We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amara Mountain Resort

Show Prices
#3 of 10 Hotels in Kalaw
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Amara Mountain Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amara Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This is a lovely hotel, the building & rooms are all charming. Nice touch that we had a fire lit in our room and hot water bottles in the bed. We enjoyed an early evening pre dinner drink in the beautiful garden. The food was quite good although not cheap. I was disappointed however to be charged $5 for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaJSheffield
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear RaJSheffield, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! First of all, thank you very much for taking time and share your experiences and glad to know as you had a great time and happy with the room set up and atmosphere along with ambience during your stayed. We had noted well to improve your comments and we wish to welcome...

Redding, California, United States
Reviewed 21 February 2016

What a lovely hotel! They come round and ask you what you'd like for dinner, light a fire in the fireplace in your room to take off the chill, and put a hot water bottle in your bed. Rather like being in Commonwealth Britain, without all of the unpleasantness. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The hotel has lovely gardens,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hazel H, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for your beautiful comments. We are very glad to reading your comments as you had a great time during your stayed with us. Once again for taking time to share your fabulous experiences on this page which would help who is looking for their expectation and dreams...

slimdave
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

After touring round Myanmar we were surprised how chilly it gets up in kalaw... but no fear as the fire in the room is all stoked up for you when you return from dinner. Very cosy and excellent service. Food is superb albeit v expensive compared to local restaurants... a running theme in Myanmar but the price differential is quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank slimdave
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Slimdave, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! We would like to thank you for taking time to share of your experiences on this page. We noted well and thanks for your comment to improve for your next visit. Wish we could have chance to welcome you once again in the near future. Best regards, The Management of Amara

Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

This is quite charming for a short stay, its quite surreal having afternoon tea in the English style gardens having come up from the hot bustle of the main cities. All the basics are here , except no tv. There's a basic tea tray and safe. Sunken bath may be awkward for anyone with limited mobility. The curtains are thin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roy999
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Roy999, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel in details. We constantly strive to improve our service and hence we value your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and I have noted your kind comments on items which we have to upgrade on. Once again, I would like to thank you...

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We stayed in the original colonial house built around 1900 complete with an open fireplaces in the communal lounge and the bedrooms. Despite being 27c in the day we really did need the fires at night, the staff lit them all and kept them stocked with firewood whilst we dined in the restaurant. Came back to a roaring fire, hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Sharon
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rob_and_Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in details. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and to many positive comments. I would like to thank you for sharing your experience and ranking us so highly. I do hope that it will assist other travelers in deciding whether to stay...

Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We booked a 2 night stay here as a base for us to do a guided walk up to visit a Tea Tribe village in the hills and then also to spend some time at the wonderful elephant sanctuary just outside town. We loved our stay here and really felt like you were taking a step back in time and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon3105
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Simon3105, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as well as the other travelers. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stayed with us and the many positive comments. I am particularly pleased to hear that our staff looked after you so...

USA
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Very cozy. Fireplaces in the rooms. Nice breakfast. The cool mountain air was refreshing. I was fun to stay in a place with a lot of history. Service was very good. Everyone was friendly. We stayed overnight after a visit to Green Hill Valley Elephant camp and were able to visit the Kalaw market in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmoody6240
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dmoody6240, Thank you for taking the time to review at our hotel in details. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stayed with us. We are indeed located close to the town and most local sights around in Kalaw. Thank you again for sharing your experience and great comments about the teams, service and amenities. We do...

Santa Barbara, Ca
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Stayed here 2 nights with our group, first of all people should be told that this area is very cold at night and warm clothing is essential the hotel has no heating but they do build a fire in your room fireplace each evening. Staff is very helpful & pleasant. Food was good , not great, breakfasts excellent. Would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank birder-snorkeler
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Birder-Snorkeler, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve our service as well as facilities. I am particularly pleased to hear your comments about our Staff , Good Food and the Breakfasts that will be sure to share your comments...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Stayed for 1 night on the way down to Lake Inle, very friendly meet and greet, nice room in a colonial type house, we really liked the open fire in our bedroom, large lounge communal lounge downstairs which would have been ideal to have a bar in. The real disappointment was the food. The menu was local and European, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j w
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear J W, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! First and foremost, thank you very much for sharing of your experiences on this page to whom is looking for the charming place in Kalaw. We would like to thank to your for choosing our property. We noted well of your opinion and we wish to welcome you back in the...

New York City
Reviewed 15 January 2016

This hotel really gives you the feeling of being in the mountains, the room was cozy and fire in the room lit by the friendly staff made the cool weather a bit more bearable. They even provided us with hot water bottles. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank franknothmann
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Franknothmann, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for choosing one of Amara's property in Kalaw amongst other hotels and resorts. We are so glad that you had a great time during your stayed with us. Wish you could have chance to welcome back to you once again. With best regards, The Management of Amara Group

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.0 km away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.7 km away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#5 of 10 in Kalaw
12 reviews
1.2 km away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kalaw
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
0.3 km away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
0.8 km away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalaw is a small town in Shan State, formerly created by the British government during colonial times as a summer resort in the highlands. The Amara Mountain Resort itself consists of two buildings, both colonial style and one built as early as 1909. It is surrounded by a cottage garden with ancient trees, brightly colored flowers and a bio garden, whose products are served fresh in our restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amara Mountain Resort

Address: 10/182 Thida Road Quarter 10 | Western Bogone, Kalaw, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Price Range: €139 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amara Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Amara Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amara Mountain Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we were in the newer building upstairs. the floors are wood and may be noisy if you are on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 38ConradC, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All cabins seem to be the same.”
 of 5 bubbles Dugan65, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“They're all good & nearby”
 of 5 bubbles Simon3105, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms are on first floor and huge!”
 of 5 bubbles 264traceyw, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room 103 is just beside a nice garden”
  • comfy, cozy, romantic
  • beautiful bath
 of 5 bubbles RatedU5, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay