We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Komati River Chalets

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Komati River Chalets
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Komati River Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The boyfriend took me away for our anni beginning end of last year, and I have never felt more spoilt. From the most incredible scenery, to the activities, the alone time and of course the amazing food and service. It turned into a wonderful holiday. We stayed for about 3 maybe 4 days and found something to do everyday. Archery,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bree2205
Sylviakomatipoort, Manager at Komati River Chalets, responded to this review

This review is unfortunately not for Komati River Chalets. Kind regards Jade McEwan

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Wonderful clean accommodation with all the amenities for a self catered holiday, great overnight stay before entering Kruger Park, Ros And Duncan could not have been more friendly and helpful - a wonderful stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowenacharles
Sylviakomatipoort, Owner at Komati River Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your encouraging review, we certainly try our best, as a family run business, to ensure our guests have happy stay with us. So enjoyed your visit Best wishes Duncan, Ros and staff.

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I stayed here for just under a week, to visit Kruger and also for trips into Swaziland and Mozambique. The owners are very hands on, accessible, and willing to help out with whatever you need. I had one of the smaller chalets, and had no complaints. The bed was comfortable and there's a kitchenette with a fridge. There are, crucially,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becca H
Sylviakomatipoort, Owner at Komati River Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review, as management we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. There are electrical plug sockets in all the kitchenettes, also under the TV sets and most have sockets either next to the bed, or behind the beds. Unfortunately changing from double beds to Queen beds, some of the sockets are partially...

South Afroca
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Stopped over for 2 nights on our way back to Durban from Satara. We were allocated 2 double chalets next to each other a stones throw from the river. Rooms are clean and neat with a kitchenette area equipped with most amenities you need. Gardens, pool and recreational areas are well kept. The men hired rods from reception and fished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2travel5
Sylviakomatipoort, Owner at Komati River Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. thank you We are fortunate to have the golf course so close by, and the river at our doorstep. Our restaurant is open to our guests Monday to Saturday, but other restaurants near by for Sunday's Hope to meet you again in the near future

Leeupoort, South Africa
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Thank you so much for the wonderful time we had during our stay at Komati River Chalets. The accommodation and staff were absolutely fantastic 😉😉 We, especially myself, enjoyed the fishing trips on the boat 😀 we miss the afternoon fishing at the river close to the chalets.... it was also a privilege to play golf at Komatipoort and last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fransie V
Sylviakomatipoort, Owner at Komati River Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive, friendly review. Richard always strives to give our guest a good experience with the fishing safaris. We are so blessed to have the Komati River below the chalets for all our guests to enjoy Hope to see you in the near future Ros /Richard and all members of staff.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We had a very enjoyable stay with Duncan and Ross. She made special effort in placing a bottle of champagne and chocolates in our room and a handwritten welcoming and congratulatory card. Thank you very much for the warm wishes and for borrowing us your grill ! Kind Regards Braam & Cecile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajpapenfus
Sylviakomatipoort, Owner at Komati River Chalets, responded to this review

Hi Braam and Cecile, We loved having you with us, glad you enjoyed your stay. Wishing you both a happy wonderful life together, love makes the world go round Best wishes from all our team Ros

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at KRC on route to Mozambique. It was not our first time staying here. We had a braai and the two bedroom unit was very nice. All necessities for the kitchen is available in the unit. A TV also. Even although the country is experiencing a drought the garden and grass is green and well maintained. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penel0pe1968
Sylviakomatipoort, Manager at Komati River Chalets, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you for your positive review, and for staying with us Hope to meet again. Thanks for letting us know about the water, we have sorted the problem out

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2016

My Partner & I have been coming to Komati River Chalets for the last 4 years, for Dec/Jan holidays now (we usually stay a week or so, & the last 2 years, have been there for New Year- great), and, consistently, we have had a great stay. The Owners, Ros & Duncan are hands on, warm, friendly & hospitable, knowledgeable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjauty2009
Sylviakomatipoort, Owner at Komati River Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for the fantastic review, I will certainly extend your thanks to all my staff. It is wonderful when guests appreciate the effort we make to keep all our guests happy, I will certainly extend this message onto Richard. Hope to see you in the not to distant future Best wishes Ros

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2016

We were booked into Chalet no. 5. This Chalet needs a desperate upgrade and also a good clean. Ants by the millions in the bathroom, tiny white bugs on the sheets which we found the next morning after a very restless night. We wanted to make coffee, but the kettle was horrible and we rather went without. We only went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mari294
Sylviakomatipoort, Owner at Komati River Chalets, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am sorry you did not find the chalet to your liking. All the chalets were repainted this past year, new wall bedside lamps installed. Kettles are washed out and cleaned daily. Reference to little black ants, unfortunately due to the sever drought, ants are looking for water, and although we do spray external walls for ants, and...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Very comfortable, well equipped and clean accommodation, friendly and helpful staff. My husband and son had a lovely day out on the boat, tiger fishing with Richard. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay such a memorable holiday! We are hoping to see you all again in easter. Mandy, Massi and Aaron

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandy2016
Sylviakomatipoort, Manager at Komati River Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the men had a good time fishing. I will pass on your message to all my staff, and look forward to your next visit Best wishes Ros

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
2.1 km away
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
#3 of 14 in Komatipoort
156 reviews
1.2 km away
Orchards Farm Cottages
Orchards Farm Cottages
#3 of 13 in Komatipoort
70 reviews
2.2 km away
Trees Too Guest Lodge
Trees Too Guest Lodge
#2 of 14 in Komatipoort
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 171 in Kruger National Park
93 reviews
1.3 km away
Acasia Guest Lodge
Acasia Guest Lodge
#5 of 14 in Komatipoort
50 reviews
11.5 km away
Elephant Walk Retreat
Elephant Walk Retreat
#4 of 13 in Komatipoort
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Komati River Chalets is nestled on the confluence of the Komati and Crocodile Rivers in the Southern Kruger Park region of Mpumalanga’s wild frontier. Situated on 12 acres of Komati river front wilderness ensures that this is one of the regions premier country estates. The famous Kruger National Park, Crocodile bridge gate is a mere 12km from the lodge and the sweet veld grasses of the South Eastern Kruger National Park ensure that this is arguably the best game viewing area of the entire park as vast herds of plains game and predators alike are attracted to the spoils of this pristine area. Both Mozambique and Swaziland are but a stone throw from Komati River Chalets providing the perfect base from which to explore both exotic destinations. Set above the flood plain of the Komati River, the restaurant, bar and pool facilities, and the individual chalets are no more than fifty meters from the water’s edge where pods of hippos and an array of spectacular bird life will entertain for hours on end. The attention to detail and hands on management style of this family owned property ensure that Komati River Chalets is the ideal destination for the adventurous traveller. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Komati River Chalets

Address: Old Causeway Road, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Price Range: €78 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Komati River Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and South African Hotels so you can book your Komati River Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Komati River Chalets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are adjacent to each other in stacks of two but apart from that are spaciously separated so you never feel,over crowded.”
997johannl, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We got a mountain and river view room. Absolutely breathtaking views. I believe this was their 'hotel' not the family chalets.”
bree2205, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“For early morning fishing, view & more privacy, river frontage chalets. For sun, pool & restaurant, any chalet- all with in close proximity.”
cjauty2009, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The farther back in the property is probably quieter, but I don't think there's a bad chalet in the place.”
107trents, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“choose a room 1km away from komati river chalets”
lordfinsbury, 19 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5