We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Aurora Estate Hotelli

Room/Suite (10)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
avatar-image
... to the hotel. We checked in and were shown to our room which was at the top of the stairs and had a nice view...
avatar-image
... is that the rooms are rather small (so consider the suite) and the air is very dry (outside and inside). The food...
avatar-image
... estate felt as cool as the winter plains! We just got our room key and a few curt instructions what not to do (i.e. smoke...
Featured room amenities
Suites
Hot Tub
Room service
Housekeeping
Blackout Curtains
Hair Dryer
See all room amenities (25)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
avatar-image
EmmaDurnford wrote a review Mar 2018
Teddington, United Kingdom383 contributions241 helpful votes
We booked a 4-night stay at the Aurora Estate Hotel a couple of months before our visit in February as a trip for my 50th birthday. Prior to our visit I exchanged emails with Heidi who was very helpful in answering all my questions. We decided to take the bus from Kittilä airport as it was only €12.5 each way (much cheaper than €80 for a taxi and ours was the first stop after the airport) - on request it drops you very close to the hotel. Although there was thick snow it was an easy 200 metre walk from the drop off by the small supermarket to the hotel.

We checked in and were shown to our room which was at the top of the stairs and had a nice view overlooking what is probably fields thick with snow! The room was rather ‘bijoux’ and with two suitcases of cold weather gear it was a case of moving things around whilst we were in the room to make space. However it was really warm and the wet room style bathroom and shower had plenty of hot water. The free wifi was also of a good speed. There are suites available which are bigger but all were booked up by the time we booked our trip.

We ate in on our evening of arrival and on Valentines day as I thought other places nearby could be fully booked. The food was very good, beautiful presented and the main courses a good quantity. I had paella on the first evening and the Valentine menu choice of spaghetti carbonara on the second evening. The food was rather expensive as it is all over Finland and the wine was very expensive so we stuck to tap water!

We chose what time we wanted breakfast the evening before and when we came down a continental buffet style breakfast on a sharing plate was promptly served.

On the other two evenings we ate at the excellent bar/restaurant ‘Orso’, about a 10-minute walk in the snow (see my separate review) and probably rather better value for money.

During our stay we went husky sledging with ‘Rami’s Huskies’ - brilliant - and we went snowmobiling and visited a reindeer farm with ‘Due North Safaris’, also very good (a small and professional company). I have written separate reviews and I would throughly recommend both companies as small, professional and excellent value for money (although not cheap).

To summarise, the hotel is in a great location, quiet with nice views and close by to a cafe and small supermarket and it is easy to travel to the ski resort by bus. Standard rooms are rather small and at €192 a night with breakfast rather pricey.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you can afford it book a suite for more room.
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
1-12-5-24 wrote a review Mar 2016
Zurich, Switzerland4 contributions3 helpful votes
This is for sure the best Hotel in the region. The management/ownership cares about every guest and makes you feel totally welcome.

Also the house is in a good location, close to a gas station and a small supermarket and in good reach of skiing resort and other places for activities. But still quite remote at the banks of the lake.

The Hotel itself is very cosy, even more when compared with other Hotels in the region. The only minor drawback is that the rooms are rather small (so consider the suite) and the air is very dry (outside and inside).

The food was outstanding. We ate great (dinner and breakfast) for the entire week. The chef (and co-owner) is very ambitioned and cares a lot about the quality of the ingredients and the food itself.

We really enjoyed our stay a lot and are sure to be staying at the Aurora Estate, should we come back to Lapland. Thank you Sirli and Heidi for making our Holiday an even better experience! Alex + Mary.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Annemarie M wrote a review Jan 2017
Huizen, The Netherlands43 contributions17 helpful votes
Aurora Estate is located on a big lake near Yllas ski area. However, the location in winter isn't very attractive at first sight. It's just off the main road, on the midst of a (windy) plain. In the immediate vicinity of a roadside cafe, a scooter rental outfit, a gas station and a few other randomly placed houses. Our welcoming at the estate felt as cool as the winter plains! We just got our room key and a few curt instructions what not to do (i.e. smoke on the balcony). Our room was very small (13m), no place to put our suitcases, also due to a big, rustique, wobbly wooden clothes rack (with dangerous points attached to it), that doubled as a cupboard. A chest of drawers, a chair and 2 beds (with synthetic duvets) completed the room. Very low windows (under the eaves), so had to bent to our knees to look outside. Bathroom small, but adequate, with a good shower. Sauna and (much promoted) hot tub have to booked in advance and paid for extra: 70E for 2 persons!! And that on top of the 13m room price of 178E. In the end we decided not to have dinner in the restaurant (although it's featured as good), because of the unfriendly ambience. We experienced the restaurant for breakfast the next morning. A really great view towards the lake, seeing the rising orange, red sun (we had luck: a clear day). Breakfast itself (served - no buffet) wasn't sumptuous. For the 2 of us: half a plate of salad, a bit of omelet with sausages/bacon, a couple of mini croissants and 2 pieces of bread and a small bowl of yoghurt. I asked for a second serving of yoghurt, which clearly wasn't appreciated (but served). All in all, it's an ok place (the design is good, it's clean), but the location is off track: 15 minutes drive to ski area Yllas and 45 minutes to ski area Levi. Not enough value for money, certainly not if you compare it to lively, pittoresque Levi, where you can get more spacious, luxurious dwellings for less money.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heidi S, Toimitusjohtaja at Aurora Estate Hotelli
Responded 11 Jan 2017
Hi, Aurora Estate is located at original Ylläsjärvi village and the buildings around have been built in an original style, how ever our yard and close surroundings are traditional lappish village style. To my first impression you seemed, really happy about the place and everything we we´re talking quite a while at you room after I had taken you there, helping with you luggage. I was telling you all the same things that we tell to all of our guests, including the fact that smoking at the balcony is not allowed because the ventilation system in right above it and also there is two rooms on both sides and if they have open windows, the smoke goes in the rooms. You seemed really happy about everything at your arrival and at the time we were talking by the room we were laughing together. Our interior has been greately valued especially the clothing racks, which are part of our community history. Unfortunately we can´t please everyone with our interior solutions, but this far everyones loved it all. As you asked of the sauna, it had a booking but as I told you, there was a second time avalable that day later. We do take all the bookings to sauna and unfortunately it´s not avalable all the time, since it is very popular with the jacuzzi. That 70€ (for our hotel guests) includes 2 hr private time in sauna and Jacuzzi, heating, cleaning, shampoo, soap, towels, firewood for fireplace and towels. I am sorry that you felt that it was unfriendly ambiance, for what we recall our converstions about everythin we´re very nice and we told that we can also tell you about other restaurants at Ylläs area, if you don´t want to eat with us. We don´t expect our guests to always eat with us and are glad to tell about other services in the area too. Our breakfast is highly liked too and it´s always prepared as the guests arrive to make sure it´s all fresh. And everythin you can get more absolutely, and as I my self was at the breakfast, I recall asking you if I could bring you something more, as I did the youghurt and coffee as you requested. As you propably noticed we also serve high quality Nespresso coffee at breakfast From our place it´s 3 minutes drive (4km) to ski resort. And cross country ski tracks go 200m from us, as the snowmobile track too. Levi is a very different type of ski resort from Ylläs yes, and really nice place too. Ylläs is more authentic and original and levi is more built Alpine style. All and all, I am are sorry that you felt this way and hope that you come and visit us again. Also I am sorry that we didn´t have any idea of your feelings so we could´ve somehow helped at the time you were visiting us. Warm regards Heidi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RobinClapp wrote a review Jun 2023
malmö Skåne Län, Sweden59 contributions78 helpful votes
This hotel is in a good location, away from the hustle and bustle, in the charming settlement of Yllasjärvi, which is stunning in the snow. The high point is the absolutely amazing restaurant and the wonderful breakfast, with well-made omelettes, home-baked items, fresh fruit, excellent sausages or bacon - all served based on choices you make the previous evening. Dinner at the hotel was also exceptional, but extremely expensive as well. Good thing to do as a treat, but certainly not every evening, unless you are quite wealthy indeed.
The room was rather dissappointing, however. A very basic bathroom and a very, very small double room, where there was hardly room to even turn around. The decor is 'cozy' but that still did not make up for the lack of space - and I was a single person occupying a double room. I am not sure how my friends in another 'double', sharing, managed. Essentially, the room is hardly bigger than the space needed for a bed, a wardrobe and a very small side table. There is not even room for a decent nightstand, which can get annoying if you like to have a book, a phone, and other items next to the bed. Still, the perception of space is largely cultural, so perhaps there are many who would not mind. Indeed, my friends seemed quite satisfied with their room.....
Back to the positive - the hotel also has a lovely, cabin-like building with a sauna and an outdoor jacuzzi that you can rent for a couple hours. This was extremely relaxing and worth doing - although, again, not particularly cheap. The cabin has some drinks available, a seating area and a lovely fireplace. Very charming!
Service is professional and unobtrusive.
All in all, I would recommend the place highly, but if you are claustrophobic stay away and if you are traveling alone, don't hesitate to get a double room anyway!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Book the jacuzzi and sauna well before your trip. They book out fast. We barely managed to get a...
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cédric Caranl wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
I got a warm welcome, got spoiled two weeks long from the Team and got a warm farewell...
It's a real nice quiet place next to the lake, with a nice view and the hotel is only 3-4 years old...
Supermarket, bus station and country ski tracks are only 200m away...
I liked Sirly cooking art, exceptional breakfasts and dinners, food quality, plate presentation and the lovely detailed explanations about what you get in your plate! ;-)
I enjoyed the atmosphere with love to details and the music in the dining room!
It's very clean, i had a good bed and i appreciated the Nespresso coffee machine in my room... ;-)
Mirja is a sunshine!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous