spent no treatments as they wasn't sure how many staff would turn up. Don't waste your money. Over priced
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Imogen B, Revenue Management at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Kima, thank you for your review. The team have been working hard on refreshing the property throughout covid. I am surprised by your comments over the staff being rude, as the team are regularly praised by our guests on their welcoming and friendly manner. The Government restrictions state that buffet served to you is permitted, which is the service we offer for breakfast. The 'help yourself' buffet is not permitted. I am unable to locate any emails from your name, and i can only apologise you did not enjoy your visit.
Read more
115Dee115 wrote a review 6 Jun
Warwick, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Great expectations from driving into the grounds, but somewhat dashed at the confusion over my booking (booking.com) as their reservation system had not updated my latest communications with them by direct telephone call to the hotel reception. However the reception (duty?) manager very helpful in sorting it out. Excellent lunch but a very abrupt refusal from the restaurant manager to allow us to book dinner the following night on the terrace (message sent though the waitress and in spite of asking to see him I was ignored) Treatments (4 over the 3 days) were very good with experienced therapists, however the bookings were different than those confirmed a few days before (important to me as I had other visits to plan in) so other plans had to be changed and then I found it the itinerary given me at reception was wrong against the bookings against the spa reception! After returning to my room to change for going out the room cleaner denied access to the room as she was changing the beds and we were left to stand in a corridor until she came out!! Not acceptable protocols! Once again we had issues with the diner reservation on out last night. I had felt extremely uncomfortable in the breakfast area as tables were too close and self service was behind a curtain with no air circulation. On return to the hotel in the afternoon I visited the restaurant o explain about not wanting to eat other than outside on the terrace and was told OK-unusual but they would accept my request. When I arrived for the table I was told that the manager had decided I could not do that and he would talk to the duty manager. I was left standing for almost 15 minutes when he returned and just stood in front of me expecting me to say why I was there. Very rude!! Finally I was allowed to have a table on the terrace but told I could only have one course!!! What???? Luckily a very pleasant waitress let me have the dessert menu which was the restaurant one after all!! Finally an order for the Gouda texture cheese as described on the menu (a Cornish one) turned out to be a soft cheese that my pregnant granddaughter was advised not to eat by pregnancy eating guidelines. If the description had been accurate we would not have ordered it. No apology! The new maitre d' needs to improve his customer relationship skills and have a more friendly attitude to clients. Beautiful grounds to walk in but the experience spoiled by the various issues that arose. Furthermore the pool and wet areas felt oo crowded for me to use the facilities in this current pandemic albeit bookings were being taken as it si so small for the quantity of visitors and residents
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Room Tip: Room overlooking to lake and gardens very pleasant
See more room tips
Response from Imogen B, Revenue Management at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 115Dee115, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry to read you had some issues during your visit. Our property, including the restuarant and spa facilities comply with Covid-19 regulations, we are holders of a Good to Go Cerification validating this, and our occupancy for overnight guests and spa days has been substantially reduced to enable social distancing, but please be assured i will pass your comments over to the management team for review. thank you
Read more
US$174 - US$303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
lifehouse country hotel thorpe le soken
United KingdomEnglandEssexThorpe le Soken
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Tricky Escape Clacton (6.3 km), West Cliff Theatre (7.3 km), and Great Danes (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aroy Thai, Bluebird Tearooms, and The Bicycle.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Lifehouse Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Thorpe le Soken.
Does Lifehouse Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting West Cliff Theatre (7.3 km) and St. Mary the Virgin (5.6 km).
Does Lifehouse Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.