We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
56 quai de Bernouet, 17400, Saint-Jean-d'Angely France
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (5)
Pool & Beach (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Saint-Jean-d'Angely
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid wifi
Internet
Outdoor pool
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Game room
Hiking
Mini golf
Water park
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
46Reviews1Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 16
  • 8
  • 6
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sinead m wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We stayed here for one night .Met by lovely young girl in reception who was very courteous and pleasant.Presuming older lady was owner but made us feel like staying there was an inconvenience and didn’t give the impression that she actually enjoyed having guests stay on her campsite!Pitch was nice and campsite was quite.We have been travelling around France for the last 6 weeks and have stayed in similar campsites and paid the same price.However, this was the first time we encountered toilets without ANY toilet paper or a facility to even hang same.Also regardless of Covid times, the Soap dispensers were empty and didn’t seem to be provided or indeed any hand sanitation.This to me was incredulous! If you have a self sufficient campervan, municipal campsite across the road will provide you with all you need.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from camping Val de Boutonne, Directeur général at Camping Val de Boutonne
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Thanks for your opinion. You find me not sympatical because I asked you to respect the stopped at your arrival. You had blocked the entrance for all the others persons. For the soap dispenser the were vandalized and we wait for the arrival of new ones. We have put littles one but there are stolen. For paper toilet de never let it. We don't want to found it on floor, that is our opinion. Thanks for your visit and we hope you will have a end travel better. Thanks for your visit
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
steve p wrote a review Nov 2020
15 contributions10 helpful votes
We spent over a decade visiting St Jean staying at our brother in law's house. A lovely town, great restaurants, lots to see both nearby and further afield. Well worth a week's stay. We haven't stayed at this campsite but have seen it from outside and love the location by the lake - which we invariably visited at least once during each holiday. Now the house is sold we may well come back, this time to stay at the site.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from camping Val de Boutonne, Directeur général at Camping Val de Boutonne
Responded 3 Dec 2020
Thank you very much for your comment. We hope to see you soon in our campsite. Have nice Christams holidays.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael A wrote a review Aug 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom4 contributions
This could be a nice stop over camp site if the swimming pool was open throughout the day, the rules about entering the pool were more relaxed, and the staff were friendlier. Our children want to go to the pool a number of times during the day. It was either closed or we were not allowed to supervise them unless we strip to our swimming costumes and showered in front of officious staff. Trying to explain that sometimes we just wanted to watch the kids and read fell on deaf ears. There is an outside desk but you cannot see the pool so that is unsafe. If you like to undress, shower and dress half a dozen times a day then you will be fine. Alternatively you could just wear speedos all day long but I am sure that would breach the hygiene rules too. Some common sense would be welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valdeboutonne, Propriétaire at Camping Val de Boutonne
Responded 5 Aug 2019
Thank you for your opinion. We are not deaf to your requests, but there are some rules to respect .... And how to better monitor his child than to be by his side in the pool or ready to jump in a swimsuit? Dressed, it seems difficult ... And we must not forget to mention that we do not have a lifeguard, so you are solely responsible for your child .... And to please him, we can take a shower and put in a swimsuit.The rules are on our website, you can have it before to arrive, and next time you'll be not desappointed. But when you stop, just for one night, you can adapt to situations, the holidays are at the end of your road ... Where you will certainly find more and more often the same rules. Thank you for your visit and I hope you enjoy your holidays.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
twyford4 wrote a review Jul 2019
Devon, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night travelling south to north. Perfect location literally minutes off the motorway with easy access. Town looked nice with lake but didn't have time to explore. Nice facilities and a lovely clean well cared for pool. They are very clear that shorts not permitted in the pool and while we were there an Englishman kicked off about this - but it's their pool and we felt his behaviour was unreasonable. Nice easy check in, bread orders taken, quiet spot.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valdeboutonne, Propriétaire at Camping Val de Boutonne
Responded 3 Jul 2019
Thanks so much for your opinion. Thans for all. May be we see you again on the way for others holidays.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Basse-Normandy wrote a review Oct 2018
Caen, France19 contributions3 helpful votes
We have stayed at this campsite as a night stop on several occasions and it now deserves my 4 stars especially due to the wonderful new toilet block absolutely fantastic. It would have earned from me 5 stars if the owners were not so miserable neither of them can hardly crack a smile. The first time we visited we unfortunately queried (yes we were polite) the need for the production of ID. Well you would have thought by the owners reaction that we had threatened them with physical violence. We were after all only staying one night and paid up front. We also have an ASCI card and the site's write up in the ACS book clearly states that an ASCI card is acceptable and ID is not required. We have never in all our years (16) of camping in France been asked to produce ID when checking into a campsite. It may be that as we normally pay in advance they do not have to worry that we will sneak off without paying. Please may I stress it was not the asking for the ID that was the problem it was the reaction of the owners to our request for clarification that was so surprising. As said for us it is a good overnight stop.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valdeboutonne, Propriétaire at Camping Val de Boutonne
Responded 7 Nov 2018
I thank you for your opinion and your visit within our establishment. We are delighted to see that our new toilets please you so much. We do not understand that you are shocked by the request for a piece of identification to make your entry card. I'm surprised you have never been asked for ID before. Since the attacks in Paris, the hotel providers have the obligation (French law) to have a police record drawn up with your identity, your address, your phone, your e-mail etc. We stop at the ID because we think that with the coordinates of your room the police can find what it wants there is a problem on our campsite, or even a terrible tragic weather event. You are on vacation, you do not think about it and that's good. We collaborate with ACSI and we do not ask for ID if you have the ACSI ID card and not only the paper discount card. I come back from holidays, in each hotel and each campsite where we went, we were asked not one but our two pieces of identities. I do not feel physically attacked during a refusal, I always explain the why of things. These are the other campsites that do not do their job, it's a shame. but there is no aggresion to ask for a piece of identification and to do our work, especially since we do not keep your piece, we only consult it. I hope that you will have the pleasure to stop again at our campsite and that you will understand that we are only doing what the law obliges us to do. And I hope that you can change your opinion on our society.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil C wrote a review Aug 2018
East Sussex, United Kingdom201 contributions74 helpful votes
This site has a really nice feel to it. It is located right next to a beautiful lake and river with a lovely park next to it. The kids loved it. The site is well kept and the although the pitch was small we had enough room to set up the campervan. The swimming pool is small, but nice to cool off in. They are strict about showering and the clothes not being worn etc. There was a little stall set up selling local produce when we were there and a free bouncy castle. The BBQ area was well situated and the shower and toilet block was well kept. No loo roll though, so take some with you. A nice stop over on the way back from SW France.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valdeboutonne, Propriétaire at Camping Val de Boutonne
Responded 22 Aug 2018
Thank you very much for all you have said. And thanks for your staying in our campsite.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
madasaman wrote a review Aug 2018
Caerphilly, United Kingdom285 contributions91 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night agin this year enroute further south. Check in was faultless(we had pre booked). Facilities which had been totally refurbished over the winter were excellent. We didn't eat on site this year and it probably was a mistake as Paella was the dish. We were most impressed that the proprietress came to our pitches and thanked us for returning thus year as she had been busy on phone and PC when we checked in. First night stop again bext year but for four five days next time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valdeboutonne, Propriétaire at Camping Val de Boutonne
Responded 20 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your note. We are very happy to see again our customers, even for one night! Thanks very much for all and we wish you and your family very nice hollidays in St Emilion and may be we'll see you next year for the paella? regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
W W wrote a review Jun 2018
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom390 contributions161 helpful votes
Why not? Because I don't want it to get so popular that we can't get in! Stayed for two nights on our way North - very sorry it couldn't have been longer due to return ferry crossings. It's easy to access off A10 but watch the directions given in various guide books - there seems to be slight variations.The site signs aren't particularly clear because they just say 'Camping' The facilities block is pristine although we prefer ones where showers are in the same place as loos. The disabled access shower is large with four hangers for things but no chair on which to sit whilst drying oneself. We don't have TV but understand from others that it can be bit difficult to pick up Sky. River and Lake are adjacent with a nice walk round. Check if you have a double axle van - there seems to be some restrictions. Excelllent value at ACSI rate of 15e per night Not reviewed as an hotel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valdeboutonne, Propriétaire at Camping Val de Boutonne
Responded 15 Jun 2018
Thanks for your opinion. We are happy to know that the campsite has you more. For the television, there are locations where you can get the satellite. It will be to try next time. We hope to see again you in your next journey. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NessieNoo wrote a review Sep 2017
Wallasey, United Kingdom1589 contributions533 helpful votes
Super site in a great location. We stayed for three nights on our journey up north. The location is really good being only ten minutes off the A10. We were able to choose our own pitch and all pitches were of a good size and easy to manoeuvre around. The showers and toilets were clean and toilet paper (and seats!) were provided. There is a great park next to the site which you can walk through on the way to town (20 mins away) should you wish. There are lots of nice walks in the area and the town has some great restaurants. If you need a vet there is a nice one on the way into the village. Well worth a visit. We will be back. All my reviews are based on genuine first hand experience, if this has been helpful to you please give me a helpful vote, thank you 😊
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valdeboutonne, Propriétaire at Camping Val de Boutonne
Responded 4 Oct 2017
Thanks for your opinion. I hope that your dog like the vet too. See you on your next visit.Thanks a lot.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gareth-Cymru wrote a review Sep 2017
Llanfynydd, United Kingdom15 contributions23 helpful votes
I picked Val de Boutonne because of its location, roughly halfway between the southern Dordogne and St Malo and ten minutes off the A10 autoroute. The reviews were good and it looked ideal. I booked two nights. It turned out to a gem of a site. It's busy because of the location with lots of comings and goings but it still managed to remain quite tranquil. It's alongside a river and lake which has been turned into something of a lido although separated by the camp fence and a small road. There's a decent pool as well although speedo-style trunks only. So it seemed to have a fair few regulars and longer stayers as well going by some of the setups and the mobile homes and cabins dotted around. Touring pitches are of a decent size rather than generous although we were allocated a larger and easily accessible one for our caravan. Room for an awning or gazebo and car. You will probably need a 50 metre mains cable though. The old centre of Saint-Jean-d'Angély is attractive in an understated and unspoilt sort of way and around 20 to 30 minutes walk. There are some decent restaurants and an excellent market on Wednesdays and Saturdays. But what makes this site special is the hard working couple - and their daughters - who run the place. There's no restaurant. So as well as running reception and supervising the pool through the day, they've set up some long tables and chairs under a marquee, acquired some catering kit and hold regular soirées. The last night we were there it was moules frites and very good they were too. It was a great night, as enjoyable as a couple of Michelin-starred meals earlier in our holiday. There are also communal dinners on some other nights. There is a "but" coming and that is over the wash blocks. Effectively there is only one and it is rather dated betraying the site's municipal origins. We were told they are due for a refurbishment ready for 2018. But then according to some of the earlier reviews here that was said last year. We'll find out though as we would certainly return regardless.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take a 50 metre mains cable
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valdeboutonne, Propriétaire at Camping Val de Boutonne
Responded 15 Sep 2017
Thanks for your opinion. Thanks you so much. I just want to explain that we said we were renovating our bathrooms on two winters. During the winter of 2017, we redone the entire water network of the campsite as well as the asphalt of the paths. In the winter of 2018 the renovations of the toilets will be done. You will be able to follow the evolution of the works on the social networks. We were delighted to know you, as well as the dog whose eat mussels and fries , and we will be delighted to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$52 - US$62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineCharente-MaritimeSaint-Jean-d'Angely
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Camping Val de Boutonne
Which popular attractions are close to Camping Val de Boutonne?
Nearby attractions include La Construction Pharaonique, Les Outils (1.3 km), Rum Runners (1.3 km), and Musee des Cordeliers (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Camping Val de Boutonne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Camping Val de Boutonne?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Camping Val de Boutonne?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Camping Val de Boutonne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hotel Restaurant de la Place, Le Scorlion, and Carottes et Gingembre.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Camping Val de Boutonne?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Camping Val de Boutonne?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Camping Val de Boutonne?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Camping Val de Boutonne?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Camping Val de Boutonne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tour de l'Horloge (1.4 km) and Eglise De La Nativite De La Sainte-Vierge (5.0 km).
Is Camping Val de Boutonne accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.