We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gordons Bay Guesthouse

Save
Traveller (23)
Pool & Beach (10)
Room & Suite (4)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
Situated on a beautiful Helderberg mountain slope with magnificent sea views over "False Bay" towards Table Mountain and Cape of Good Hope. All 9 en-suite rooms are air-conditioned with own private entrances and decking/balcony areas. The guesthouse is set within beautiful sub-tropical...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Gordons Bay Road | 37 Boundary Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
29.9 km to Cape Town Intl Airport
11 restaurants are within a 2 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
59
27
11
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
59
27
11
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseown private balconywater restrictionsminute walkthree nightscape townbreakfast was amazingwarm welcomemonikaguesthousehostsrefrigeratorpuppyjacuzzibaygordonsea
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

I was so disappointed. Booked a luxury room with balcony and sea view and didn’t get any of it. We were put in a room that was dark, had no balcony and a view over the estate. The room had two entrances one of which...More

Thank _philip_carter
Response from Jochen1956, Manager at Gordons Bay GuesthouseResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Philip Carter, thank you very much for your comment, that you were at least happy with our most loved even awarded breakfast services. Here we are coming back to your room you booked in yourself. ...and again this is one of our most loved,...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018

This guesthouse is not up to standards. The kitches was horrible and the receipsionist had a child on her back. The rooms was not as adertised. Light Lamps hanging from the wall, sheets is washed out. This guest house must be reviewed on their Star...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 585ramons
Response from Jochen1956, Manager at Gordons Bay GuesthouseResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Ramon Strydom, thank you very much for your great and effectual report about your "not staying with us", at least for 1 night. After you check in you checked out within 5 minutes again without taking any other view or even would have get...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

The dogs are beautiful and the breakfast with classic German "Semmeln", cheese and ham is good. Extras like eggs were no problem and delicious. The owner is very helpful and knows a lot about the region.

Thank Daniel D
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Such a nice and pleasant place. Would recommend everyone to stay here! Feels like home the moment you walk in. The deluxe room is huge and you have much space and a view to die for. Aircon works like a dream. We are both so...More

Thank Vár L
Reviewed 5 December 2017

The guesthouse was beautiful and the breakfast was amazing. Our room was beautiful and loved all the trees around. We were on our honyemoon, so would have loved to spend time in the jaccuzi which was not in working order due to the water restrictions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E9855DSstepheng
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$44 - US$72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$44 - US$72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (23)
Pool & Beach (10)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
peterlynne2015
26 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Jochen H | Property representative |
Well, depending as you walk down can be shorter , about +-550 meters. As you drive a little bit further due to roads and parking procedures!, Yours, in passion for best hospitality services and value for money, Monika... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Don’t have high expectations. Rooms look good on the website but you may not get what you booked."
Read review
"If you want a view, try upstairs rooms."
Read review
"spacey rooms"
Read review
"there are new rooms with private balcony with amazing ocean & mountain views"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing