We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
Start your review of Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde
 Click to rate
skipton
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We got married here so decided to return for out 20th wedding anniversary. The view is as I remembered amazing. Our room again lovely we were in the executive double, worth the extra money as large and comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and relaxed. The staff are friendly and very helpful this was commented on at my wedding years ago nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsheldon42
london
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have been coming here for over 10 years and it never disappoints.. the food is wonderful and the bedrooms are very comfortable and quiet despite how many people are staying. The views over the loch are splendid

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripvisitorold
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The views at Ross Priory are immense, right up Loch Lomond with, at the time of these, snow capped Ben Lomond. Eight of us had an enjoyable lunch in the bar all served with cheery smiles. I particularly recommend the fish and chips, good crisp but not hard batter and tender fresh fish. I particularly liked that you could choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Hi Tony B Thanks for your review. The location really is amazing and we never tire of the view, so glad you were able to enjoy it. Your compliments on lunch will be conveyed to Chef and his team, of course. The small and classic portion options is a new introduction, in response to customer feedback, so glad to hear...

beith
Reviewed 13 March 2017

A group of 8 friends stayed here for a weekend dinner B & B. The location is superb although the weather wasn't great. The bedrooms are spacious & comfortable. Breakfast was excellent & all freshly prepared. Dinner also was excellent. Staff were very helpfull & nothing was too much trouble. Our party were the only guests staying overnight so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart W
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Thanks Stewart W for the review. We're really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay so much and appreciate your feedback. Can't always guarantee you'll get the whole place to yourself but it's a nice bonus when it happens - hope we'll see you back again! Kind regards Lesley

Scotland
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Once again the staff at Ross Priory excelled themselves. We had taken two friends for a return visit to Ross Priory's Valentine's night dinner and again we were delighted with our experience. The meal was amazing with a beautiful starter of belly pork and black pudding. The main course had choices but we all chose chateaubriand, the piece de resistance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeScotland
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Dear George Thank you for your kind words, which of course have been passed on, in particular to David and Kate but not forgetting Chef, Bill and his team behind the scenes. So glad to hear that you had another highly enjoyable experience and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon - with large wine glasses at the...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Ross Priory is set beside Loch Lomond, from it's position it commands breathtaking views of the water and the surrounding countryside. We visited on a very wet day so perhaps did not see the the gardens at their best, although they were well set out with some interesting plants and the pathways encouraged the visitor to enjoy all aspects of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Honey4Tea
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Honey4Tea. Sounds like you managed to enjoy the gardens regardless of the miserable weather - all helps keep it so green, I guess. Hopefully next time you're in the area you'll be back to enjoy the grounds in more favourable conditions. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Lesley

Bridgewater, NJ
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Afternoon Tea was fantastic! Our family is lactose-intolerant and the chef was able to (with 24 hour notice) treat us to spectacular sweets and sandwiches that we thoroughly enjoyed! We had a beautiful view of Loch Lomond from the lounge. Had the extra-special opportunity to see a bride descend the front steps of The Priory to her wedding on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CelticGinger
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I will certainly be sure to let Chef know how much you enjoyed it - we have a wonderful team behind the scenes and we're always happy to cater for any special requirements on request. Thanks for sharing your photographs too - makes me suddenly very peckish! We...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Good well-appointed, comfortable rooms. Super Breakfast, sadly chefs were off so no chance to try Meals. Kind and most helpful Staff made our 1st Visit so good we cannot wait to Return to beautiful Loch Lomond.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moira L
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Hi Moira L. Really pleased to hear that you had such a comfortable stay, a first of MANY we hope! The breakfast certainly proves very popular and would give you an idea of the quality of what's on offer. Sorry, but our dinners require a wee bit of advance notice, so you missed out this time, but you should definitely...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The best thing is the setting and views. The gardens and grounds are well kept and great views of the Loch. The building looks very impressive but the rooms and service do not match the expectation and is more 3 star than 4 star. The room we had was fine for a couple of nights but was small and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Hi Ian S Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you appreciated the benefits of the wonderful shower (thanks to our new amazing boiler) but sorry to hear the room itself was not entirely to your liking - I'm pretty sure it was Room 10 that you stayed in and that particular room is a firm favourite...

Gateside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

My partner came across this place by sheer luck, as we had spend a weekend trying to find somewhere for an overnight stay during our bank holiday trip to Scotland. A hidden gem, amazing setting on the banks of Loch Lomond. An impressive building, which dates back to 1800's used to belong to a family, and now owned by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pellah K
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Hi Pellah K. We're really pleased that you stumbled upon us and enjoyed your stay. Sounds like you managed to relax and enjoy the grounds as well. Thanks for the review. Please note that we are currently looking at the bathroom and will hopefully have any issues resolved very soon. We hope we'll see you again if you're back in...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
5.9 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.9 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
20.1 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
6.0 km away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,013 reviews
3.3 km away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ross Priory is situated in an unrivalled position on the south shores of Loch Lomond with stunning views of Ben Lomond and the surrounding hills, yet only 40 minutes from Glasgow. It is a secluded and unusual venue enhanced by extensive grounds and gardens including a nine hold golf course and walled garden. There are 11 en suite bedrooms within the house, each of which are let on a bed & breakfast basis. Dinner is available by prior reservation. There is also a self-catering cottage on the loch shore which is let per week or for a 3 night weekend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde

Address: Ross Priory Ross Loan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Price Range: €64 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ross Priory, University Of Strathclyde Hotel Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Something overlooking the front”
tripvisitorold, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great all round views on the Loch Lomond side or the surrounding countryside.”
GeorgeScotland, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight; had Afternoon Tea in the Lounge”
CelticGinger, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the Executive Suite, on the ground floor, which is a self contained apartment!”
  • Exec suite
  • kitchenette
  • breathtaking views
  • bathroom
  • stunning views
pellahk, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are very few rooms and I suspect each is special.”
rowenam93, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5