We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

KarMichael Farm Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Wellington, NZ
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The grounds are wonderful. We stayed for 2 nights with a tour group, eating and sleeping at karMichael. It has a relaxed atmosphere and spacious grounds to explore with views up to the land of Lesotho (we went up Suni Pass). The rooms are comfortable, but no TV (and there is WiFi but it didn't work so well in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Duncan Thank you for your review. Glad you had a comfortable stay. We have specifically decided not to put TV's in the rooms, and have in fact had more positive than negative responses to that. The folk like the peace and quiet. Making WiFi available to all the rooms was an expensive exercise, but is freely available at reception...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place to spend a few days with friends and family! Incredible hospitality from both the staff and the couple who own the establishment. They went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable. Easy access and ideally located for outings. I can't wait to go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Svennybill
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review us. Always helps us as well as others in deciding on a final choice. We are very happy you enjoyed the stay and was nice to meet and chat to you all as well. We are spoilt with our location and views and if we can assist others to take advantage...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We stayed in the Livingstone room. It was beautiful and very comfortable. There were great views of the mountains and nearby wetlands. The staff was friendly and helpful, and dinner at night was very good. Wifi is available in the reception area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egropp
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for making the effort to write your review about Karmichael Farm. Yes Livingstone does have great views. We are glad you found it comfortable. The rooms certainly are spacious and I will let our staff know you appreciated their helpfulness. It was great meeting you too and hopefully will meet again some day.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Beautiful tranquil place with wonderful views. We stayed in Gregg's Cottage which was spacious, well laid out and very well equipped. Felt like home away from home with the attention paid to finer details of the interior décor. Owner was very friendly. Only wish our stay could have been longer. We would highly recommend KarMichael Farm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomHFinnegan
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Tom thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your time is appreciated. We are glad to have been able to provide you all with a comfortable place to stay and beautiful surroundings. Many guest have commented on the peace and tranquillity they experience here. It is sometimes a pity that we cannot always stay longer...

london
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful place set in the perfect location for exploring South Drakensberg and the Sani pass. We left Durban and we found just what we needed, an oasis of peace and serenity. The views from our cozy and spotless cottage were stunning. The bed was super comfortable and the shower was fantastic, great water pressure- perfect after a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sara072
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Was an absolute pleasure to have had you both. Interesting to chat to and glad you were able to enjoy the place, the peace and quiet and views. We work hard at trying to achieve high standards and it is great when they are appreciated. You both take care and hopefully meet again.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2015

I stayed for two nights in the spacious Tranquility room of this elegantly designed 4* luxury, upmarked B&B. Surrounded by the beautiful Southern Drakensberge it is situated only a few km away from Sani Pass. I appreciated the warm welcoming hospitality of the owners, detailed informations about South Africa, the people, their culture - especially nearby - was provided at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Humanperspective
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and appreciate the comments. We certainly do live in a nice part of the world and glad you were able to take the time to enjoy our place and also the surroundings. We enjoy meeting travellers and chatting and glad we were able to assist with your planning and provide useful info. I am sure...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Relaxing stay over a long weekend. Property is well kept, situated on a neat small holding with a view of the Drakensberge. The rooms ware spacious and well kept. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful. I strongly recommend this B$B and I will surely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hug222
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Much appreciated. Glad we were able to offer your a pleasant weekend break and you were well respected and treated. Would love to see you back here again.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

We had a Wonderful stay at Karmichael Farm, the decor in the Cottage was impeccable, we built a Cosy fire as our First night was really Chilly, waking up to a beautiful morning and as for the Breakfast served it was delicious 👍🏼 We will most definitely stay again ...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YSmall
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed the stay. Must say it is very nice to have a fire going in Rose Cottage when it is chilly. Happy you found the breakfasts tasty as well and I will pass on your compliments to the ladies who did it all.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 27 July 2015

our group of 8 stayed here during an epic road trip throughout South Africa and Lesotho. The main reason for staying here was as a base to explore the legendary Sani. This is an upmarket luxury establishment with refined accommodation. I stayed in the large Augusta room - that had two three quarter beds, electric blankets, a decanter of sherry...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pole-pole_express
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. It was a privilege to meet you all and can see that life still has lots to offer after retirement. Well done on your annual journeys and glad we were able to be part of your adventure this year. We appreciate the feed back and glad you found the stay comfortable and to your...

Cape Town
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Allison , the owner of KarMichael happened to overhear at a local garage that we were stuck in Himeville for an extra day because of tyre problems. She absolutely insisted that we , total strangers , stay at her guesthouse at no cost for the night. This is the type of hospitality you can expect at KarMichael. The cottage we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobCCapeTown
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are glad to have been able to help. Sometimes life throws us a curved ball and there is something that turns up that makes you remember it in a good light. Hope Allison achieved that for you. Happy you had a comfortable stay and hope to maybe see you again.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
2.8 km away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
0.5 km away
Moorcroft Manor
Moorcroft Manor
#2 of 9 in Himeville
89 reviews
9.0 km away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 17 in Underberg
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
1.2 km away
Albizia House
Albizia House
#4 of 9 in Himeville
36 reviews
8.8 km away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
KarMichael is a family run farm. We are situated just outside the Village of Himeville. We have up market self catering cottages and Bed 'n Breakfast accommodation available. Access is easy along tarred roads and guests just love the peace and quiet of the place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about KarMichael Farm Guesthouse

Address: Sani Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Price Range: €65 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your KarMichael Farm Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from KarMichael Farm Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles berianm, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check their website to see which unit suits you - they can cater for up to 30 people.”
  • Early autumn morning mists
  • Dawn awakening
 of 5 bubbles rosemills2, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“in winter choose one with underfloor heating”
 of 5 bubbles pole-pole_express, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
“loved Gregg's Cottage :)”
 of 5 bubbles SallyAnneRoux, 8 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Greggs Cottage is excellent for families”
 of 5 bubbles 32Duncan, 7 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay