We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave.

Room/Suite (16)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
US$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Courtyard
US$160
US$149
View deal
SAVE US$11
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$155
Hotels.comUS$155
Agoda.comUS$160
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
My view was a wall of another hotel room. I asked for a good room, and the front desk person was actually really nice. However...
... asleep at 4am and someone opened the door and entered the room. I believe it was a housekeeper but am not positive. I...
... all of her needs and made her feel safe. She FaceTimed her room and it is very nice and updated. She was very happy that...
Featured room amenities
See all room amenities (7)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
mktrey5 wrote a review Mar 2021
Portland, Oregon20 contributions25 helpful votes
My view was a wall of another hotel room. I asked for a good room, and the front desk person was actually really nice. However the room had a terrible view and it was so small, even though I paid for the "bigger" King Bed Room. Other than that, nothing spectacular about it, just a normal run of the mill hotel.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rosie Fonua, Other at Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave.
Responded 4 Mar 2021
Dear m3ktrey, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay here with. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Unfortunately, during your stay we did not have a better view room available. Please reach out to us for your next stay so we can make sure we block a room with a view. Looking forward for your next stay here with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter R wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
We were sound asleep at 4am and someone opened the door and entered the room. I believe it was a housekeeper but am not positive. I called the front desk and they said they had been notified and were sorry.
At checkout the next day I had mentioned it and they said they would get back to me. They never did...
I sent an email and they sent me an automated response and offered 2,000 bonus points. That is a laughable number of points for being disturbed at 4am when you have work the next day. I did not feel safe in that room at all and they did not rectify the situation. I am still very disappointed. I expected more from Marriott.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
kws702017 wrote a review May 2020
San Diego, California5 contributions11 helpful votes
Reggie at the front desk is my hero. He completely took a terrible situation and saved the day for my daughter who got stuck in San Fran. Not being in the city to make sure she was safe and taken care of, had left me very frazzled. He took care of all of her needs and made her feel safe. She FaceTimed her room and it is very nice and updated. She was very happy that the hotel parking felt very secure. Life platinum elite member who is over the moon about the service I received today. Big thanks!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2020
Room Tip: May want to call ahead of visit if you are driving. Simple instructions for parking will save...
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RosieF-CourtyardFOM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave.
Responded 12 May 2020
Dear kws702017, On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave.. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests. Please note your feedback has been shared with Reggie and the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave. and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to San Francisco.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyo wrote a review Feb 2020
Anchorage, Alaska236 contributions94 helpful votes
Great location and felt pretty fresh when we visited, maybe it hasn’t long been revamped? New York style rooms in terms of size, they are quite small but luckily there was a nice long window seat where we could put our luggage. Bathroom was tiny but probably in proportion to the room.

A few negative points... There’s no bar or restaurant in the hotel however there is access through to the excellent Mel’s Kitchen (Diner) and you get a 10% discount off food as you stay in the hotel. The rooms are noisy both from street noise and from the other guests, you can hear doors opening, people walking and whatever else and that’s even over my snoring so it must’ve been bad. Also, I did get woken up be the smell of cannabis (legal in San Fran) coming from one of the surrounding rooms so suspect that the ventilation isn’t that great.

One general point, although fairly priced the additional charges and taxes kill you whether it’s for parking, tourist tax, city tax. The hotel rate was essentially doubled by the time we left. Again, not directly related to the hotel but some thing to be aware of.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
JustinFloyd wrote a review Jan 2020
Paris, France5 contributions15 helpful votes
Marriott Platinum, have travelled the world, stayed in o star to 5 stars, and this is the worst experience I have ever had.

Marriott;s brand needs protecting , Great brands are hard to build, global and great brands require unbelievable feats of customer service, attention to detail, desire to improve at every turn, create great customer experiences, deliver in the most difficult of conditions.

Which is why I cannot quite believe Marriott have given their brand to this hotel . There must be a mistake I thought, as I received yet another phone call from reception demanding money with menaces for a room that had already been paid for.

You would think that a hotel, even a 3 star one in San Francisco, would recognise its a competitive these days what with Air bn b and a general uptick in the economy

Not this hotel- no.

Think everything from surly reception, foul-smelling rooms, no housekeeping, dangerous ( and I mean dangerous like the middle of El Salvador dangerous ) neighbourhood, overcharging, laundry delivered as was left, not cleaned ( seriously) and in a plastic bag , appalling service generally , and even after multiple complaints then yes, such hotels really do exist.

It's hardto imagine how senior management from Marriott has somehow missed this place, they must have. Or maybe they choose to miss it, hoping that somehow those people who stay here are so in transition, and there for such a limited period of time, that somehow they miss the most awful customer experience you are ever likely to get, unless of course you in a war zone somewhere, but then you would not be paying $ 400,00 per night.

I want to thank the hotel for showing that despite the years, investment and toil to build a great brand, it is still possible to destroy it in minutes, and that is exactly what they managed to achieve.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: None- really. Sleep outside. In a tent.
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TonyF-CourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave.
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Dear Mr. Floyd, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave. and for again sharing your recent stay experience with us. We would like to apologize again for not meeting your expectations and for the list of inconveniences you've compiled. We are not normally accustomed to disappointing our guests in such ways as you've described, but we always learn from such unfortunate situations and continuously improve from guest feedback such as yours. It was also our pleasure to have been able to extend you room credit and additional Marriott Bonvoy points for your stated troubles prior to your check-out. And we were also quite pleased that you were then able to extend another night with us. Because we definitely appreciate your business and value your loyalty to Marriott. Once again, we sincerely thank you for trying our hotel and for sharing your comments. We certainly do hope to have another opportunity to make up for this past stay and provide an entirely more positive experience in the future. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous