We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Best Western The Cedars Hotel

Room/Suite (28)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
US$59
US$56
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$57
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/06/21
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$57
HurbUS$59
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... hotel for your stay away. Felt really comfortable there room was perfect and Julie the manager there's was more than...
Accessible room denied because I didn’t look disabled enough. Had assistance dog with me room up flight of stairs through 2...
... plans on the wall) She offered to put us in 'superior' room 19. I asked if the Bar was still open and Sean said he would...
Most popular question about the rooms
Is breakfast included in room hire
Answer from KKelly1977
Oct 2017 |
We do offer Bed and Breakfast as well as Room only Rates. Please ask at the Hotel when booking.

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Jordan G wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Really recommend using cedars hotel for your stay away. Felt really comfortable there room was perfect and Julie the manager there's was more than pleasant and really made me feel at home. Nice place and staff. Highly recommend 😊
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Jordan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are reslly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our small Team at Cedars try hard to create a homely atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon Kindest regards Julie Campbell General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma F wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions
Accessible room denied because I didn’t look disabled enough. Had assistance dog with me room up flight of stairs through 2 doors physically difficult and not helpful for toileting the dog. Terrible place
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Responded 10 May 2021
Dear Guest, Your booking was moved from a previous date which you did not cancel yourself and the hotel did not charge you for this non-cancellation. I contacted you directly regarding this booking and it was never mentioned that you required a disabled room or access. This was explained to you on Check-in as there were no Ground Floor rooms available, another hotel 15 minutes away was offered, which was declined. On your choice to remain, you were helped with your luggage and shown to your room and shown the nearest exit from your room to take your do out. If you would like to contact me directly regarding your stay, please contact the hotel. Kindest regards Julie Cmapbell General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin S wrote a review Oct 2020
Wickford, United Kingdom821 contributions262 helpful votes
We arrived at the Cedars for an Anniversary meal and stay. Alarm bells rang when the car park was deserted and the whole place looked empty. However, Tina on Reception welcomed us warmly and quickly explained the hotel was due for a major re-development (witness plans on the wall) She offered to put us in 'superior' room 19. I asked if the Bar was still open and Sean said he would open it for us! There was no one about and I quickly learnt, apart from Sean & Tina, there was a chef and one housekeeper and I only ever saw 5 guests, 2 of whom were put there by the local council, The Restaurant had been closed for months and there was only a short menu available in the Bar. we said we would return at 7pm.
Superior room 19 was a shock! Although perfectly clean the mattress was 9 inches short of the divan and springs crunched as you lay on it. None of the radiators worked and there were patio doors leading to an overgrown garden and views of the past building works.
When we arrived for dinner there were 2 meals out of the six available with rice. I ordered the Chilli and rice. Poor Sean returned to tell me the chef had no rice!!
I said this was a Tricky review for me because I should give this hotel one star but Sean & Tina are doing such an excellent job in trying to keep customers coming in and satisfied while clearly this hotel is way past its sell by date,
I must add, I do understand the difficulty the Owners must face in deciding when to go ahead with the re -development in the present climate but how long can this hotel continue at this level?
I won't return until after the re-development........perhaps I'll be invited to the launch party?
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2021
Dear Robin Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the delayed response regarding you stay at Cedars Hotel and would like to thank you for all your kind words and accolades for Tina & Shaun. We have gone through very difficult times in the hospitality industry but on the positive side we are still running and we the owners will be still going ahead with the build in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future Kindest regards Julie Campbell General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C wrote a review Sep 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom32 contributions13 helpful votes
Me and my mum stayed here for a week whilst visiting family who live in Stowmarket and we would recommend this hotel.

We paid just over £260 for a twin room for whole week, which we felt was very good value for money at only £37 per night. The location is very good as it is a quiet area of the town but only a few minutes drive to the local Tesco and 5 minutes drive to the train station or high street. There are a number of restaurants/pubs, takeaways, supermarkets as well as high street and charity shops only a short drive away. For entertainment, the Museum of East Anglia Life and a small cinema are local. A car is certainly recommended as public transport links are poor though trains do go fairly regularly to Ipswich, Norwich, Cambridge, Peterborough and London and stations on those lines. There are many lovely places to visit within an hours drive which are not on a train or bus route.

Regarding the hotel, check in was reasonably quick and the staff were very hospitable and couldn't do enough for you.

The bedroom, whilst slightly dated, was very clean and tidy with a modern TV, and tea/coffee making facilities as well as free wifi. Unfortunately, due to covid-19, we did not have a daily cleaner but as we were there a week, they did come in mid-week to clean and replace the towels, and bed sheets etc. We were told that if we needed anything such as more coffee or replacement towels, we only had to ask and even though staff numbers were limited, we were always able to find someone either at reception or in the bar.

Foodwise, the hotel restaurant was closed due to covid, but there is a separate lounge bar which is open to the public as well as guests. The food here was very good and the staff great though it is a bit expensive for what is essentially pub food. We did have a very enjoyable evening here with family though. We didn't try the breakfast as we did feel £6 for a croissant and drink in a box was a bit steep, but the local pub, the Willow Tree, does some very nice, cheap breakfasts.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay and will stay here again when next in Stowmarket.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Dear Alex Thank you for you lovely review in connection to your recent stay at Cedars Hotel. We now have a very small but dedicated Team who all read TripAdvisor Reviews, this will mean a great deal to them. We were due to have a complete New Build this year which did start before Covid and we hope this will continue in Spring next year. If you are planning another trip, do not hesitate to contact me direct. Kindest regards Julie Campbell General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatina wrote a review Sep 2020
Rayne, United Kingdom36 contributions15 helpful votes
We've just returned from a 2 night stay at Cedars and had a marvellous time. We tend to have a weekend away in hotels every month or so and normally pay 3 or 4 times as much so were a little worried, especially after reading some of the reviews!
Any worries proved to be unfounded; we stayed in one of the superior rooms [Number 8] and it was more than adequate. We loved the beautiful beams and olde worlde feel of our room and it was tucked away so quite quiet. The only noise we heard was from the people above, mainly squeaky floorboards, which just goes with the character of the hotel.
The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, which is very reassuring in these uncertain times. Plenty of toiletries, tea, coffee and biscuits and if you needed anything the staff were more than happy to supply it.
The staff were fantastic too, especially Tina and the lady on duty Saturday evening. Nothing is too much trouble and we would not hesitate to stay again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: Room 8 is full of character
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Dears Hatina Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cedars Hotel. Our extensive New Build & Refurbishment began before COVID, unfortunately, this has been delayed until next year. Tina is a valued member of our small Team and I am delighted that you were well looked after. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards Julie Campbell General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
123456

Questions & answers about the rooms

ke S asked a question Oct 2017
Stowmarket, United Kingdom63 contributions39 helpful votes
Is breakfast included in room hire
Answer from KKelly1977
Oct 2017 |
We do offer Bed and Breakfast as well as Room only Rates. Please ask at the Hotel when booking.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1