We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Farr Out Guesthouse

330 reviews
Save
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (6)
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good22%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“hot tub”(39 reviews)
“beach buggy”(16 reviews)
“bird life”(13 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (330)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Farr Out Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
187
63
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
187
63
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubbeach buggybird lifeexcellent hostsb bthe west coastguest housecomfortable roomslovely experienceenjoyed our staygreat staygreat hospitalityattention to detailmade us feel at homestayed longerstay there againfriendly owners
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Hosts Dion and Marian should be really proud of this creation of theirs. It was the best decision to stay 1.5km out of Paternoster as we weren't in the middle of all the weekend activity all the time. We stayed in the Wigwam which is...More

Thank Stuart C
Response from Marion L, Owner at Farr Out GuesthouseResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Stuart, you are such an angel! Thanks so much for your positive review and glad to hear that you agree with us to stay rather a bit "Farr Out" as the town can become very busy on weekends/school holidays. Unfortunately you missed Deon's Beach...More

Reviewed 16 September 2016

Great welcome from Marion and Dion and their smiley staff, nothing too much trouble. Though most rooms have verandas we were tucked in to the back bedroom which though comfortable is a bit tight for 2, we stored our (empty) cases back in the car....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alanwilson445
Response from Marion L, Owner at Farr Out GuesthouseResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Alan, thanks so much for your review and comments. The Perlemoen room was the only available room at time of booking which we stressed out to your travel agent before. However, the upstairs lounge with balcony was for your own, not sure if you...More

Reviewed 16 September 2016

We had been for a week at Cape Town, now heading north. Pleasant reception, very competent care taking, clean and cosy. Good breakfast, helpful advice - roads to take / Chris's Rooibos Farm to visit - and great sightseeing .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin B
Response from Marion L, Owner at Farr Out GuesthouseResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Martin and Ilona, thanks so much for your review. Highly appreciated. Hope you will visit South Africa, the West Coast, Paternoster and Farr Out again. Best regards Marion and Deon

Reviewed 7 September 2016

Great setting (we really appreciated all the wild bird life), close to Pater Noster, an exceptionally comfortable room, excellent breakfasts and incredible hospitality - what more could you ask for on a trip to the West Coast?

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gordonwendys
Response from Marion L, Owner at Farr Out GuesthouseResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Gordon and Wendy, thanks a mil for your fantastic review. It's the guests themselves who makes it soooo easy for us to enjoy and spoil all of them. Hope to welcome you back in the future! Best regards Marion

Reviewed 30 August 2016

We had a fairytale holiday at Farr Out. On a lovely hill just outside of Paternoster, and with loving and caring hosts, Deon and Marion we had one of the best times of our life. Beautiful room with a lovely view and heavenly breakfasts served...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stefanmF859QO
Response from Marion L, Owner at Farr Out GuesthouseResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Stefan, thanks for your fantastic review and comments. TV and radio reception has since day 1 always been an issue as reception is very bad due to location of Paternoster (Antenna's are all there). We are currently working on OHD and hope to have...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
191011121351
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$81 - US$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$81 - US$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (6)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Richard312557
8 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Marion L | Property representative |
Hello Richard, apologies for the late response as we got notification of it only today. Surely you have realized that you didn't pay any extra charge for accommodation. Extra charge would be applicable only if you book ie... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Gorgeous guest house, ALL suites with beautiful views"
Read review
"Any room is an excellent room."
Read review
"I liked my upstairs room as I has wonderful views."
Read review
"all the rooms and the Wigwam are very beautiful and made with lots of love :-)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing