We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hill Cottage Crowborough

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crowborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hill Cottage Crowborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hill Cottage Crowborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 145: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Very lovely b&b, very friendly hosts, the room and bathroom was clean, nice and comfortable. The breakfast was good and they were keen on special needs. I loved the old look of the property, the beams and the old windows, all in all a very nice place to stay at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renate M
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi Renate, thanks for your great review, you certainly covered a lot of ground while you were with us and obviously enjoyed yourself. Hope the cats and parrots gave you a good welcome home!

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

My husband and I spent 3 nights here. The room we had was furnished to a high standard and was immaculately clean. Our room had a dedicated bathroom which was just across the landing. The bathroom was large with a corner bath and, again very clean. Breakfast was delicious with cereal, fruit and yogurt as well as a full English....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SienaMirabella
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we remember you well and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Reviewed 30 June 2016

Arrived earlier than we had anticipated but the owners gave us great service all the way. Wonderful room (number 1) with modern bathroom and good bed. The breakfast was excellent! The pub next door don't serve dinner on all evenings, so you may have to drive (or walk - but its a fair bit) to the town center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bindertech
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back some day. For information, the Wheatsheaf opposite serves evening meals only 3 days a week, Tuesday to Thursday, but there are a number of good alternatives just a short drive away.

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately we did not get to stay here as it looks lovely and came highly recommended. However, although quick to respond via email, when I called to try and book a room I spoke to an extremely rude man (presumably Ted). He informed me quickly that the information on his website was incorrect and although it states room 1 can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank socopet
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Before responding to your review we must emphasise that you did not stay with us and have no experience of our service. I do remember your call because of your request for an extra bed, and you are right, our website should have been updated, so that is in hand as I write. I refute your accusation of rudeness, we...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I could be clinical and efficient and write that the room was beautifully presented, well stocked with tea and coffee, pristine and quiet...and leave it at that. However, this would be an injustice to Ted and Maggie who are warm and welcoming and thoroughly good people. They immediately feel like life-long friends who will talk and, just as important, listen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KashBB
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Wow, what a lovely review, thank you so much Kash. We look forward to seeing you again and picking up the conversation where we left off!

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Spent a night here following a visit to the seven sisters. We were made to feel very welcome by the couple who own the house. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. There are towels provided and shower gel and shampoo. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night sleep. We had a full English breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 08Rachael
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your very kind review, apart from enjoying your stay with us we were very pleased to hear how much you like the general area, and we very much look forward to seeing you again.

Reepham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We have not stayed in many B&Bs but I think this is the one by which all future ones will be judged. We stayed 2 nights while attending a friend's 70th birthday celebrations and we couldn't have made a better choice. The room was small but very comfy and had plenty of storage. The beds were comfortable and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita713
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi and thank you very much for your very kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and it makes a nice change for us to prepare a different kind of breakfast, you were lovely guests and we hope to see you again when your friend is 80!

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Stayed here for a wedding reception late march. Really nice B&B, owners were welcoming and friendly. Rooms were very clean and tidy, bed was super comfy (we had room 4 - the double with the separate bathroom). Slept like a log. Bathroom was new and clean too, we indulged in a bath too which was lovely. There's free wifi too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerri F
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your very kind review, we're glad you had such a good time and enjoyed the breakfast. If you're ever back this way we look forward to seeing you again.

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

The family, 5 of us shared all the 3 rooms, making it even more cosy. We only stayed the one night to attend a 50th anniversary party but would really have liked to stay longer as Ted & Mags are so professional and welcoming .All the reviews speak for themselves. All rooms clean ,plenty of towels ,refreshments ,toiletries. I believe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi Gregg, that's a lovely review from you and your family, thank you very much. You were great fun as guests, a real pleasure, and we hope you can find an excuse to visit us again.

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Ted and Maggie Hirst are very good hosts. They run a beautiful cottage here in East Sussex. We had the room with an en-suite which was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Ample storage space, very comfortable beds and pillows. Should you wish to have a fully cooked breakfast, note that the eggs are fresh from the chickens in the garden, everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winningij
37166, Owner at Hill Cottage Crowborough, responded to this review

Hi and thank you very much for your very nice review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and wish you luck with your house hunting.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crowborough
11.3 km away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
500 reviews
8.0 km away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,373 reviews
10.6 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
261 reviews
12.1 km away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
204 reviews
18.9 km away
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hill Cottage dates back to around 1600 and is a quaint,cosy, heavily beamed stone built country cottage, set in a quiet wooded spot on the edge of town next to a traditional English country pub, yet within short walking distance of Crowborough's two main business parks, local bus services, and the mainline station with trains to London which is just an hour away. Whether your stay is for business, pleasure, or a mixture of the two, we make sure your day gets off to a great start with a wonderful breakfast, and a light packed lunch too if required. There is plenty of car parking, free WiFi, flat screen TV and a hairdryer in your room, comfortable beds with quality linen, fresh fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. We look forward to meeting you and making your stay in Crowborough most enjoyable....... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hill Cottage Crowborough

Address: Hill Cottage Mount Pleasant, Crowborough TN6 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Crowborough
Price Range: €46 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hill Cottage Crowborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely pub next door offering traditional ales, wines and evening meals.”
 of 5 bubbles GaryBSutton_Surrey, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Number 1 had nice views down towards the pub and valley.”
 of 5 bubbles Bindertech, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The twin bedded room with the ensuite is lovely and quiet and overlooks the back garden.”
 of 5 bubbles Rita713, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are brilliant! Depends if you want an ensuite or not!”
 of 5 bubbles 878kerrif, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Sat Nav and a torch .Pub opposite ,no noise.”
  • FRONT ROOM
 of 5 bubbles greggM403, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5