We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
L1025 Malin More, Glencolmcille F94 HH31 Ireland
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glencolmcille
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille is a friendly home, situated in the Parish of Glencolumbkille, a Gaelic speaking area which is adjacent to Slieve League with its breathtaking sea cliffs, as well as close to the famous Silver strand. We take pride on offering excellent self catering and Bed and Breakfast accommodation at affordable prices. 16 of the 19 rooms are en-suite with rooms varying in size from single rooms to large family rooms sleeping 6 guests with stunning sea and mountain views. All guests have access to a large and comfortable lounge and library, plus a stunning modern self catering kitchen with all amenities. There is ample parking on site and free fibre optic is available through-out. We also advise guests on local attractions and provide free brochures describing day outings around the area. Our website also has multi media content showcasing these amenities. Traditional Cooked Irish Breakfasts are also available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Room features
Fireplace
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
53Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Merging One wrote a review Jun 2022
Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
A very comfortable and clean hotel with great self catering kitchen and lounge area overlooking the Atlantic. The owners Leon and Jill are very friendly and quite knowledgeable about the sightseeing and walks around the area and do their best to help you enjoy your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Joanne Docherty wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Everything about this B&B was great; from the location, the facilities (especially for my dog Rex), to the hosts. We were pleasantly surprised to see just how clean the entire place was, considering it's pet friendly. The hosts could not have done more for us and nothing was too much trouble. Leon went above and beyond his duties, by driving us to and from the local bar both nights (including the dog who ended up being the star of the show!) The rooms were a perfect double size with a very comfy mattress/pillows and everything was extremely clean. Breakfast offered delicious white/brown toast, with Irish butter and jam/marmalade. This with tea, coffee and juice were available for 2nds if not more... Cooked breakfast was simple, and cooked to order. Each element was perfectly cooked and not greasy in the slightest. Leon and Gillian were just the perfect hosts. They came to help at a moments notice, and nothing was too much trouble, while they were still able to make guests feel they were completely at home and relaxed. We ADORED our stay and hope to return soon. PERSONAL THANKS to all the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Sati77 wrote a review Jun 2022
Jakarta, Indonesia97 contributions59 helpful votes
I am a solo traveler and totally relied on public transportation to reach here from Dublin. Leon was very helpful in explaining how to reach his place via email and the bus drivers were also very helpful. Although I relied on public transportation, I did not have a very hard time reaching interesting places nearby. The place is on the edge, a walking distance of the beach, and in a very quiet environment. I was able to have a very good sleep during my stay. The room is small but very clean and had its own bathroom. The only problem was the water pressure was quite low and the water took some time to turn hot. Gillian and Leon are both very welcoming and will always have time to chat with you when possible. If there were any issues, Leon will have it fixed instantly. I had a wonderful stay at this beautiful BnB at a very wonderful place. I wish Gillian and Leon all the best for their BnB.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks Sati, for your lovely review, and hopefully we will see you again!
Read more
Eoin09 wrote a review Sep 2021
Armagh, United Kingdom125 contributions40 helpful votes
Fáilte go Aras Gleann Cholm Cille ar lá den scoth… I suppose it really helped that I took a last minute notion to visit AGCC on a gorgeous few days in August. But talking to the owners Leon and Jill and a few of the regular guests and it was clear that these guys are running a quality operation, they’re welcoming you to a beautiful part of Donegal and they’re happy to have you. It’s a bit out of the way but very clean, comfortable and spacious in the common room areas. Was thinking I’d come back with my music students someday and take over the whole building - we’ll see!! ;)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you don’t drive bring a bike or rent one from Teelin
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 19 Sep 2021
:-) Thanks for the wonderful review and i am holding you to that promise to come with all the musical students. Maybe you can time it to co-inside with Fiddle Week in Glencolumbkille? :-)
Read more
Matthew M wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom13 contributions
I had an excellent weekend here as part of an Irish road trip with two friends. It’s a comfortable, unpretentious place, and the family who run it were warm and welcoming. There were some thoughtful touches, like the bikes available for guests to borrow, and the surprise pancake that was offered when we got back late one evening. Our room was a generous size and was clean and well maintained. The shower was the only thing I found disappointing - It would run lukewarm after a couple of minutes, but I wouldn’t consider that a dealbreaker. Overall it was a very human experience, and if I’m lucky enough to be in that part of the world again, I’d love to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 12 Sep 2021
Apologies about the shower. Its been fixed. There is a filter inside the mixer which had blocked, causing the hot water to run slow. SO SORRY! Leon
Read more
Tom Q wrote a review Aug 2021
Ballymena, United Kingdom4 contributions
Only stayed for 1 night but will definitely stay again if we are in the area, we had a double room with private bathroom which was very clean and comfortable. We were made very welcome from the moment we got there Leon giving us some tips on places to go and where to eat. We got the cooked breakfast the next morning and for 7.50 you really couldn't beat it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty of parking onsite, any questions Leon will be happy to help.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 29 Aug 2021
we'll keep you to the promise to return! Thanks for a lovely review.
Read more
Maria C wrote a review Aug 2021
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a really nice stay a few weeks ago and we were happy they could accommodate our dog Bella as well. Leon was extremely nice and helpful with all recommendations and he even sent them on to me by email in advance. The location itself is very peaceful and we felt very relaxed. Would definitely recommend Aras to all my friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jaspreet D wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I would not recommend anybody to book here unless they want a disappointment. I should not even give 1 star. I made my booking on 17 May 2021 for 21-23 July. I have a cat, so emailed Leon about it and even called him. He sounded very nice at this stage and happily welcomed the cat as he loves cats , he said. On 20 July rang in the evening to make sure the checkin time on 21 July and he informs me that I am not welcome with the cat and he has to cancel my booking. I planned my holidays 2 months ago, took off from work and all thanks to this guy my holiday was ruined. Also he was rude on the phone when he told me about cancelling. SO please everybody choose wisely. As for this place AVOID AVOID AVOID
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid booking
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 28 Jul 2021
We have two 1 star reviews. Neither have actually stayed here... This gent phoned to tell us that his cat will be left in the room while they go out for the day. This concerned me as i feared the cat will mark up the room. The stink would have rendered the room unusable for weeks. I asked the gent what would he do if the cat marked my room? and he told me "that is your problem not mine". At this point i asked him to either come without the cat or to cancel the booking and generously offered a free cancellation. He took up this option and cancelled the booking.
Read more
C M wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
+1
Fantastic place to stay. Leon and Gillian were excellent hosts, so friendly and helpfull. Rooms were spacious and very clean. The cooked breakfast was delicious. Plus you could use the kitchen and make your own food, which was fantastic. Would recommend here to stay. Leon and Gillian make you feel like part of their family. Thank you so much 😊 . So relaxing and peaceful place to stay. The scenery is beautiful Plenty to do and see.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 24 Jul 2021
Thanks so much. We have had a wonderful summer with fantastic guests. The last month has been so much fun! :-)
Read more
Philomena C wrote a review Jul 2021
Derry, United Kingdom19 contributions6 helpful votes
Loaction very good shame about weather, very comfortable bed good size ensuite friendly hosts good information on things to do sent by email prior to visit quiet good showers are positive ,negative hosts could spend less time with guests at breakfast more selfcatering place rather than bed and breakfast as you have to prepare own breakfast nothg great value for what we paid for 4 people
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 17 Jul 2021
Aras is a combination of self catering and BnB, so guests have the choice of doing their own, or purchasing breakfast. That is made clear on all booking sites.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalGlencolmcille
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Which popular attractions are close to Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Nearby attractions include Silver Strand Beach (3.3 km), Glencolmcille Folk Village (2.6 km), and Away to Me Sheepdog Trial Demonstrations (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Conveniently located restaurants include An Chistin @ Cook's Pantry, Benny's, and The Village Shop & Coffee House.
Are pets allowed at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Glencolmcille Folk Village (2.6 km) and The Deserted Village of Port (7.3 km).
Is Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.