We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Hotel

Booking.comUS$111
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Visited The Royal Hotel to celebrate my birthday, the bar has a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Food is good very good quality, in particular the braised beef pie. would certainly return here for a meal in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan B
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Called in today for lunch-was going to sit outside as we have a dog but was told we were allowed to sit inside-so we did, ordered the lamb hot pot, fish & chips & the slider burgers-the slider burgers that my son had were big, I had the fish, lovely & the batter was tasty & not thick! Husband had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charliered555
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Had a mini reunion with university friends over May bank holiday weekend and decided to do some walking. After much deliberation we decided a hotel would be best way to do it and The Royal didn't disappoint. Located right next to the National Park and with great staff, friendly locals and good honest food. If you want a first intro...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Now, this is a bit of a strange review because this should be 5*. The village the hotel is in is absolutely one of the most beautiful places I've been. If you want to go for a walk it's perfect. The staff were more than friendly and my dinner, the sliders - seriously just get them! - was fantastic. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pbaz2003
Lisa D, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and great comments. We were however sorry to read of your disturbed night and that we missed out on a 5-star rating. Being such an old building, the plumbing requires the use of saniflow toilet systems. New saniflow were installed throughout just two years ago when we upgraded all of our guest bedrooms. On the...

Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

On arrival to The Royal, it looks great. The area is beautiful. The bar itself is very cosy & welcoming. Our food arrived, we both had steak - mine with onion rings mushrooms chips & tomatoes. My husbands with veg, chips & diane sauce. Steak was lovely although the chips seemed frozen, tomato & vegtables undercooked. They forgot the onion...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nerina T
Lisa D, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have let Chef know that on this occasion the vegetables were perhaps a little too al dente for your taste. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your steaks, the sauce and the ambience. We do in fact call Chef “The Steak Whisperer” as he is so good! Please note, we never use...

Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited on the first evening of the beer festival and was delighted to see the wonderful Lesley serving on the bar. The staff in here are marvellous and we were both happy to chat to the landlady, Lisa whom is so accommodating to everyone that sets foot into the pub. A huge selection of real ales...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2016

We have visited the Royal a few times for dinner and drinks. It is in a great location and there is a lovely atmosphere in the bar area. It is also nice to sit outside after a long walk. However, the food is only average and on a recent visit I noticed that my glass was dirty which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 27foodie2016
Lisa D, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. Our aim at The Royal is to serve really good quality pub classics with one or two modern British alternatives. It would be helpful if you could let me know what food you had and when you visited so I can investigate further into why you only considered it average. We hope you will come...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Two of us decided to go for a light meal and a drink at the Royal. The glasses were not clean and had lipstick on one of them. I ordered a fish finger butty- you would think that couldn't go wrong. The fish fingers were made there and they used old tasting fish covered in greasy batter - yuk. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PEAK616
Lisa D, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Please be assured we do take great care in selecting our suppliers and our fish is delivered fresh throughout the week by a top quality fishmonger. Our homemade fish fingers are made from fresh haddock fillets and are deep fried in an ale batter. Customers have been known to travel back from the other side...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Fabulous pub grub after a bracing walk beside the river. Dog friendly. The Ale & Stout pie is to die for. Set in a quaint village in the Pennines which I believe the TV show "The Village" is set. St Matthew's Church, Highgate Hall, Fox Hall (dated 1625) and an adjoining barn are the some of the earliest surviving buildings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finbarro
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel we visited last Jan for my mates bday as well as this year we walked kinder in the morning then checked in about 2 . The rooms are very nice the beer isn't bad plenty of choice . We had a meal which was ok the menu was good enough choice we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
20.0 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
381 reviews
0.1 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
184 reviews
1.0 km away
The Waltzing Weasel
The Waltzing Weasel
#2 of 5 in Birch Vale
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Sycamore Inn
The Sycamore Inn
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
78 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
27 reviews
1.8 km away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#4 of 5 in Birch Vale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Hotel is an 18th century coaching inn set in the picturesque village of Hayfield, the gateway to the Peak District's majestic gritstone plateau of Kinder Scout. The hotel is situated in the heart of the village by the River Sett, opposite St Matthew's Church and next to Hayfield cricket pitch. This impressive Grade II-listed building with its oak-panelled bar and lounge areas and seasonal log fire provides an informal backdrop to a wonderfully relaxed eating and drinking experience. Our friendly staff are on hand to provide a warm welcome and serve you traditional cask ales, fine wines and home cooked food. A magnet for locals, walkers and visitors alike, we also have five en-suite guest rooms, a dining room and large function room for private dinners, parties, meetings and other events. There is also an outside seating area and parking for 80 vehicles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Market Street | High Peak, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Price Range: €96 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“any of room 5 or 6”
garv, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“A room at the front could be noisy overlooking car park and outside drinking”
dazler01, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask if there is a disco etc booked”
lesleyread89, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room 6 has a super smart bathroom”
tracyp104, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room at the front was big”
Rach1286, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$111* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates