The Haven Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Haven Hotel

Traveller (143)
The view from room 4
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Dunmore East
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Something for everyone - Here at the Haven Hotel! Unique family owned & run hotel in Dunmore East, Award-winning wedding venue , Great food , Stunning sea views, Live music events
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Babysitting
Children's playground
Taxi service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Archery offsite
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern

Location

Dock Road, Dunmore East X91 AXN8 Ireland
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles314 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Haven Hotel garners praise for its impressive bridal suite, picturesque grounds, and rooms boasting sea views that offer a comfortable stay with excellent food, making it a popular choice among guests. While cleanliness is a standout feature, with meticulous rooms and well-maintained surroundings, a few visitors have raised eyebrows regarding food hygiene. Despite the occasional cramped room, many find the hotel provides good value. The vibrant atmosphere is frequently celebrated, particularly for weddings, and the commendable service, marked by a hospitable staff, further enhances guest satisfaction. However, some guests have encountered issues with the WiFi connection.
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
314Reviews5Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 197
  • 48
  • 21
  • 24
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
pwurple wrote a review Sept 2021
Cork, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We attended a family wedding at the haven hotel, and were really impressed with how they handled the arrangements. Ceremony, food and wine all worked like clockwork.

Breakfast was good, could be very good with a small change. Eggs, toast , fruit, pancakes are all perfect. Cordial isn’t good for breakfast, juice would be better. Sausages are deep fried catering sausages, better quality sausage would be nice, the area has great butchers.

Room organisation was mixed, our booking and our friends booking was lost. We were given camp beds and shared a room, friends were accommodated in a B&B. Rooms were ok. Bathrooms in garden rooms are micro, no room to hold a toothbrush. Bring your own shampoo if you have sensitive skin , the one provided is harsh on skin.

Location is gorgeous, views over the sea, loads of stunning beaches nearby.

Enjoyed our stay, and excellent venue for a wedding.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haven Hotel, Owner at The Haven Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We have taken on board your comments regarding your breakfast and always strive to improve. We hope to see you back soon! Kind regards Paul Kelly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nrb wrote a review Oct 2020
Cork, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
While we enjoyed our 2 night stay in Dunmore East, not sure I would return to this hotel again while we are battling Covid 19. Which is a pity because it is a lovely comfortable old hotel, with the most friendliest of staff. My reason being that guests were walking around the place, the stairway to the bedrooms, corridors leading to the toilets, and between the tables in the bar without wearing any masks as is a requirement under the current Covid 19 restrictions. One evening the bar was full and no Social Distancing was evident. On one occasion a group of 4 stood right over our table discussing where they should sit. No masks! This issue needs to be policed more closely by the duty manager.
Other than that our room had a fab view of the harbour, and had the most comfortable bed. The bathroom was an ok size with a good powerful shower. There is no hospitality tray or mineral water supplied in the room but apparently if you request them they will be supplied, perhaps, a note to this effect in the rooms would be a good idea.
Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. There is an electric car charging point very close to the hotel another positive. We did not eat at the hotel but I believe it to be very good. I would recommend this hotel to others, if the 'mask, social distancing' issues were addressed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haven Hotel, Owner at The Haven Hotel
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for awarding us four stars. While we would prefer guests to wear face masks we are not in a position to enforce it as they are currently not mandatory in restaurants and bars. We do, however, insist that our staff wear masks for their own safety as well as the safety of our guests. We have removed hospitality trays from bedrooms to reduce the number of unnecessary touch points. You would have received advance notice of this in your welcome email, the day before you arrived. We also inform guests when they check in that, while this facility is not available in rooms at the moment, we are very happy to deliver a hospitality tray and bottled water to your room should you wish. We have not put notes in the room to explain this as this too increases the number of touch points, hence the reason we send out room information via email the day before guests arrive. We do hope you will come back to visit us again and are delighted you enjoyed your stay, despite Covid-19! Kind regards Paul Kelly Owner/Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Shazzasharrie wrote a review Oct 2020
Waterford, Ireland
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After our initial trip was cancelled we decided to stay local and booked into the haven for the weekend,its a small hotel in Dunmore surrounded by the sea, a beautiful setting and the sun was shining too.! The staff here are all really pleasant and helpful the manager is there and engages well with the residents and all the staff look really happy and are efficient. The barman makes lovely cocktails and pours the perfect pint of guiness ! We ate in the restaurant on the first night and we really enjoyed our meal, my steak was cooked perfect, husband had hake and thoroughly enjoyed it, Sunday we had the world famous roast and it was delicious,I'd highly recommended the Haven for a little get away, you could be anywhere ! Hard to believe we were only a few miles from home ! We will definitely be back ! Thanks to all the staff we had a wonderful time x
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haven Hotel, Owner at The Haven Hotel
Responded 25 Jun 2021
Thank you very much! Your comments mean a lot to the team. Regards Paul Kelly Owner/Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
creaghtwin wrote a review Aug 2023
Dublin, Ireland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a double room in this hotel for one night. We were offered the garden room which is not in the hotel itself. This room is in a 6 chalet type room in a single block of accommodation. The entry door into the room could not open out fully as there was a storage unit behind the door. The bathroom was 6ft x 5.5ft. There was a smell coming from waste pipe so the window had to be kept open at all times. The bedroom was ridiculously small, could hardly walk around the bed (definitely not together). Breakfast the next morning, the staff handled the bread for toast without gloves and also picked the grapes for a fruit salad without any gloves on. Overall a very disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't opt for garden room unless completely desperate.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Kelly, Owner at The Haven Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2023
Hello there, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. When you reserve a room via our website, this will allocate the best room available. Your reservation was only made 9 days prior to you checking in with some of our rooms being booked out months in advance. When you confirmed your booking, your confirmation email would have said that you were allocated a garden room which is directly adjacent to the main building, this is not something you were just offered on arrival. We have our rooms regularly inspected from Fáilte Ireland who deem all of our rooms to meet the sizing standards, however we apologise if this did not meet your expectations. What we recommend is to book as far in advance to secure a room in the main building as they are booked out from very far in advance. We apologise if there was a smell coming from the room, if you had brought this up with a member of staff we would have done all we could to fix this. We have spoken to the servers at breakfast about the handling of food in hygienic ways, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We always suggest to our guests that if there is an issue with anything to do with your stay that you bring it up with our members of staff rather than writing a review after your stay as we cannot do anything to solve the issue then. Regards, Paul Kelly/Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ross McEntegart wrote a review Sept 2021
Dundalk, Ireland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I wrote the following yesterday:
"“Food Served All Day” apparently doesn’t include 3pm on a Friday.

That’s all, really.

They have signs up saying “Food Served All Day”.

We arrived.

We wanted to eat.

It was 3pm.

Last time I checked, “All Day” included 3pm, so we thought “Ah, we can get some food here”.

Nope. Apparently not."

The hotel responded today:
"Yes Ross we were serving food all day. Unfortunately we were completely booked out with parties on Friday serving food. As all of our advertising states "booking is essential" you might consider ringing beforehand to ensure availability."

My response to their response:
To say you were fully booked is a lie. There are approx 25 tables outside on your terrace, and a function marquee. The marquee was empty. Of the terrace tables, one was occupied, by two people and a dog who were not eating. The rest were unoccupied.
Inside, there seemd to be one group of approx 4-5 people drinking in the bar. As far as I could see, they were not eating.
When I asked if I could order food, the waitress looked at her watch, and then over at the ladies behind reception. One of them said "We're not serving food now." When I said "There's a sign outside saying "Food Served All Day"", she said "There's a function later. Maybe I'll get someone to cover up the sign."

The FACT is that they were not serving food at that time. Neither excuse/reason offered alters that FACT.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom wrote a review Oct 2021
Waterford, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were greated by a friendly and very helpful member of staff also on phone when booking she told us they had a nice ground floor double room and it was a really lovely room well decorated.

We went for of evening meal the food was fantastic really tasty and you get a decent size portion. The floor staff had a friendly and inviting manner making you feel welcome and the bar staff and bat Manager were helpful and assisted us to our every need lovely view of the sea as well.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and its ideal for weddings as well
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ample parking available on hotel grounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haven Hotel, Owner at The Haven Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We pride ourselves on a warm welcome and that you feel relaxed during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Paul Kelly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irish Artist wrote a review Sept 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A frequent visitor to this elegant hotel pre-covid and enjoyed the location and old-world style of the hotel. However for a recent stay, found that Reception, bar staff and visitors were unmasked inside the hotel. A frosty welcome when checking in. No option for an outdoor or in-room breakfast if you were nervous about the lack of mask wearing indoors.
On the positive side, we had a garden room which was nice and quiet and avoided walking through the hotel. A nice location overlooking the sea. Can recommend the outdoor area in the Strand in lower Dunmore for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sinead R wrote a review Oct 2021
Dublin, Ireland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Haven to attend a nearby event. A couple of locals told us it's known locally as Fawlty Towers (after the BBC sitcom) and indeed it looks like it, in a beautiful setting, fabulous gardens and a lovely house.
Unfortunately, it was a bit fawlty towers inside too.
Rooms are tiny and hot. Window doesn't open. But clean and nicely decorated.
Although staff were generally pleasant and helpful one gentleman was not. He was a manager of some kind and refused to serve us food because we were in the 'wrong' room. The exchange would have been hilarious if it was in a comedy script. We were just annoyed. It went something like this:
"You can't order food here". (we had been given menu by bartender)
"Why not?"
"The kitchens closed at 8 and we only serve in the dining room " (it was 7.40)
"Can we sit in the dining room? I can see a table free"
"Too late, that one is booked" (again, it was 20 mins before kitchen 'closed'.
"But you're still serving" (waiters were in/out of the kitchen with food trays.
"Yes, but not in the bar".
"But we can't have *that* free table in the dining room?"
"No, because you didn't book it".
"What else can we do?"
"You can get takeaway pizza in the village and eat them here".
And that, folks, is what we resorted to doing.
The table in the restaurant remained vacant.

I'm all for supporting the hospitality industry post Covid, but they have to want it.
We (4) were prepared to pay and hungry, and sent to a pizzeria!
Won't be returning, needless to say.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for the largest one.. it will still be small.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jillc31 wrote a review Aug 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We got married in the Haven Hotel, mid July 2023 and our wedding was absolutely amazing and a dream come true. We cannot recommend the venue and the team enough, the staff are simply incredible.

All of our guests are still raving about the beautiful marquee, the atmosphere, the impeccable service and how AMAZING the food was. For me the food was one of the most important things on the day and it was just fantastic and plentiful! Even down to the canapes pre-dinner, it was just superb.

The atmosphere and ease at which we felt at the Haven was due to being looked after so well by the staff really made our day. I was quite nervous and this just disappeared on the day as Karen & Paul had everything down to a tee.

Our room was gorgeous and sparkling, with the most beautiful view of the sea. Also to note that the rooms were very reasonably priced for our guests, which is really appreciated given the expense that a wedding weekend brings in general for people. Breakfast was also delicious!

A huge thank you to our wedding planner Karen, who was so accommodating right from the start. Herself, Judy & Jayne assisted us in every step of the way and literally made our whole wedding process STRESS-FREE. Paul, alongside the barman David & Darryl were so fun and welcoming and just made our day so special, I literally can't thank them enough.

All in all, we (along with our guests) give Haven 5 stars as a wedding venue, and can't wait to go back again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brendan C wrote a review Aug 2021
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful is the best way to describe our experience, we paid €140 a night and it was worth every cent of it. Let me start off with the staff, these guys worked their socks off and did it with style and courtesy that the larger hotel chains can only dream off. The food was lovely I would recommend the "world famous roast beef" as it was super. We stayed in room No.12 and it was really comfortable, if a little tierd around the edges but for me that added to the overall charm of the hotel. Well done Paul and all the staff, cant wait to get back down
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haven Hotel, Owner at The Haven Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for your review Brendan. We look forward to welcoming you back in 202. Oh! and room 12 has been redecorated! Kind regards Paul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1967 asked a question Dec 2020
8 contributions4 helpful votes
Do they cater for Coeliacs
Answer from HavenDunmoreEast
Dunmore East, Ireland8 contributions
Hi there, yes we certainly cater to coeliacs.
davy p asked a question Mar 2016
Belfast, United Kingdom9 contributions6 helpful votes
When will you be open again for business.
madmartina asked a question May 2015
Dublin, Ireland123 contributions82 helpful votes
What is your room rate for B&B over night for two adults sharing? Thank you
james p asked a question May 2015
Dublin, Ireland70 contributions55 helpful votes
How far from village of Dunmore East is hotel
Answer from Blacki75
6 contributions10 helpful votes
Its bang in the middle of dunmore east village, a very short walk to the harbour and even shorter to the shops and pubs etc
k_gillane asked a question Mar 2015
tipperary2 contributions
What are the indoor pool opening times please.
Answer from dnm29
57 contributions24 helpful votes
The hotel has no pool.
James C wrote a tip 3 Jul
6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid fish of the day"
Read full review
Susan C wrote a tip Jun 2024
Dublin, Ireland47 contributions57 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go "
Read full review
Maureen M wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you return late (as we did) there may be no one on duty. The lock for the key is located way above the chubb lock - above eye level. "
Read full review
Siobhán H wrote a tip Jun 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Head across the road to badgers cove to find some sea treasures while the tides out"
Read full review
Guide27762922499 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a quiet romantic getaway then this hotel is not for you"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dunmore East area.
PRICE RANGE
€153 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty WaterfordDunmore East
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HAVEN HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Dunmore East, County Waterford) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Haven Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Haven Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dunmore Adventure (0.4 km), The Spinnaker Bar and Restaurant (0.4 km), and Breakwater Gift Shop (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Haven Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Haven Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Haven Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Haven Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Spinnaker Bar, serving food, Azzurro, and O'Sheas Fish & Chips.
Is The Haven Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 km away from the centre of Dunmore East.
Does The Haven Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Haven Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hook Lighthouse (6.1 km) and Loftus Hall (5.8 km).
Does The Haven Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Haven Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Dunmore East HotelsDunmore East Hotel DealsHotels near The Haven Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire