We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
52 London Road, Hindhead GU26 6AG England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (98)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel was originally built as a country residence for the Hon. Rollo Russell, Whose father, Lord John Russell was England’s first Liberal Prime Minister. Sometime during the early 1900’s, The house known then as Thorshill was leased to a part time minister of the local congregational church, he and his wife, ran Thorshill as a private guesthouse up until 1949. The building has been a hotel ever since. Nowadays set in picturesque and peaceful location, right opposite The Devil’s Punchbowl itself, The hotel is the best place to relax in a truly rural setting. We can meet all private and business needs with 32 spacious bedrooms, The superb Thorshill Restaurant offering excellent cuisine & wine, our traditional pub and a conference and function room, all equipped to the highest standard.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Hungarian and 2 more
460Reviews3Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 107
  • 99
  • 79
  • 92
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tamsin W wrote a review 19 May
Grayshott, United Kingdom18 contributions7 helpful votes
We ate at the Devils Punchbowl Hotel tonight for the first time in a few years and we will definitely be returning. We had a few reservations to start with as the menu is not very extensive but we shouldn’t have worried, what a fantastic evening we had. There was 8 of us eating and not one of us had any complaints. Starters and mains were all great. The service was perfect, two young men who’s names I unfortunately didn’t get but they were both very friendly and very professional. 10/10 experience all round, we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Devils Punchbowl, General Manager at The Devils Punchbowl
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your kind feed back.
Read more
Abbeyroad wrote a review Apr 2022
Barnstaple, United Kingdom13 contributions10 helpful votes
Have stayed at this hotel several time never had a problem, But I have notice when I go into the bar for a drink !that the bar staff are getting Younger …..that’s not a problem It’s the lack of customer service that is the problem,the younger bar staff spend More time talking to the young ladies this side of the bar ,instead of paying attention to the customers! Last night (22nd April )the young lad in his twenties completely ignored me and went the other side of bar taking to two ladies, We walked out and went to Grayshott.I recommend more training or more mature staff who know the job !! T
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Devils Punchbowl, General Manager at The Devils Punchbowl
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, please be assured I will be speaking to the team regarding this and further training will be implemented to ensure this does not happen again
Read more
Carol J wrote a review Apr 2022
Maidstone, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April. The hotel is very old and obviously undergoing a refurbishment. The entrance, bar, dining room and lounge are very nicely decorated, with a beautiful fireplace in the dining room and comfortable leather Chesterfield sofas in the lounge. Our twin room was spacious and well furnished, with hairdryer, trouser press, tea making facilities, tv etc. The beds were comfortable and the bedding and towels were spotless. The paintwork could do with a lick of paint, the silicone/grouting round the bath needs replacing, and some of the curtain hooks were broken, but these are all minor details which will obviously be fixed during the ongoing refurbishment. The corridor to the bedrooms did have a musty smell, but the radiators have obviously been updated and the ceilings in the stairwell had only just been replastered, so I would imagine the musty smell will reduce in time. The food in the restaurant was very good and we didn’t have a long wait to be served. The staff were very polite, helpful and attentive. The hotel is situated just opposite the main entrance to the Devils Punchbowl National Trust property, with astounding views and pleasant walks. I would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Devils Punchbowl, General Manager at The Devils Punchbowl
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon
Read more
SAL wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Due to a family bereavement we needed to stay in the area. Poor lighting in rooms, however room sizes acceptable. Bedroom furniture tired looking. Bathrooms were in a poor state. We shortened our stay as on both nights had to move rooms due to appalling smell of smoke from nearby bedrooms. Such a fire risk . We acknowledge this reflects on individual customers, who clearly do not care about others safety .apparently guests were covering the fire alarms !! Staff friendly especially the staff member who served breakfast and manned reception. Bedroom wing smelt of damp and everywhere you looked was in disrepair. So sad to see. Faulty Towers comes to mind Chefs appearance did not give an impression of cleanliness either although pleasant Location is excellent for walks and beautiful scenery but that where the pluses stop.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: No rooms were good cannot add a tip
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Devils Punchbowl, General Manager at The Devils Punchbowl
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. I do apologise that other guests did not respect the rules and smoked in their rooms, please be assured they were spoken to at the time. We appreciate your feedback as it is essential for us to continue improving.
Read more
Traveller 4 wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
This hotel is extremely shabby and does not feel clean at all. My apparently clean bed had black foam in it when the covers were pulled back. The bathroom was so grubby neither myself or my daughter wanted to use it. The lighting in the room was dim and minimal. There is work being carried out downstairs but the corridors and room 106 should be given a miss. £87 for a twin room is not my idea of good value for money
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Devils Punchbowl, General Manager at The Devils Punchbowl
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and feedback. I do wish you had let us know any issues and we could have moved your room. Please be assured your feedback has been passed to the relevant teams.
Read more
Milo J W wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I wish I could give this place six stars. Gosh darn is this a wonderful pub! I can’t speak to the quality of the rooms, but I can tell you about my excellent lunch! First off, I’ve never felt more like a king than when my partner and I walked in. The bartender and waitress, Nicole, seemed absolutely overjoyed to see us, and payed us plenty of attention while apparently running the whole place by herself! We did see one other staff member, presumably the manager, but he seemed very busy and never said hello or smiled at us (or any other customers for that matter). Oh well! Luckily we had good ol’ Nicole to inform us all about the flavoured gins, the beers, and the food - I had the fish and chips on her recommendation and loved every bite!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Devils Punchbowl, General Manager at The Devils Punchbowl
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
JohnandMandy B wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Hotel room was dirty, full of mold . When trying to advise the checkout guy, he got immediately defensive and wouldn't listen. The bar staff were however a delight. Would recommend for a drink, but definitely not for an overnight stay I would attach photos but it keeps saying file over size limit
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Devils Punchbowl, General Manager at The Devils Punchbowl
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Thank you for your review. I will be sure to pass your feedback to the relevant teams and these issues will be resolved imminently.
Read more
Tina wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
Good sized rooms and comfortable. Good value for money. Food was Excellent. Chef's were very accommodating to my dairy-free needs. Chocolate sponge cake and chocolate sauce for vegans was delicious. All staff made us both feel very welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Devils Punchbowl, General Manager at The Devils Punchbowl
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon
Read more
Jenni B wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
The worst hotel ever. Greeted with mid decor reception, electric wires poking out the wall, stained carpets, dirty bathroom, old blackened grouting and scummy hand wash bottles. No light above the mirror but left with the old casing. Dusty, broken, wobbly lampshades, security light hanging off the ceiling, broken arm rest for the old single glazed window, wall paper hanging off. Later greeted by reception staff smoking and on his mobile at the front door. Broken floor tiles in the bar being dug out + plastered during breakfast and my daughter was served burnt toast. On our return to the room at 4pm no housekeeping or cleaning evident= only one bin had been changed, leaving the bathroom bin with female sanitary products still full, carpet not hoovered, the towel used to mop up the leaking shower still on the floor, and bed not made or even turned back. No heating controls on the radiator so we were cold in the afternoon + evening as the heating went off. The only slight redeeming feature was one male receptionist + one female bar staff were friendly and helpful when I asked for fresh toast for my daughter. This hotel is under refurbishment and in some places looks ok = they've decorated the walls but not bothered to update the ceiling fitments in the dining room next to the bar. I suggested to the Duty Manager that warning customers ahead of arrival of refurbishment or making the standard of hotel transparent on their website was a basic requirement. They clearly didn't agree. I was given a full refund but would have preferred not to be there at all, especially as it was supposed to be a treat for my autistic daughter. My advice= don't bother wasting your money, it's so grim I didn't even really want to give it one star.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Devils Punchbowl, General Manager at The Devils Punchbowl
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you for your review. We have passed your feedback to the relevant teams.
Read more
Adam B wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
Absolutely horrific hotel. We booked on the basis that we were told the bar would be open till 11pm. Last drinks were available at 930. They are claiming that as the bar was “open” albeit with no drinks available from 930 until 1030 that this classed the bar as open till 1030. Horrid, mouldy bathrooms, broken tiles to bathroom floor, staff clueless on how to check us in and windows dirty mouldy and broken. Guess you get what you pay for!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the devils punchbowl hotel hindhead, devils punchbowl hindhead
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyHindhead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Devils Punchbowl
Which popular attractions are close to The Devils Punchbowl?
Nearby attractions include The Sculpture Park (4.0 km), Ramster Gardens (6.2 km), and Hindhead Commons and the Devil's Punch Bowl (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Devils Punchbowl?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Devils Punchbowl?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Devils Punchbowl?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Devils Punchbowl?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gurkha Durbar, Pickwick, and The Royal Exchange.
Is The Devils Punchbowl located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Hindhead.
Does The Devils Punchbowl offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Devils Punchbowl?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Polish, Romanian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Devils Punchbowl?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ramster Gardens (6.2 km).