We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Fosse at Cranborne

TripAdvisorUS$64*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$64*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
La Fosse at Cranborne
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 191: English reviews
Start your review of La Fosse at Cranborne
 Click to rate
New Forest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

La Fosse combines a superb country village location with first class food, warm hospitality, and a quiet comfy room. Stay here and in less than five minutes you will be far from the madding crowd on some of the best walks in Dorset. Prices are attractive especially if you look for deals that make it exceptional value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beezkneez
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Just want to say we had a fab time here and the taster menu was superb and with the flight of wines even better . Mark and family work very hard and we wish them continued success .. Breakfast was also great . It's a relaxing setting .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smee21
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

From his first introduction - Sam - could see I was a weary, middle aged cyclist in need of good lodgings, beer and food - the Archangel did not dissapoint. I've already recommended it to many of my tight cycling friends because this is such good value and a caring establishment- rare these day's. My bike was at home in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brentwalker763
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We are 4 hard-working Mum's who needed a little weekend away (a very rare thing for us, I think it was about 4 years ago when we did this) and there was nowhere better to go than Dorset! So, I phoned La Fosse to see if they had 2 bedrooms available for 3/4 of us to stay, but they had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chloeandteam
Management response:

Dear Chloe, Was good to speak to you the other week regarding your review, I apologise again for appearing abrupt and the misunderstanding when you checked out, I did not wish to tarnish your otherwise enjoyable stay. When you return I will ensure you are presented with our vegetarian menu alongside our normal one too. You are quite right about...

Reviewed 17 January 2017

I had read a glowing review in a local magazine and booked a table for a Saturday evening. The food was very disappointing and over priced. 2 starters and 3 mains and 1 bottle of wine came to over £130. 2 of us had the fish main course.... a very un-loved piece of plaice which had no colour/butter and seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 374karenv
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your meal several months ago. We are sorry it was not to your liking. I agree the price you quote would be steep, however looking at the bill on our computer system a round of pre dinner drinks is not mentioned plus the figure quoted included £20 left as...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

On arrival we was greeted by a lovely member of staff that showed us to our room. The room was nicely decorated to fit the building. Bathroom was modern with more than enough products. The best touch was the DVD collection, free to use, as I sleep with the TV on it was nice to have more choice than just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimskinner
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We had dinner with friends at La Fosse. It was a very quiet night. La Fosse has retained much of its original feel in its conversion to a restaurant and B&B. The young lady serving us was absolutely excellent. The food was good but not quite as special as I had hoped given the chef's many awards. The pigeon breast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glyn12
Bournemouth
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Stayed for 2 nights in Room "Dorset Blue" on a Telegraph offer and it was simply wonderful. The cream tea on day one was perfect - scones with no fruit and a very slight saltiness and a lovely crunch. The taster menu on day two was absolutely excellent. All the six courses were memorable but the cheese board, 10 Dorset...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jt51
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Stayed in this hotel for two nights for a nearby wedding. We had dinner there the first night and the food was really good (so was the breakfast) and the service was really excellent, people running the place are definitely very available and happy to accommodate requests. Overall it's a nice B&B but I was a little disappointed with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julien B
london
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Cranborne is a charming village, surrounded by beautiful countryside. To the north east is the cathedral city of Salisbury, the coastal resorts of Poole and Bournemouth are a half hour drive to the south. To the west is Thomas Hardy country and the village of Shaftesbury. The New Forest is only a short drive away. Cranborne has a Norman church,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon f

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranborne
14.1 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
629 reviews
12.0 km away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
283 reviews
15.6 km away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Inn at Cranborne
The Inn at Cranborne
#1 of 3 in Cranborne
170 reviews
0.0 km away
Sheaf of Arrows
Sheaf of Arrows
#3 of 3 in Cranborne
50 reviews
2.7 km away
Home Farm House
Home Farm House
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Saint Giles
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chef proprietor Mark Hartstone and his wife Emmanuelle would like to extend a very warm welcome to you and invite you to experience our homely Restaurant with Rooms in this beautiful countryside of Dorset. Providing six quality accommodations, as well as delicious home cooked dinners with friendly and efficient service, in comfortable idyllic rural surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Fosse at Cranborne

Address: London House, | The Square, Cranborne BH21 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Cranborne
Price Range: €64 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fosse at Cranborne 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Fosse at Cranborne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Fosse at Cranborne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dorset Blue is a good room at the front but be aware that the church bells ring the hours. Not a problem if you sleep as well as I did.”
jt51, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Dorset blue. All rooms named after local cheeses!”
CathyE7, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't have the room at the front that overlooks the pub opposite”
Ca11ieKo, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“For a little extra the larger rooms are well worth it”
EdwardD611, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent and have great toiletries.”
ChrisHazelW, 1 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$64* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates