We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good35%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
18 Oct 2017
“Almost excellent”
13 Mar 2018
“disappointing, terrible”
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Kitchenette
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
15
12
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
15
12
2
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

so disappointing less then half a roll of toilet paper, beds dreadful, bbq filthy, toilet did not flush alerted management to issues with a "we will look into it reply" on the plus location breath takingMore

Thank Lana N
Response from Gillian L, Owner at Hunter HomesteadResponded 27 April 2018

We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with our accommodation. Regarding the toilet, you alerted us to the toilet problem after you had left. If you had contacted us with any of the above problems while in the accommodation we would've come...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Disappointed to read other reviews that milk and bread were provided for others - we had to go back out one we arrived to buy some, which I had assumed would have been included in the "breakfast provisions" but apart from that the cottage had...More

Thank Dana W
Response from Gillian L, Owner at Hunter HomesteadResponded 22 October 2017

Hi Dana, Sincere apologies about the milk and bread. We do always provide milk and break with the breakfast goodies. I'm sorry to say that I must have been having a forgetful moment that day and forgotten to put the milk and bread in your...More

Reviewed 16 August 2016

An ideal location for those wanting to be in the Rothbury and Pokolbin area surrounded by vineyards and eateries. The Homestead is suited for large family and group gatherings as the main house accommodates up to 10 plus the sofa in the downstairs lounge room...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iprice5
Response from HunterHomestead, Owner at Hunter HomesteadResponded 17 August 2016

Hi Cheryl, Thank you for your great review. Glad you had a good birthday weekend.. Regards, Gillian

Reviewed 3 July 2016

Needed accommodation for full family in preparation for a wedding. The homestead and cottage were filled to the brim with people. Great for this occasion as all facilities and provisions up to scratch. This was a great location and space for the 2 days. Plenty...More

Thank Al B
Response from HunterHomestead, Owner at Hunter HomesteadResponded 4 July 2016

Hi Al, Thank you very much for your review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family here to stay. Glad that the wedding and everything went off well. We look forward to seeing you here in Lovedale another time. Regards, Gillian

Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

The cottage is very cosy and equipped with all essentials including coffee pods, eggs, bacon, bread, milk and juice. The owners are lovely and make your stay that more personable. I'm planning my next visit as i type this 😆

Thank Brookiey
Response from HunterHomestead, Owner at Hunter HomesteadResponded 6 June 2016

Hi Brooke, Thank you for your lovely review. Very happy that you had a good stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Gillian and Neil

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Price range
US$114 - US$415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Number of rooms
9
Reservation Options
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hunter Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Also Known As
Hunter Homestead Greater Newcastle/Lovedale
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hunter Homestead staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"beautiful location"
Read review
"Pet Friendly"
Read review
"Arrive & enjoy."
Read review
"No need to bring your winter woolies, there are electric blankets on the beds!!!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing