We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Econo Lodge Boaz

photolb_room_suite (23)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
US$116
US$100
View deal
SAVE US$16
Free cancellation until 27/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Lol.travelUS$116
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... 11, 2019 and it was absolutely horrible. The floors in the room had grit all over them and I had to wear my shoes to go to...
... Ran out of food in breakfast area. There were flys in our room. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. Just...
... night with 3 kids and wife. Checked in went ok. Got to our room and found chemical still on the table that wasn’t wiped...
Featured room amenities
tags_category_tag_hot_tub
tags_category_tag_housekeeping
tags_category_tag_refrigerator
tags_category_tag_internet
tags_category_tag_wheelchair_access
tags_category_tag_air_conditioning_1
tags_category_tag_wifi
tags_category_tag_microwave
tags_category_tag_reduced_mobility_rooms_1
tags_category_tag_family_rooms
See all room amenities (12)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
travalot01 wrote a review Oct 2019
Denham Springs, LA16 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed here on Friday Oct. 11, 2019 and it was absolutely horrible. The floors in the room had grit all over them and I had to wear my shoes to go to the bathroom. The couch cushions were torn and ragged, I can't even imagine why they would they would even rent a room in that condition. The light on the side of the bed didn't work. The floor lamp's bulb receptacle was completely separated from the base and you risk being electrocuted by turning it on or off. The coffee machine had neither a carafe or any coffee to make coffee. The water pressure in the shower was so low, I didn't think I would ever get the soap out of my hair. There was not a cart to be found when it was time to check out. I WOULD NEVER AGAIN STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!!!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: Don't stay here!
ur_question.prompt.11
ur_question.prompt.47
rd_userrating.prompt.12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RickP2002, Manager at Econo Lodge Boaz
Responded 13 Oct 2019
On behalf of myself and my staff I would like to apologize. We are in the process of replacing the couch unfortunately we are at the mercy of our supplier. The reason that the coffee maker did not have a carafe is that it is a single cup coffee maker and is designed to brew directly into the cup, per the instructions that are clearly printed inside of the water reservoir lid. I myself inspected the room after you checked out and found that there were indeed 2 packs of regular and 2 packs of decaf coffee on the tray with the coffee maker, and I found no problem with the floor lamp. The bedside lamp had become unplugged. We have had no other complaints about water pressure from guests staying in the room after you, but I will continue to monitor that and make repairs if it is truly necessary. I have discussed the condition of the floor with my housekeepers. It is unfortunate that though you checked in at 3pm, we were never notified that the room was not to your satisfaction at any time prior to checking out, as we would have made every effort to correct the problems or move you to a different room. Sincerely, Russell Gibbs Front Desk Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine46610580972 wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I went for ice on several occasions and there was none. Ran out of food in breakfast area. There were flys in our room. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. Just need more ice machines and for the attendant to check the food more often to make sure it is filled.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Choice Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RickP2002, General Manager at Econo Lodge Boaz
Responded 8 Jun 2019
On behalf of myself and my staff, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We do have a service call in for the ice machine that periodically stops working. While we have an aggressive pest management program in place, it is very difficult this time of year to keep flies out of the building. We hope that you will give us another chance to delight you should you come back to the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R wrote a review May 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Planned on staying one night with 3 kids and wife. Checked in went ok. Got to our room and found chemical still on the table that wasn’t wiped down. House keeper told our kids not to touch it. Sheets had stains on them were told it was the shout they used. We then opened the refrigerator and bugs started to run out. Went to the front desk to notify them of the numerous bugs. They were unable to move us to a new room and didn’t even exterminates the bugs! We were refunded our money but had to stay at a different hotel chain 20 miles away! What a hassle. Stay away!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RickP2002, General Manager at Econo Lodge Boaz
Responded 25 May 2019
We sincerely apologize that this was your experience while staying with us. While we do everything we can to prevent such instances, this time we fell short. Despite a very aggressive pest management program. We have since removed the offending appliances from the room as this has proven to be the source of the issue that we believed to be resolved. We hope you have a blessed day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill wrote a review Dec 2018
2 contributions
Our room we was given when we first got there was filthy , it had not been cleaned , so they moved us down the hall . The whole night it was so noisy the heater when it would turn off would send out a screaming noise , we could hear the people upstairs walking around and the fan in bathroom didn't shut off . Very noisy night I was relieved when the sun came up !!!! The lady at front desk offered the 2nd floor but we had already brought stuff in and didn't feel like going upstairs with stuff .
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: request their be no one beside u are above you on 1st floord , or just request 2nd floor pierod .
ur_question.prompt.14
rd_userrating.prompt.12
userrating.prompt.190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from RickP2002, Manager at Econo Lodge Boaz
Responded 24 Dec 2018
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. On behalf of the entire staff I apologize that your stay was not the best it could have been. I have shared your comments with the Executive Housekeeper and the Maintenance Engineer to make sure we address the issues with cleanliness and the Air Conditioning unit. Sincerely, Russell Gibbs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B wrote a review Sep 2018
Daytona Beach, Florida45 contributions3 helpful votes
We arrived early friday, sometimes rooms are ready early and the front desk didnt inform us that we couldnt check in. We were assigned a room and upon entering found that the dirty bedding was piled on the bed, the bathroom was still a mess with toiletries and towels from the previous person staying there. We then went straight to the front desk and informed them that the room was not clean, at which time they provided us a new room, just a few doors down. No issues. We were gone most of the day saturday, plenty of time for housekeeping to do their duties. Upon return, we found our trash was not emptied and our bed still had the same bedding from the previous night. 3 of 4 pillows were on the bed, the 4th was left sitting on the nightstand, as if whoever was cleaning left in a hurry. The next morning, we were surprised to get out of the shower to NO towels. Just 2 wash cloths and 2 hand towels. This was a very inconvenient time to notice this issue, as theres not much to do while soaking wet from showering. We informed the front desk and they did not seem to bother much, as if this problem was insignificant. Being that it is the only hotel in Boaz, it kind of forces one to stay here with no other options.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from RickP2002, General Manager at Econo Lodge Boaz
Responded 27 Sep 2018
On behalf of our housekeeping staff, I apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. The housekeeper who was assigned to your room is new and in fact it was her first day to be working by herself. Had we been notified at the front desk that towels were not in the room, we would have corrected the problem immediately. Unfortunately we were not informed of anything until check out, at which point it was too late. I did offer an apology to the gentleman that you had check out for you, not sure what else we could have done in this situation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous