We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Haven Hotel Dock Road, Dunmore East X91 W322 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$168
Vio.comUS$168
Agoda.comUS$167
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (99)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (16)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Dunmore East
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Haven Hotel is a truly unique venue and we are dedicated to making your time with us special. Celebrating its reopening in 2016 The Haven has been carefully renovated and refurbished but still retains its quirky charm. Owned and managed by the Kelly family for over 50 years, the hotel is set in stunning surroundings in the heart of the beautiful fishing village of Dunmore East, in the Sunny South East we like to think we have something for everyone. We pride ourselves on serving delicious home cooked food and celebrate Irish produce and use products from recognised Quality Assurance Schemes, specialising in Roast Rib of Prime Irish Beef and locally caught seafood. Food is served all day. As a must for music lovers we have live music in the bar most weekends and on the new outdoor stage on Sundays in the summer months. Children are especially welcome and we host Family Fun Sundays throughout the summer with live music, bouncy castles, ice cream and BBQs. As The Haven started life as a private home all our bedrooms are different sizes to accommodate families and couples alike. They have recently been completely renovated and refurbished, and each boasts comfy beds with crisp white sheets, a flat screen multi-channel television, hairdryer, tea/coffee hospitality tray and free WIFI. We have 12 bedrooms in the main house - many with stunning sea views. We have a further six bedrooms in the Garden Rooms. One of our bedrooms on the ground floor is wheelchair accessible. Our bridal suite comes complete with four poster bed. We look forward to meeting you at The Haven Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Hiking
Babysitting
Children's playground
Taxi service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Water sport equipment rentals
Archery offsite
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
274Reviews5Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 168
  • 43
  • 20
  • 22
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Terry L wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
We recently had a special "Birthday" party for my husband at the Haven Hotel. Quite honestly the staff at the Hotel were top class and couldn't do enough for us. The food was delicious and the accommodation was five star and spotlessly clean, we were more than thrilled with how the evening went. Would highly recommend a visit .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hughie O Neill wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
What can i say Paul, Karen and every member of staff in the Haven Hotel thank-you so much for everything you did for us you are just a class act.... From the day we booked our wedding in 2018 to having to reschedule it twice over two years because of Covid.. Karen was just unbelievably helpful nothing was too small a problem and definitely nothing was too big an issue if awards were handed out for Wedding Planner of the Year Karen's name would be on it every year... Paul is honestly one of the nicest people you could ask to meet. And that also shows in the Haven's brilliant staff. He literally could not do enough for us or could they... Also like to give a mention to Judy and Jane thank you both for all your help you are fantastic If your planning on get married make the The Haven hotel your first stop you won't need go elsewhere trust a couple that will talk about our day for the next 50 years From Hugh and Amanda the new Mr and Mr's O Neill Thank-you all ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Haven Hotel, Owner at The Haven Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will pass on your comments to the team. Wishing you health and happiness in your life together and hopefully we'll see you both again soon. Regards Karen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue A wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
We stayed 2 nights in Sept 2022 and we were allocated room 8. It was a tiny room with very little space around the small double bed, so if you want a decent sized room don't choose a standard double. The bathroom floor was dangerous, it had cracked ceramic tiles with sharp exposed edges, likely to cut your feet. We had to put towels on the floor to protect our bare feet. The cracks can be seen in the video tour of room 8 so no attempt has been made to rectify this problem. I asked at reception to move rooms because the floor was unsafe and likely to cause injuries. I was told by the receptionist that no other rooms were available, but no attempt was made to address the problem of the bathroom floor. I would not recommend you stay here as the complaint I made to the receptionist was, as far as I could tell, not passed on to the manager. If it had been I'm sure that he would have wanted to offer a solution.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Haven Hotel, Owner at The Haven Hotel
Responded 26 Sep 2022
We had indeed not been made aware of your complaint. We will immediately take action within our reception and housekeeping teams and rectify the floor. Thank you for making us aware. However, it is regrettable that you had to use social media to do so. Regarding the room size, the hotel was initially built as a home, so all our rooms are different shapes and sizes, and as a listed building, we cannot do anything to change that. We do publicise that on all our booking engines, and we think it adds to the quirky character of the hotel and helps make us different to the larger corporate hotels. I do hope this won’t put you off revisiting us. Kind regards Paul Kelly, Owner/Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John W wrote a review Sep 2022
Waterford, Ireland3 contributions6 helpful votes
Went for lunch with my wife and granddaughter,very hot day,waited for twenty minutes,no one came to take our order,I then went to a female member of staff who was inside the tent and asked for service,she said why is their a problem,told her we were waiting over twenty minutes and no one came to us,she then said rather rudely ok I will take your order ,when she got to our table I asked her could she put up the umbrella because it was scorching hot with that she slammed down the menus on our table and erected the umbrella,my wife asked would it be possible to include some bacon with her order,the reply was a curt no.totally unacceptable. We cancelled our order and left. Will never return to this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Haven Hotel, Owner at The Haven Hotel
Responded 6 Sep 2022
Hi John Please can you email me at info@thehavenhotel.com and let me know the date and time of your visit? We will go back through our CCTV to check who left you sitting this long, and then who ultimately served you. I must apologise you were treated this way and we will deal with the staff involved. I do hope you will revisit us as we are renowned for our warm welcome and your experience is unacceptable. Regards, Paul Kelly Owner/Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Des G wrote a review Jul 2022
Reigate, United Kingdom32 contributions25 helpful votes
I have been to The Haven many times over the years and also stayed here, this time I travelled there with my mother on a Tuesday to have lunch, when we arrived after driving for over an hour we were told very abruptly and rudely that there was no lunch service as the hotel was fully booked for a wedding, I accept that weddings take place but still provide a service to other customers. I use to love this hotel for its old world charm and attention to service, now it appears the owners are purely interested in it being a money making machine with no interest in customer service, if this is what you want then close it as a general hotel and just operate it as a wedding machine. Won’t be returning...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
Room Tip: If you are not part of a wedding party then forget it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Haven Hotel, Owner at The Haven Hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Des, We were indeed booked out for a wedding on Tuesday. A simple phone call before you travelled would have ensured we could have told you so and we could have looked after you on another day. Larger venues probably do provide other services when they have a wedding. However, we prefer to offer our wedding couples the whole hotel to themselves, so they can celebrate with their friends and family without other guests. Your accusation that we are a money-making machine is absurd. If we were, we would have disregarded our wedding couple and crammed as many guests in on top of their wedding day. There are other superb cafés and restaurants in Dunmore East and so much to do; I’m sure your journey was not entirely wasted. Regards, Paul Kelly Owner/Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JosiePyper wrote a review Jul 2022
Waterford6 contributions2 helpful votes
We were there for a family meal to celebrate my mothers birthday last Sunday. From the time we arrived to the time we left the staff were amazing, they were so attentive to our needs despite the fact the they place was so busy. We wanted to move tables to watch the Hurling Final and this was not problem at all. Well done to the owners and to all the staff for being amazing at what they do.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ramba23 wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, Ireland7 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed as part of a group for one night. From the moment i spoke with Judy it was an exceptional experience. No request was to big. The warm welcome greeting and smiles from all staff was excellent. We ate lunch on the beautiful terrace over looking the sea with Hook light house in the background. The room was spacious, spotless and comfortable. The breakfast was fresh and tasty. Overall a 5 star experience with particular mention for Judy who is an assest to this hotel. We will all certainly be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laura S wrote a review Jul 2022
Waterford, Ireland3 contributions3 helpful votes
We held our wedding reception in the Haven two weeks ago and we are still beaming about how perfect our day was in the Haven. From the wedding planning over the 18 month period to the day itself, everything was exactly what we wanted and more. Karen went above and beyond to accommodate us during the planning stages and bringing everything we wanted to fruition. The feedback from our guests was that everyone absolutely loved the food, especially the famous beef! The service from all staff was next level, everyone was so welcoming, helpful and it is clear that the staff are well trained. The rooms were comfortable, clean and reasonably priced for guests. The Haven also hosted us for a day two barbeque during which they gave us a dedicated area on the terrace and served a barbeque for our guests which was ideal. The Haven is the perfect venue for a summer wedding, our only qualm is that we want to do it all over again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shannon G wrote a review Jul 2022
8 contributions
+1
Our experience in the Haven could not have been better. Even before our wedding day arrived, Karen and her team were incredibly helpful and always on the ball with any queries. The day itself was fabulous, from the off we were made feel at home, the set up was beautiful and the atmosphere was so relaxed. Karen did a beautiful job with decor, and handled all requests with such professionalism. The day ran so smoothly thanks to all the amazing staff. The rooms were beautiful, the view incredible and the food amazing. It was a day to remember, and would highly recommend to everyone looking for their wedding venue and/or anything else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steve S wrote a review Jul 2022
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom76 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
Impressive in many ways, the location, the building and the grounds of the hotel in particular, this hotel was a great choice for an overnight stay in the south east of Ireland. Good for families as well as couples. Excellent restaurant and if a restaurant can be judged by the quality of the fish and it’s cooking then it gets 5 stars from me. Breakfast is a full waiter service so fresh and good. Nice bar, friendly and plentiful staff. Our only negative was the small shower room in our bedroom but I doubt that it’s true of all the rooms
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of parking is available. Choose the locally caught fresh fish!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$159 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty WaterfordDunmore East
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HAVEN HOTEL - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Dunmore East, County Waterford) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Haven Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Haven Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dunmore Adventure (0.4 km), The Spinnaker Bar and Restaurant (0.4 km), and Breakwater Gift Shop (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Haven Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Haven Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Haven Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Haven Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Spinnaker Bar, serving food, The Lemon Tree Restaurant, and Azzurro.
Is The Haven Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 km away from the centre of Dunmore East.
Does The Haven Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Haven Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hook Lighthouse (5.5 km) and Loftus Hall (5.8 km).
Does The Haven Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Haven Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.