We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ravenscroft Riding Stables

55 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Ravenscroft Riding Stables

55 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Full view
Location
Contact
2a Avenida Sur No 3, San Juan del Obispo, Antigua Guatemala
Get to know the area
Antigua ATV Mountain Adventure
Day Trips

Antigua ATV Mountain Adventure

67 reviews
Discover the outskirts of Antigua on a full-day tour by ATV, motorcycle, or scooter. Choose the vehicle that suits you, then drive yourself or ride as a passenger. See more of rural Guatemala as you explore the mountains, stopping along the way at a small Mayan village and market, Cerro de la Cruz, and an organic farm with sweeping views. Hotel pickup and drop-off is provided.
US$66.00 per adult
55Reviews11Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 8
  • 1
  • 2
  • 4
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Mille J wrote a review Jul 2019
Aalborg, Denmark60 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
I had a great two hours tour (Q400) with a local guide. As an experienced rider I'll recommend this place, as they got well maintained horses which are fun to ride. It is a great way of exploring the nature and nearby villages around Antigua. All animals on the farm are obviously loved dearly. Helmet and boots are provided. The equipment for the horses is pretty good as well. So why only 4 stars? I lost Q4-500 at the stables. I feel very strongly that they where stolen, while I was away riding. They locked my stuff, but kept the key themselves. However I cannot prove this happened. I called the owner when I realised what happened. She believes I tipped the guide way too much (I'm very sure I only gave him Q30) and he went drunk with the money. Anyway - I hope the money somehow was found and used for the animals, as I acknowledge that the place seems low on money. Don't leave valuables behind - take them with you on the ride.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from PaulaH3170, Owner at Ravenscroft Riding Stables
Responded 3 Aug 2019
In response to the review given by Mille, we would like to say that we have been running this business for 30 years now. Thousands of people have ridden with us, all of whom have had their valuables locked away by us, and this is the first time that we have ever been accused of stealing their money. In her case one of three things could have occurred :- 1) She didn't have the amount of money that she thought she had; 2) She gave the guide too much of a tip by mistake, perhaps mistaking 100 notes for 10s. She herself suggested this could have happened; 3) When she left here she went in a taxi where she could have dropped her money or given the taxi driver too much by mistake. We would also like to point out that that she told us Q3 or 400 was missing, not Q4 or 500 as she says in the review. Also, the guide told us that she dropped her phone when out riding and they had got to go back to look for it, so she is obviously careless with her belongings. We are sorry that she feels that we are to blame for her missing money, especially as she says she has no proof. We will still recommend that our customers do not carry valuables out with them, but will insist that they count their money first and afterwards when it is returned to them.
Read more
Eric T wrote a review Jul 2019
3 contributions
This owner is excellent and treats his horses well and provides a great ride. Very well-behaved horses. Some riding experience is recommended. It was beautiful to see the countryside and how people live along the way was interesting. We will be back some day! Thank you for the horse ride!!!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Explore765595 wrote a review Apr 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I am back home now and our riding at Ravenscroft Stables was a highlight of our Guatemala  vacation. I am an experienced rider and my companion is a beginner. Paula and Fred are a delightful couple and excellent equestrians. We were welcomed into their home. If you are looking for an off the beaten path , non tourist experience this ride is for you. The horses we rode on two separate occasions were well selected for our riding abilities. We chose a trail ride with instruction for our first day. Instructions were clear and covered safety and technique. We had a wonderful trail ride as we experienced the rural Antigua area culture, scenery, and beautiful landscapes on horseback. I especially loved riding my horse while seeing local farmers in the hillside plantations leading their horses carrying wood or working in the fields. A few days later we each took a private riding lesson with Paula in the arena and were very happy as well with our lessons. I highly recommend Ravenscroft Stables for a wonderful people and horse experience.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Terrie K wrote a review Mar 2018
Berthoud, Colorado27 contributions33 helpful votes
This was a horrible experience. The owners are rude, careless and bigoted people. I think they do try to take good care of all the stray dogs and horses they take in, but they are not kind or polite to their staff. I have ridden horses all my life, in many places around the world, and I realize that an accident can happen at any time. I was involved in a very serious accident, and they did NOTHING to help out. They did not offer to refund the cost of the half of the ride we could not do because I had to go to the hospital, much less the cost of the ride itself, they did not offer to help with medical expenses. They never called to see if I was OK. This was not the cause of the accident, but having tourists riding metal shod horses over cobblestones and pavestones is a recipe for an accident even worse than mine. There are better options out there for seeing the countryside. Please don't support these people and their antiquated ideas about how people should be treated.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula H, Propietario at Ravenscroft Riding Stables
Responded 27 Mar 2018
We haven´t in the past responded to the very few negative reviews we´ve had over several years, as we thing the number of excellent rewies speaks for themselves but we do want to comment on the rewiev from “Terry” as it is misleading. First of all, she was riding with her adult daughter, Sarah, who told us that we had been very higly recommended to them by friends who had ridden with us in the past. They claimed to be experienced riders with their own horse, so we were surprised to see Terry sitting in a position more suited to water skiing and we had to correct her. We have been running these stables for 29 years and have had very few accidents in this time, as we insist on non-riders taking some instruction before they go out on the trails and they aren´t allowed to go at a faster pace than walk. Neither do we allow young children to ride out, experienced or not. In the case of experiented riders we assume that they will be competant enough to be able to trot and canter and control their horse. But even the best rider in the world can have an accident and all experienced riders know this and understand that they ride at their own risk. If they had ridden in the U.S. they would have had to sing an extensive legal release form exonerating the owners from all liability, por accidents, medical expenses, etc. I don´t think that Terry appreciates the fact that where the accident occurred, there happended to be some farmers working in their fields nearby and they were good enough to bring her back here, in their pick-up truck, where we supplied her with ice to put on her shoulder. I asked if she had insurance, the answer was yes, so I recommended a private clinic in Antigua (the farmers were againg good enough to take her there). Later, the daughter Sarah phoned and said that nothing was broken but they had los the mother´s phone, possibly in the truck, but they weren´t sure where. It took some time to find out where the farmers lived in the next village, and sarah would call every few days, always thanked me for all our help, and kept us us-dated on ther mother. In the end, unforunately, we weren´t able to find her phone. We were extremily surprided when she put this untruthful review, and quite bewildered by her comments about shoeing and “the staff”. The horses are on cobble stones for about 5 minutes leaving the village, and im ñess they go on to another village to look at the church on the 3 hour ride. Same comming back, the rest of the trails are dirt, and some places are stony, so the horses hooves wouldn´t survive a week without shoes. My husband qualified as a farrier in 1984 in the USA, so it´s obvious whose opinion is more valuable. As for “the staff”, our maid has been with us for 28 years and certainly isn´t the kind of woman to tolerate any kink of bad treatment. In any case Terry never saw the maid as she wasn´t here when they arrived and was in the truck all the time, afterward the only other person here was the guide who took them out, so this comment was totally un-called for. To sum up, were sorry she had an accident but we vould recommend that she takes some riding lessons in the future, for her own safety, as an unbalanced rider will also unbalance the horse.
Read more
Julio O wrote a review Mar 2018
Bend, Oregon, United States2 contributions2 helpful votes
Though we only inquired about their horse-riding services, it’s run out of their “shack” in a San Juan del Obispo neighborhood...stables they are not. Staff seemed welcoming, horses clean, owners far from welcoming and appeared to lack much personal hygiene. We’ve met owners/operators through Mexico and Latin America and these two are border-line creepy. When they addressed the lovely maid who opened the door for us; they were condescending and rude to her. There are only 3 hourses and very expensive quotes for Guatemala. We will be riding elsewhere!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2018
Helpful
Share
Previous