We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 72: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Been staying at this hotel for the last three years once a quarter. Excellent hotel with excellent rooms! Clean tidy! Highly recommended if you need to stay over in Ermelo. Excellent setting, gardens and a gym. Tanya is an excellent host its well worth a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BB45Brits
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location, only 9 kilometres outside Ermelo. Quiet environment. Good quality breakfast and dinners. Can take long walks on the farm. Friendly people. Only discovered the gym on the 3rd day, good quality gym.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francois508
HSBH, Owner at Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review and I am glad we lived up to your expectations. noeline

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's exactly what you see on the photos and much better when you arrive. The staff is just awesome. Love the place and will definitely be visiting again. It has a honesty bar and a music selection that you can back on memory lane.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meshann
HSBH, Owner at Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

What a pleasure to accommodate you. Thank you for the kind words.

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ermelo is not a tourist destination - rather a stopover - but if you happen to be in that situation this is where you want to stay. Luxurious accommodation at a fair price and gourmet meals in a small oasis a few km out of town (not many "interesting" restaurant choices in town anyway). Lush gardens, surprisingly well equipped gym...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexBrit
HSBH, Owner at Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel. noeline

Randburg
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Despite the extreme dry conditions and heat, this venue's well-kept garden surrounded by beautiful tall trees is a gem. The Hotel is tastefully furnished and lovely paintings, especially in the reception areas, were very noticeable. Tanya and staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Our beautifully furnished and spacious room had a lovely view on the inner garden, but unfortunately it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S6302YPmichaelc
HSBH, Owner at Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your support. noeline

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Lovely accommodation in the "family room" - pity we were very busy and could not spend more time there just relaxing and doing our own thing! Extremely comfortable and cosy set-up. Breakfast was definitely a highlight although we only enjoyed it once which was sad!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 325jjs
HSBH, Owner at Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your Reunion weekend at Ermelo High School. We hope you had a great time catching up with old school friends and seeing your old school again. noeline

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived quite late in the evening. And we got surprised by an amazing room, with a massive bath room , comfy bed and the highlight were super yummy finger food snacks. We asked them before to get some dinner and since the cook was ill they couldn't make dinner but instead we got lots of snacks which were dairy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva W
HSBH, Owner at Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

it was a great pleasure welcoming and serving you all at our institution. Thank you for the good review. noeline

Leicester
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Stayed here for one night as part of a safari drive around Eastern South Africa. In Ermelo, the hotel is conveniently located for major routes to Johannesburg. The hotel is easily found just outside of Ermerlo and we were welcomed in and very well looked after by Loualette (?), the duty manager. We were the only guests (a Sunday night)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonALeicester
HSBH, Owner at Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for your kind words and your support. We would love to welcome you all again in the near future. noeline

Gunzenhausen
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We loved everything (especially the three-legged springbock) The room was very spacious, the bathtub and the shower very fancy. The wifi worked well. Everything was fine, we just didn't like the food to much. My steak was really well done although I had ordered it medium and the vegetarian dish my daughter had ordered was more or less mediocre. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrea11Gunzenhausen
HSBH, Owner at Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Apologies for dinner, it will be addressed immediately and the wine list updated to cater for better quality, By the Glass. noeline

Daveyton, South Africa
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I'm allergic to pets and unfortunately the hotel had pets. I hope in future the owners can lock away their pets during my visit. The cat then was screaming next to my bedroom door. I did not have breakfast because of the above

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sipho_Mosotho
HSBH, Owner at Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am so sorry that you missed breakfast due to the fact that you are allergic to pets, as they do not come into the breakfast area or any of the rooms at all. We do live on a farm and part of our charm (or that is what we would like to think) is to bring our...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermelo
0.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
7.5 km away
Ermelo Inn
Ermelo Inn
#2 of 3 in Ermelo
25 reviews
0.0 km away
Badgerleur Bush Lodge
Badgerleur Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Greylingstad
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
44 on Ennis Guest Lodge and Restaurant
7.8 km away
Drinkwater Guest Farm
Drinkwater Guest Farm
#1 of 20 in Ermelo
35 reviews
7.4 km away
Izimbali Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer 8 fully equipped En-suite rooms with super King-size beds, bath and shower, private patio, DSTV, mini-bar, desk, hair dryer and safe. To lock in the warmth each room has under floor heating and double glazing windows. Sliding doors open on a balcony to enjoy the fresh country air and the beautiful views the farm offers. Also available are a 2 bedroom and 1 bedroom Self Catering Unit with En-suite bathrooms and fireplaces to keep cosy on winter nights, Flat screen TV and DSTV and both with fully equipped kitchens. A delightful breakfast is also included and is served in our main dining area, where dinner can also be enjoyed with prior booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel

Address: R36 | Plaas Uitgevallen, Ermelo 2350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ermelo
Price Range: €82 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Vancouver, Canada
london

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the executive room was outstanding”
 of 5 bubbles philippeh809, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“They are all equally good”
 of 5 bubbles alff514, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Morning sun is warm and but shaded with the trees. Open plan (kitchenette, lounge with large bed for 2 and bath or shower option”
 of 5 bubbles 335pushpag, 20 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Large executive suite near pool has nice view”
 of 5 bubbles financegator, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
“one family room downstairs next to bar and dining room - could be noisy if busy. Upstairs rooms would be quieter and more private.”
 of 5 bubbles 828dianed, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay