We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at The Glencarn Hotel

Pool & Beach (3)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Pool review highlights
Went one night for a birthday treat and wanted a hotel with pool, steam room etc . The rooms were nice though ours didn't have a...
... Huge portions! Pancakes a big hit with the kids. The pool was good for a quick swim - pretty basic, and changing rooms...
... chipped and sanitary ware was falling apart. The swimming pool wasn't open as we were told and then the fruit at breakfast...

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
Masterraj9999 wrote a review Feb 2020
Portadown, United Kingdom22 contributions22 helpful votes
Went one night for a birthday treat and wanted a hotel with pool, steam room etc
.
The rooms were nice though ours didn't have a bath.It had Tv, kettle, water and quick room service.
The heating was nice and warm.
Good parking at the hotel.
The pool was fine though a bit cold and felt a bit dated. It feels more like a public pool than a hotel one.
Went for a meal at the hotel and the food was nice but we waited ages on getting a drink and the food to be served. About 20 mins for a drink and at least another 20 getting food. The waiter did say it was extremely busy for a Monday night.

The breakfast was excellent, loads of choice, warm and tasty.

The main downside of the hotel was the reception staff. I arrived at the hotel early on and asked when I could check in. When the quite rude woman decided to speak to me as she answered the phone as I stood at her desk she said it would be 3:30 to 4:00 pm before I could check in. I was shocked by this as reading reviews it had said 3:00pm check in. We decided to have a drink in the bar to kill some time and then said we would go to the town to kill the time till 4:00pm. As we were leaving the hotel at 2:30pm i went to use the toilet and as I walked passed reception I noticed a family checking with a new staff member on the desk. I went over to her to ask could I check in and she did with no problems and was very polite and helpful. Just cant understand why the first woman couldn't do this. The lady who checked us out was also very sharp and rude to be honest. I work with the public myself and believe a hotel should be one of the top businesses for customer service.

I would stay again as I thought it was good value for money but would like to see some of the staffs manor improve.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Caitriona wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed overnight with 2 kids & granny. Spacious, clean interconnecting rooms. The beds are overdue replacement and the decor is a bit dated, but for one night, it was all fine.

The staff were all lovely - very friendly & welcoming.

Bar food and breakfast were all excellent. Service was prompt and friendly. Huge portions! Pancakes a big hit with the kids.

The pool was good for a quick swim - pretty basic, and changing rooms were ok - powerful hairdryers👍

The only downside was the location of our rooms - right over the ballroom and front of hotel. So the noise of the band was thumping through the floor until about 12.30am, then followed by lots of commotion while the party continued outside the front of hotel and finally, noisy guests retiring at 2.30am. Very poor choice of rooms for young kids - I’m sure somewhere at the back would be better. The receptionist was very apologetic when mentioned on checkout.

Overall very pleasant hotel (aside from noise factor). Good food and lovely staff
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Clarie C wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed with my husband and two small children, firstly the room was absolutely appalling in terms of decor, i had been warned the hotel was basic but this was shabby and grim. When we turned on the bath water to give our children a bath the water ran our of it brown, the toilet seat was cracked, the taps were chipped and sanitary ware was falling apart. The swimming pool wasn't open as we were told and then the fruit at breakfast had mold on it. It was the worst place i have ever stayed in. We kept our socks on in the room for fear we would catch something. Emailed the hotel on our return home to discuss the terrible state of our stay to no reply. Bad, awful and horrendous experience.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Glencarn C, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Hi Claire, Thank you for your review and your comments, all feedback is much appreciated. We do not wish for any guests to leave the hotel unhappy and we are sorry in this case that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologise that you feel we have ignored your email this is most certainly not the case, the email was sent to me on 23rd of December and as you can appreciate it was extremely busy here and between christmas & New Year I am only answering emails and replying to reviews now. Our hotel is over 30 years old and we do agree that some of the rooms could benefit from face lift and renovations to our older rooms are in the process. Whilst some of our rooms are old and dated, they are always clean and maintained to the best possible standard. I do not know what happened to the toilet seat in your bathroom but it was not broken before check in otherwise it would have been replaced or the room decommisioned until it could be fixed. In respect of your Bath water, we do have the problem of brown water occasionally when there has been heavy rain fall or from the council working on the water pipes, I also live in castleblayney and my own water at home was the same that week. I believe from the receptionist on duty that evening that your husband contacted reception and she advised to run the water for a short time to see if it ran clear, she heard nothing further from you so assumed it was okay. If you had any further problems we would have done our best to move you to another room. I apologise that you were given the wrong time for the Leisure Centre opening time you were told 8.30am which it usually is but as it was operating on Christmas hours it was 9am that week. In regards to your breakfast, I have spoken to the kitchen team re: the Raspberries & Blueberies and this should not have happened and will not be happening again, and I do sincerley apologise on their behalf. This should have been spotted before the food went out to you and rectified. We were unaware of any problems other than the water discoloration as nothing was mentioned to reception or the manager on duty during your stay or upon checkout as we would certainly have done our very best to rectify at the time. Kind regards Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M wrote a review Dec 2019
Lyon, France1,615 contributions394 helpful votes
The Glencarn Hotel is located in the centre of Castleblayney, about 14 miles from Monaghan. We visited here for part of a wedding ceremony for which the impressive Embassy Ballroom was rapidly transformed into a dancing area. The hotel is wheelchair accessible and features a spa bath and an indoor swimming pool; there is also leisure centre with sauna and Jacuzzi, plus fitness and weights room. Carvery lunches are served during the day and bar food is available until 22:00.

The room was a bit dated but clean and had amenities like a hairdryer, ironing board and room service. However, the Wi-Fi access was in the bar and lobby. There is live Big Band Dancing on Friday Nights and mid-week dancing every Wednesday. This is beautiful scenic area, perfect for a quiet weekend fishing getaway or kayaking and water skiing on Lough Muckno just a short drive away.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Glencarn C, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Hi John, Thank you for your review and great comments regarding your recent stay with us,it is much appreciated. Wi-fi should be available throughout the whole hotel, should you stay with us again and experience any connection problems please do let the team at reception know and we can reboot. We hope you will return to stay with us again soon. Kind regards Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MemberNems wrote a review Dec 2019
Edinburgh, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed at the Glencarn for two weeks and had a super time. The rooms and communal areas were spotless and well maintained, the breakfasts were YUM - plenty of choice and lovely friendly waiting staff in the mornings - thanks Anne! The burgers at the restaurant are amazing, and all the staff were very friendly and efficient. There is a leisure centre, complete with gym, 22m pool, jaccuzzi, steam room and sauna. Patrick runs a great aqua aerobics class, and the social dancing on Wednesdays is one of the loveliest things to see and join in with. Everyone was so welcoming and the hotel seems to be a community hub for the locals too, which speaks volumes. Thanks Castleblayney, but particularly thanks Glencarn.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The even numbered 70s are on the car park side, so it was very quiet, but also had a nice view.
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Glencarn C, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your great review and lovely comments about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return to experience more of the delights of Castleblayney. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all the staff . Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review it is much appreciated. Kind regards Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
1234569