We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Opononi Lighthouse Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of Opononi Lighthouse Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We just stayed here for one night on our way to Cape Reinga. There was a restaurant only 500 meters from the Motel. The room was OK and staff was helpful. There was no aicondition so we had to have the windows open and several mosquitos came in during the night. You can find more at heidiogarntiasia.com

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arnt E
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My daughter and I attended a family funeral/tangi in Panguru. Accommodation is at a premium at this time of year. Only family unit available and was offered a discount which was very appreciated and not asked for. Very clean and comfortable and everything in good order. Nice fluffy bath towels. I can't help but notice the small things as used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John-OEnone
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked and paid at the local iSite info centre.hotel in a lovely location. Unfortunately the Manager could not have been more disinterested if he tried. I guess he had his money snaffled away already so why bother. Practically jumped out of his skin when i responded I didnt need any touristy information..just snapped back "good" , like "thank goodness I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
Deborah M, Manager at Opononi Lighthouse Motel, responded to this review

Dear Terri T, I do remember you checking in and I did not find you particularly friendly. However this is no excuse and I do apologize to you if you found my manner unacceptable. Regarding our Guest Washing Machine, there was a sign on it to say that it had broken down and that we had alternative arrangements for guests...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Directly opposite a good clean sandy beach with a bar restaurant and local takeaway within 5 mins walk. The owners are very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Parking is well organised and the shower power and hot water were very welcome. Overall, a good motel which has all the facilities you need on a road trip....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honeybee64711
Deborah M, Manager at Opononi Lighthouse Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your stay at the motel here in Opononi. I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Northland NZ

Thousand Oaks,CA
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

This motel was a good stop on the first day of our NZ trip and a great jumping-off point for visiting the beautiful Waipoua forest only 30 minutes away. Our unit was clean and comfortable, the fridge stocked, as always in NZ, with milk for coffee or tea. The only drawback was that conversations in the next unit could be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wellyhelly
Deborah M, Manager at Opononi Lighthouse Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We continue to work towards providing guests with a comfortable stay. Sorry that you had noisy neighbours. Nice to read how you enjoyed your time in the Hokianga.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Right on the state highway. Very close to the beach, tavern, foursquare and fish n chips shop. Serene location, Great staff, onsite parking, rooms with kitchenette and other facilities. Totally recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ripan_2000
Deborah M, Manager at Opononi Lighthouse Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Northland, NZ.

Troyes, France
Reviewed 11 January 2017

An apartment, with its own front room, fully equipped kitchen, large bedroom and a table on the terrace. A very clean Motel with a friendly feel. The secret to this motel is also that the beach was just across the road from the motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jb5164
Deborah M, Manager at Opononi Lighthouse Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - and sharing about the 'beach' secret. I hope you had a nice time during the rest of your journey.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We enjoyed staying here. Good facilities in room and clean. Close to Opononi and Omapere and right across from the beach. Cost of room was a little on the expensive side but there are limited options in Opononi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nztraveller476
Deborah M, Manager at Opononi Lighthouse Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

I spent two nights in this motel, I had a two rooms studio with kitchen corner, fully equipped and spotless clean. The motel has a guest laundry and a small library. Located in front of the beach, 5 mn walking distance from shops and restaurant. Very friendly owners. A very pleasant place worth spending many days and weeks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aae191
Witney
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a trip around North and South Island. The apartment was of a good size with small kitchenette area and sitting area and separate bedroom. Could park car by door, use of laundry facilities was welcome and beach situated across the road. Manager was fairly grumpy but his wife was very pleasant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opononi
1.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
0.5 km away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
100 reviews
3.5 km away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
32.3 km away
Pupu Rangi Nature Sanctuary
Pupu Rangi Nature Sanctuary
#12 of 13 in Dargaville
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A motel in a tropical setting, 20 metres from the beach. Clean, comfortable rooms in a quiet location close to local shops & restaurants 450m. Central location to explore the Hokianga region including the Waipoua Forest and Tane Mahuta. Beautiful views from the front of the property. Self-contained units with sea and garden views. One and two bedroomed units, 2 studio units, (one with wheelchair access). Motel amenities include a spa pool, under cover BBQ area, guest laundry. Free wifi on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Opononi Lighthouse Motel

Address: 45 State Highway 12, Opononi, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Opononi
Price Range: €71 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Opononi Lighthouse Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Opononi Lighthouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Opononi Lighthouse Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 as it has direct sight to the beach/sea”
 of 5 bubbles Honeybee64711, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“very clean , all on one level, parking outside your apartment, local food shop for buying groceries.”
 of 5 bubbles jb5164, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had the second unit back from the road and had no problems with noise at all. This is a quiet main road.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelB406, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the northside had balconies looking towards the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles Sainty1, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has a balcony and the best views”
 of 5 bubbles andrewblackcat2, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5