We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pheasant Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pheasant Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Pheasant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 476: English reviews
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

It's like going back in time. It's a traditional old style Lakeland pub/restaurant. We loved sitting in the lounge with the open fire. It was like sitting in somebody's sitting room! It was lovely and quiet and atmospheric. Perfect after a winters walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkStephen
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you very much and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our cosy inn so much. We hope to see you again when you are next visiting the Lake District

Glasgow
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We stayed here for one night only, although it's well known to us as we've eaten there many times over the years. We were in the house in the car park because that was the only room left. It's ideal for dog owners, although we don't have one at present. The room is a good size with comfortable beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fmck49
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your feedback and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be back. Our apologies regarding the level of service you received in the Bistro, we have fed that back to our staff and we do apologise it fell below our usual high standards. We do look forward to seeing you here again...

Stone
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Having just returned from a 1 night stay for a birthday where I booked a Superior Double room for £180per night B&B, have got to say mildly disappointed! Dinner last night was delicious and can't fault the standard at all but the room was less satisfactory. The room 'Caldbeck' is located over the bar area so quite noisy which surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Diane T
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay with us fell short of our usual high standards. We did apologise at the time when the issue of noise was bought to our attention and offered your party a voucher for a return visit. Our rooms are of a high standard and very clean and we do have a rolling programme to...

Maryport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We decided not to go out New Years Eve but instead go for a good walk with the dog and then have lunch at The Pheasant Inn. I checked on their website and it stated they did lunch in the Bistro until 4.30pm So off we went for our walk which was fantastic and the thought of lunch at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ajmshoes
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your experience fell below your expectations and our apologies for the inconvenience caused by our kitchen closing early on the afternoon of New Year's Eve. We will review our communications and make sure that it is clearer in future and again our apologies for your disappointment.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We have just returned from the Pheasant Inn after a fabulous birthday weekend. What a treat! The hotel is quaint with loads of nooks and crannies, decorated beautifully, drenched in character. The bedrooms are very spacious compared to most in Lakeland! The food was fantastic, we ate in both the Bistro and the Fell Restaurant. neither were stuffy, both were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RHRambling
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you had such a good stay here at the Pheasant for your birthday weekend and enjoyed your room and food so much. We really look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We stopped here in the recommendation of locals for lunch. We were not disappointed- plenty of choice both in terms of food and where to sit. This is a hotel and a pub/restaurant. It is a lovely old fashioned building with lots of character. We had an open sandwich with chips and the chips were excellent - they are home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joby69
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch so much - we are very proud of our triple cooked chips. Thank-you very much for taking the time to comment and look forward to seeing you here next time you are in the area

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed for a few days visiting family nearby. The inn is charming - comfortably room with dog friendly facilities. It's a delight! There are cozy lounges with log fires and attentive staff. The food is very good too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargieRibton
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear you and your dog enjoyed your visit to The Pheasant Inn so much. Thank-you for your kind words and we hope to see you again next time your are visiting family.

Chorley
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I’ve stayed here a few times over the years and always enjoying going back. A fabulous old inn with bags of English character and charm. Its full-on country inn chintz with a choice of dining options. The Pheasant has a great cosy old bar with excellent ales and a very a good value wine list, displaying much better value than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KnightGuest
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your kind words and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the character of the Pheasant Inn so much. We take a lot of pride in putting together our wine list and we are particularly pleased to hear that you appreciated that. Thank-you again and we look forward to welcoming you back here again...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We visit Keswick every Christmas for our Christmas holidays as a family. We found The Pheasant Inn about 5 years ago. We planned to go there when we arrived on 21st December. We hadn't booked but they remembered us from past years and made up a table for us in the restaurant. Being a vegetarian I find it very hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyBailey
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your kind words and we are delighted you were enjoyed your meal and in particular our vegetarian options. We look forward to seeing you all next Christmas.

Reviewed 20 December 2016

Last visited this hotel 18 years ago and a bit apprehensive but I have to say the owners have even improved on the previous standard. A delicious Sunday lunch in the restaurant served by friendly attentive staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much and we are pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch so much. We hope you don't wait another 18 years to come back as we would be delighted to see you again here soon.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.0 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,551 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
0.0 km away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
996 reviews
0.0 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
505 reviews
0.0 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Price Range: €130 - €217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the garden room was super.”
 of 5 bubbles alexakeithw, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The cottage rooms are ideal for dog owners.”
 of 5 bubbles fmck49, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For dog friendly room on main floor in separate annex”
 of 5 bubbles MargieRibton, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't have a room over the kitchen - the fan can be a little noisy”
 of 5 bubbles KnightGuest, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms allow dogs. We had Bassenthwaite room but Appletreewick room looked even more fabulous!”
 of 5 bubbles 457362Doreen, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5