We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Sambiya River Lodge

Room/Suite (35)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$291
CheapTicketsUS$291
TravelocityUS$291
Orbitz.comUS$291
TripadvisorUS$291
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... the road. Lobby had space and soft chairs after a long day. Room was clean, tidy with everything working in it (such a change...
... of the Natural Park and all that stuff, but paying $150 per room per night is not acceptable for the service and quality they...
... my husband and I took our chances and walked to the dining room alone. We made it. The food, especially the soup, was really...
Featured room amenities
Housekeeping
Laundry Service
Wheelchair Access
Baggage Storage
Bottled Water
Family Rooms
See all room amenities (12)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Martin J wrote a review Feb 2020
Braintree, United Kingdom15 contributions
Such a nice place to visit, I had a great time.
Good sign posting on the road. Lobby had space and soft chairs after a long day. Room was clean, tidy with everything working in it (such a change from most places I'd been). Bed soft, shower warm with an excellent view over the river.Pool was a great palce to unwind and relax. Views down over the river were good with assorted birds and animals coming down for a drink or graze.
Food was well presented and tasted wonderful. (Much better than many places I'd been to. Good location for drives to Budongo, ferry and Murchison Falls.
Owner was very helpful with all sorts of things.
Sad I only spent 4 days there. It was the best place I stayed in after 13 months in Uganda
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: Overlooking the river is good for birds and animals
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Sambiya River Lodge
Responded 9 Mar 2020
martintj2014, thank you so much for the 5 star review! We are so happy that we were able to make your trip to Uganda memorable and relaxing. It is our best compliment to hear that our clients' stays are above expectations. We do hope you are able to visit us again soon! Cheers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara N wrote a review Apr 2019
20 contributions2 helpful votes
Me and my friends had a terrible experience there. We arrived at the hotel after a long day visiting the park, and what did we find? There was not hot water, the rooms were really basic with no windows, full of insects and the rooms provided were not the ones we booked (despite of calling two days in advance to confirm the reservation was all right).
The people in charge didn’t give us any solution at all, so we just had to stay in the hotel because there was not other options. I understand it is inside of the Natural Park and all that stuff, but paying $150 per room per night is not acceptable for the service and quality they offer.

I STRONGLY NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTEL AT ALL
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge
Responded 1 May 2019
Lara N. We are sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction. May I ask who you booked through? It seems that you booked through a third party and it is possible that they placed a commission onto your booking. Did you stay in our cottages or in the bandas (which are typically more basic, but they do not cost $150 a night)? It seems that you were not informed properly about what rooms you were booked in and expected something else. If you could please email us and let us know who you booked through that would be very helpful so we can educated them better on our accommodations and prices. We also list all of our prices on the website and so it is always good to check there before booking with a third party. Again we are so sorry that you were disappointed by the accommodations and if we can take it up with the booking agent we can prevent this confusion in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scubajere wrote a review Aug 2018
Orangevale, California39 contributions14 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay. Close to Murchison Falls and lots of opportunity to see wild animals, even at the lodge itself. The accommodations are comfortable, if not a little rustic. Power is available only from 7 to 10 pm, so no hot water in the morning. WiFi is available only in the bar and it is intermittent and slow. But seriously, this is a great place to stay. At night they recommend being accompanied by a staff member to and from your cottage after dark because herds of cape buffalo wander the grounds, however, there is no way to contact the front desk because there are no phones in the rooms, so twice my husband and I took our chances and walked to the dining room alone. We made it. The food, especially the soup, was really good. We totally enjoyed our experience here, but be prepared, because it's not luxurious.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge
Responded 13 Aug 2018
scubajere, Thank you so much for your review! Indeed, we pride ourselves on being an eco-friendly lodge and therefore are more connected with nature than luxury, but we are glad that you appreciated that! For future visitors, if you would like a ranger to walk you to the main lodge for dinner, you simply need to request it at the front desk before hand and the ranger will come and get you at that time. In a similar vain, if you need a wake up call with tea and coffee on your front porch, simply request it the night before at the front desk and we will oblige! We are so glad you enjoyed yourself and hope you visit us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBrick7 wrote a review Jul 2018
London, United Kingdom226 contributions114 helpful votes
RIPP OFF. Terrible, avoid. Electricity ONLY FOR 4 HOURS A DAY SAME AS WIFI.
We are very regular travellers around the world and never ever felt so ripped off as we felt in this hotel.
A very dirty room and toilet welcomes you!
We paid over £100.00 per night and this is what we got:
1. An extremely outdated cabin with terrible beds and mattresses likely to be 15 years old and we are not exaggerating;
2. A pair of towels that were probably 20 years old and I am not exaggerating;
3. Electricity does not work but from 7PM to 10PM which they never tell you in the website. It does make a difference because wifi does not work and you have to observe curfew times.
4.Food of very poor quality if not terrible.
5. Staff tired, overworked and frankly fed up. Probably underpaid;
6. The shower was probably 50 years old and in a terrible condition. We had an oxidised shower head. I mean common! I am paying nearly 170 USD per night. Can you bot buy a new shower head for 3 USD in Kampala? or clean it? (see attached pictures); obviously because of this, we couldn't have shower during three days because the smell of the water was awful. It was like we were oxidised ourselves!
7. Breakfast included is of a very poor quality;
8. The bar has a very poor selection of spirits and drinks;
9. Mice inside of our room were peeing all night and I could hear them seeing and splashing their wee on the floor; I get it we are in the middle of the jungle, and we did stay in many other places but the other places had the attention to detail required and the maintenance needed.
10. There's a family of Buffaloes living inside of the hotel or around. It is very exciting and quite cool, but not if you have to wait for someone to come and pick you up and drop you off your room because no torches are provided by the hotel.
In sum, the hotel is a rip off, outdated, archaic.
I will never comeback again and I certainly recommend TRIP ADVISOR to explain why is it that this hotel has a "certificate of excellence" because it is a laugh!!!
I will never recommend to a friend and I would certainly recommend the reader to stay away.
In sum, this hotel has its happy days back in the 80's. It is now left down, archaic, very updated. It is IMMORAL to charge what they charge for the kind of hell you get. A cheap, HOSTEL in a very poor country can be better that this Lodge. We would actually want to ask for a refund and will find out how soon.
Lastly, the toilet brush in our room has been there for probably 10 years. I mean, this is just attention to detail!!! a real rip off I hope the reader does not experience.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge
Responded 23 Jul 2018
LuisBrick, We are sorry that you had such an awful experience and felt "ripped off" for your stay at Sambiya. We do not set the prices that are advertised on the site you booked on. You would have been better off to book directly with us. If we were ever faced with being taken to such a dirty room we would go back to reception and request for a clean room so we are surprised that you never complained about any of your concerns while you were with us. We are sure we could have done something to make your stay more enjoyable. We provide stewards/security to take be with you in the dark as a caution because we do share the area with wild animals, regardless of whether you carried a flash light or not. In actual fact, our generator timings are on our Sambiya River Lodge website. Please refer to the "About our Lodge" page. Guests have the option of sitting around the campfire or in the main lodge building after the generator goes off, making use of solar lights.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamerito Ssenfuma wrote a review Apr 2018
Kampala, Uganda188 contributions34 helpful votes
For over 5 years, I had been working closely with the Sambiya River Lodge offices in Kampala, recommending friends heading to Murchison Falls National Park to stay here, without myself visiting the game park and the lodge. This year in March over the International Women's Day weekend, I decided to pack my bags and head to Sambiya River Lodge.

Right from the point go, my trip was filled with lots of beautiful expectations and I must say, I never went wrong. First and foremost, our driver Mr. Asio made sure that we leave Kampala by 1:00 pm in order to reach the park before 6:00 pm ( park gate closing time). Along the 5 hour journey, we discussed a range of national and international tourism related matters. The scenic drive through Luwero, Kafu, Masindi into the Park, was very remarkable with sights of rural villages Uganda, market stalls selling all-you-can eat fresh fruits and food.

When we entered the park, we were welcomed by newly paved road running through the Budongo Forest with sights of troops of olive baboons and black and white colobus monkey grooming or the playing by roadside.

When we arrived at the lodge, Francis - the lodge manager and his team had been informed about our coming, so were ready to receive us. Picked our luggage and led into the huge lounge area and offered hot towels to clean the face and hands. Welcome drink was served.

When this was done, Francis gave a brief about the lodge, the do and don't - It's a jungle so we must respect the animals who call it home. We were advised not to walk alone after sunset or if you wish so, one of the security personnel is on call and must accompany you between your lodge and the restaurant/lounge area in order to avoid bumping into the buffalo or any other animal.

Dinner, Breakfast and Lunch are served in the restaurant area with a large space to lounge and relax or take a drink after a safari. There's also a fire place just outside the restaurant facing the valley.

Internet connection is available onlyat the lounge area between 6-9pm and 5-9am. When asked why the managed took a hard decision like such to limit internet usage, Debbie (the Owner) answered that this move is meant to allow their guests to socialise more.

My room was one of the cottages facing the Sambiya River Valley (at the time of my visit, the valley was dry so no much to see; but on rain season, buffaloes and other animals, frequent the valley for water)

The room is powered by both generator and solar. The generator runs between 5-7 am and again at 6-9 pm. When generator is off, guests are advised to use solar for lighting.

The comfy spring bed, the large bathroom area with high pressure shower fixed with grab rail - I had been to hotels but, Sambiya River Lodge experience was a special African jungle experience.

Please note that at the time of posting this review, the rooms had no intercom connection, so does the telecom network connection.

The lodge helped me reserve the afternoon boat cruise on the Nile River which stops a few metres to the Bottom of the Falls. The cruise takes 1hr:50mins and after reaching the bottom of the falls, guest can get off the boat and take a 1hr hike to the top of the falls. I strongly recommend anyone visiting the Murchison Falls National Park, to include both boat cruise and hike to the top of the falls to their itineraries. The thunder and the mist when you get up to the top of the falls is one experience you will never forget.

The rest of my evening was spent partly doing community service - we collected empty bottles thrown away by visitors to this part of the park. Antelops, Giraffes, Uganda Kob, Waterback, Jackson Hartebeest and numerous species of birds were seen during the game drive.

Just imagine a place on turning off the car engine, no phone signal, no internet, no thinking about your problem - sit back enjoy the different bird calls, and watch different game animals go about their day-to-day business. Thank you Sambiya River Lodge team for making my weekend away from Kampala a memorable one.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Cottage rooms are spacious and are must-stay-in
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge
Responded 2 May 2018
Mamerito, thank you so much for your accurate and beautiful review of Sambiya River Lodge! We are thrilled that we could meet your expectations and that your visit with us was a pleasant one. We appreciate the details you have offered so that future guests arrive more educated! Karibu!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
123456