We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Severin Sea Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Severin Sea Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
Start your review of Severin Sea Lodge
 Click to rate
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked the resort in order to join Baracuda Scuba Diving which is located in the resort. The resort has a lot of German vacationers, mostly retirees. The room was clean. But equipment was quite elememtary and shows signs of wornout. There is no TV in the room. Internet connection is fine though connection breakups do occur from time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank unpeople
Tilst, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I are just arrived home after staying 14 days at Severin Sea Logde and this is a super hotel. Very kindly staff - and af lots of thanks to Francis the poolboy - he really knows what good service is.The food was also very very good - so all the way af hotel where we would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ksc2008
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Jambo, Kirsten & Poul Erik, It was a pleasure hosting you at our Severin Sea Lodge! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time in “Magical Kenya”! We will pass your comments to our colleagues, especially to Francis who cares about our guests who would like to relax in our beautiful palm garden or at the pool. Thanks...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were delighted by the kindness of the staff, especially by Mr. Wycliffe, who was very responsive to our needs and help me out to make a birthday gift to my wife. Thank you, also to the people whose cooperation was necessary. In regard of the resort, it was even better as I remembered it in my last visit more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RiccardoDST
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Jambo, Riccardo! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks a lot for your great comments regarding our staff. We will pass your message to Wycliffe and our other colleagues who are doing their very best to make every stay a memorable one. We are pleased that you noted the improvements we did in our...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Severin just before the Christmas week for five days. The staff are very friendly and ready and willing to assist with all requests. The hotel is very clean although some of the furniture is quite dated. The room was spacious and the shower was such a treat. I recommend the sea facing rooms. Such an exhilarating view....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry N
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Terry, Thanks a lot for your kind review about our Severin Sea Lodge. We are happy to pass your comments to our colleagues who are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel. See you soon at Bamburi Beach! With best regards James Owiti Resident Mananger

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was booked in for several nights but left after one. We were given a dusty room that had not been cleaned for weeks. When we called housekeeping it took them close to an hour to come and clean it. When booking we were assured they catered to special diets. We ordered a simple meal of boiled rice and steamed vegetables...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lily_from_Nairobi
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lily, I refer to your comments on the Trip Advisor review regarding your stay in our hotel in early January 2017 and wish to apologize on behalf of the Management on the unpleasant experience during your stay which you had to cut short. We have taken note of your comment in the review in which you mentioned that the...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We were lucky enough to stay at Severin Sea Lodge in two parts for a wedding. Overall, we found the setting fantastic, the staff hospitable and the activities top-notch. The beach is good for a wander, but you are pretty much absolutely bombarded with beach sellers as soon as you leave the hotel! The wedding itself was extremely well hosted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kman-islands
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kman-islands, Thanks a lot for your positive comments about our Severin Sea Lodge and the organization of your friend’s wedding. We will also pass your valuable comments to our colleagues in the several departments to improve our service and standards. The Severin Team is looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel! Karibu – Best regards James Boho...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We just came back from spending 8 days at the Severin hotel. Before booking this hotel I perused through the many reviews to make sure that I was not wasting my time and money. I found out that many of the guests who have left a review were generally satisfied with the various facilities offered by the hotel. the 2...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank swahibah
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Swahibah, We are very pleased to receive your positive review about our Severin Sea Lodge and are happy that you and your family were enjoying your stay with us. Thanks for the comments regarding the restaurant bill. Though we are sure this was a mistake we would like to apologize for this inconvenience and will address this to our...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Spent 5 days at this hotel.....Rooms a bit dated but the food was good....I wasn't keen on buffet food so the staff allowed me to order on the menu which turned out very good food....Staff lovely ....The swing bar would be good with a thatched roof and comfortable chairs.....The quiet pool needs a swim up bar .....Value for money exceptional

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldenboyfive
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Goldenboyfive, Thanks for choosing our Severin Sea Lodge for your stay in Mombasa. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. Next time please choose our Comfort Class rooms if you like a more luxurious stay. Thank you for your suggestions regarding our bar, which are highly appreciated. We would be happy to welcome you again...

Reviewed 20 December 2016

There is a construction site making noise inside the hotel. There was not hot water, just lukewarm. The WiFi was working at random, only a few minutes per day. The food was consistently from lowest quality. The staff was very friendly with the exception of the lady at the reception (Edna) unfortunately, who was tyrannizing every guest

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Daniel G, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Severin Sea Lodge. Regarding you stay with us we found out that you booked a Comfort Class room with booking.com. As soon as you informed us that you did not like the room in the mainbuilding (there is no construction site inside the hotel), you were...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in mid DEC. I must say the rates were good and the staff very warm ,helpful and friendly . They however need to work on their food. I rem checking their lunch buffet once..ugali,rice,skuma ,beef and something else. They also had a day with a set menu(boring).Otherwise our stay was okay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngina84
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ngina84, Thanks a lot for staying with us. Please note that most of our guests are booked on halfboard with various theme buffets or set menus in the evenings. For lunch we are offering just a light buffet or various menus in our Safari Bistro, from fresh Pizza and Pasta to delicious seafood. Moreover in the evenings guests can...

501 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (460)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (112)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.3 km away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
337 reviews
0.5 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
927 reviews
0.5 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
0.0 km away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
158 reviews
6.0 km away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Price Range: €67 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HRS, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Severin Sea Lodge staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Severin Sea Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Opt for a comfort room. We got one upstairs in one of the huts.”
 of 5 bubbles kman-islands, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Possibly away from the construction site”
 of 5 bubbles danielgS4764RA, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose cottages. They have a great sea view. They are also quiet”
 of 5 bubbles briem35, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the sea were wonderful to me. The smell of the sea is refreshing.”
 of 5 bubbles DestinySafaris, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles travelbeehappy, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5