We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Braeside Guesthouse

Room/Suite (4)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... it's due. Wasn't too fussed with the "Google Alexa" in the room which we unplugged, but I suppose it'll appeal to some...
... fresheners as the odour emanating from The corridors and bedrooms absolutely nauseating. We were to feel very uncomfortable...
... basis. Bathroom was not cleaned daily and rubbish bins in bedroom not emptied. Also got smell of dog in reception area. ...
Featured room amenities
Internet
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
japitts wrote a review 10 Jun
Bristol111 contributions37 helpful votes
Our recent stay was 2 nights - we'd returned from the Hebrides into Oban and had a daytrip to Mull.. this place ticked all the boxes, only 10-15minutes drive from central Oban but far enough out to avoid the "townage".

Jon & Cherry were very welcoming, the rooms were well-furnished and breakfast exceptionally generous. One minor request on our first morning was accommodated intime for the second morning, so credit where it's due. Wasn't too fussed with the "Google Alexa" in the room which we unplugged, but I suppose it'll appeal to some people.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
keith w wrote a review 7 Jun
Pershore, United Kingdom126 contributions46 helpful votes
I rarely give a bad review but unfortunately have to write one for this establishment
The building is in need of TLC and perhaps some air fresheners as the odour emanating from
The corridors and bedrooms absolutely nauseating.
We were to feel very uncomfortable when we decided to consume our own beverage rather than purchase from the over stocked bar. It’s a guest house!!!!
The beds were comfortable but not sure it was the quality of the mattress or noxious smells which was that of dog, septic tank or both
To make it worse the prices charged were outrageous when compared with where we stayed the next night which was welcoming , clean and modern. Perhaps the owners should go and visit the competition
We call this place farty towers
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take an air freshner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Freeman, Owner at Braeside Guesthouse
Responded 2 weeks ago
Im terrably sorry you didnt enjoy your stay, we endevour to make everyone comfortable and welcome and have hundreds of reviews that say this. We do have a dog but he is not allowed in the guest part of the house so i dont know how you might have known of him. Our bar is well stocked we have over 200 single malt whiskies and a huge selection of Gins and Spirits but these are well under the prices of the local hotels. We dont mind guests drinking in their rooms but as licensed premises we do not allow guests to consume their own food and drink in our bar and resteraunt areas. I dont know of any establishments that do. Still sorry you had a bad experience Jon Freeman (owner)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhoj raj s wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We were not impressed with our stay at this Bed and Breakfast. Towels in bathroom had not been replaced on daily basis. Bathroom was not cleaned daily and rubbish bins in bedroom not emptied. Also got smell of dog in reception area. Breakfast not served in dining room. Was delivered to outside bedroom in a takeaway bag and very disappointed that not full breakfast menu. I appreciate these difficult times but feel that if not able to provide a proper breakfast then perhaps should be offering room only. Bedroom was not hoovered during our stay
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: We wouldn't recommend this Bed and Breakfast
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Freeman, Owner at Braeside Guesthouse
Responded 12 Sep 2020
Due to present covid restrictions we do NOT visit you room on a daily basis however if you read the note placed in the room you would have seen you could have requested daily servicing. Obviously you did not see the big notice on our website or read the note in your room explaining that we are operating within government guidelines and offer a take away cooked breakfast. I am sorry you were disappointed but would rather that and you stay safe and healthy than have you unwell. perhaps when all the madness is over you can come stay and we can offer you a proper cooked breakfast. Stay safe Jon and Cherry
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderer191255 wrote a review Sep 2019
Southport, United Kingdom485 contributions144 helpful votes
Jon and Cherry were so welcoming you felt immediately at home. Rooms were great with large mugs and a teapot, biscuits and tablet. Had breakfast and dinner here both were excellent. Jon is very knowledgeable and told us where we could see seals. Penny the peahen is a character and you are minutes from town but with fabulous views from the dining room.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Maureen Australia wrote a review Jul 2019
22 contributions45 helpful votes
My Husband and I arrived an hour early however the owners showed us to our room which had a nice outlook. The room was compact however no complaints with adequate facilities and good shower.
The breakfast menu is excellent and cooked superbly by the owner.
Handy off street parking outside our room.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Most rooms are similar and very quiet with picturesque views.
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456