We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kinloch Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kinloch Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 253: English reviews
Start your review of Kinloch Lodge
 Click to rate
Ontario
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed for several nights at the eco lodge. The rooms were fairly small but very comfortable and relaxing with the adjoining lounge. History oozes from this place with many period furnishings and decorations. The lodge is also set in a very lovely lakeside location and very centrally located for some of the best hiking in New Zealand. Do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank durableOntario
Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a lovely escape from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown. The lake was a beautiful sight to behold in the morning. I had a wonderful first evening with a Kiwi family in the restaurant while enjoying great wine, and an equally fantastic second night watching the stars with a friend in the quirky treehouse they had built in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ariel D
West Tisbury, MA
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stopped a night prior to hiking the Routeburn Track but I can well imagine spending days on end relaxing at Glenorchy. The restaurant is excellent for dinner, but with the available kitchen you can make your own meals as well. The views are sublime, especially from the hot tub, under the stars at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidandlynne
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful few days staying in a new luxury eco lodge at Kinlock Lodge- we absolutely loved the scenery, watching the sunrise and the moon rise through the enormous bedroom window. Toni and John were wonderful hosts and the food from their vegie garden, fresh eggs and oven baked bread were gorgeous. On our last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
Kinloch_Lodge, General Manager at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Leanne, we're glad you had a great time in our new EcoScapes. We hope to see you again to enjoy these wonderful views.

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This place is for some, like us. Certainly not for everyone. This lodge is a few km past the end of the paved road. If you are fearless enough to drive on gravel, this could be your place. It's a historical gem with several rough edges, and several key features which grow on you. First to dispense with the rough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnOregonFamily
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and got involved with our other lovely guests, you sound like you totally got what we're about here with our beautiful old buildings. We'll take a look at the showers. We hope to see you again.

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Kinloch Lodge is a really special place to stay. The room was small but clean and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We were lucky enough to to have a front Heritage room overlooking Lake Wakatipu and the Richardson Range. The weather was perfect and the view gorgeous. Dinner and breakfast were excellent and the staff delightful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Anne. Glad you had a great stay. Would love to be able to control sandflies. Let me know if you ever come across anyone who has found a great way to do this. Have a great trip around the rest of New Zealand

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking for something a little more adventurous to do whilst you're in Queenstown? Why not take a drive over to Glenorchy and admire the most stunning views. And then from there take the road to Kinloch - last few kms unsealed (so check your rental car conditions) and wallow in the peaceful lakeside restaurant, indulging in some pretty top notch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Sandra Thanks for finding us. Love that you loved the food. Hope we see you again one day. For those with rental cars, the main road out of Glenorchy that is not allowed is the Paradise Road. The only one we have found so far that bans driving on the Kinloch Road is Omega rentals. See you again we...

Marshall Islands
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Kinloch before we hiked the Routeburn, for which this property was a great location. It took about half an hour to drive from Kinloch Lodge to the trail head. The staff were welcoming and accommodating. The property was quaint. The location was peaceful and beautiful. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The bathrooms seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2Goingplaces
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. Yes, the bathrooms sometimes can become a little tardy between guest use, depending on the guests we have staying. We will schedule some more checks into the day so this isn't a problem. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kinloch again in the future. Many thanks Toni

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The view is amazing and the access to places to hike was great too. The food was exceptional - try the Venison stew! Some might find the rooms off-putting (I did at first) but I was wrong. They are clean and simple. And who wants to stay in your room anyway when you can relax on the covered porch with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lola C
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review Lola, we're glad you had a great time and enjoyed the beautiful outdoors here!

Stratford, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Lodge amplifies the conflict between a heritage experience and the needs of the modern traveller. What you land up with is a glorified and vastly overpriced boarding house with a rich history, yet one without ensuite bathrooms. The wi-fi does not work, there is no place to plug anything in to recharge an iPad or phone, and you get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shawkins105
Kinloch_Lodge, Owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your review. We would love to be able to offer en-suite facilities in all our rooms and unlimited high speed wifi, though at the moment we cannot do this. We are a family run business that does our best to do what we do well and within our means. We always ensure what we offer...

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
30.5 km away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#29 of 57 in Queenstown
585 reviews
31.4 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,305 reviews
30.5 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
36.2 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
31.9 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a spectacular setting on the lakefront opposite Glenorchy township between the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks, a stay at Kinloch Lodge is a highlight of any holiday. One of just three places in the Southern Lakes to become an authors pick in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Kinloch is a haven for walkers, fishermen and people who want to feel close to their natural environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinloch Lodge

Address: 862 Kinloch Rd, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range: €59 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinloch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kinloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch Hotel Glenorchy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kinloch Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Perth, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kinloch Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Kinlock lodge offers budget to luxury accommodation and we chose the luxury option for our anniversary.”
 of 5 bubbles 641leanner, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room with Lake View or Eco Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles 836AnneD, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Wilderness Double great for start or finish Routeburn, Caples or Greenstone tracks. Shared facilities and common kitchen, dining area.”
 of 5 bubbles fisheram, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We liked the Heritage House, queen room at front. Friends have stayed in the backpacker type accomodations and liked those.”
 of 5 bubbles MountainGirlCa, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the lake house only dining at Kinloch lodge”
 of 5 bubbles GijsJongeneel, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5