We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scampston Walled Garden

Open Now: 10:00 - 17:00
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Relaxing gardens

Not your traditional country pile gardens, very modern with calm areas to walk round and good ideas... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
peter c
,
whitby
So glad we went

A beautifully kept walled garden, an absolute treat to visit. A very warm welcome on entry with a... read more

Reviewed 6 November 2018
WesWar
,
Durham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 282 reviews
124
All photos (124)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good31%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“piet oudolf”(20 reviews)
“cascade walk”(14 reviews)
“unusual plants”(15 reviews)
About
Open Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Dec
Jan
Feb
Contact
Scampston Hall, Malton YO17 8NG, England
Website
+44 1944 759111
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Malton
from US$51.30
More Info
from US$12.80
More Info
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
158
90
19
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
158
90
19
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piet oudolf cascade walk unusual plants palladian bridge plant sales area sir charles beautiful gardens and grounds house tour for sale rhs members ticket office scones lovely plants buy plants magnifying glass plant fair well worth a visit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not your traditional country pile gardens, very modern with calm areas to walk round and good ideas to adopt in your own garden without the usual perennial boarders. Excellent small plant sales with garden planning service and very friendly and accomodation good staff, well worth...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank peter c
CharlotteKirton, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Peter, We are so pleased you enjoyed the contemporary elements of our Walled Garden, which is as you say, unconventional in its style for a stately home! Great to hear you had a lovely experience with our plants sales and friendly staff, and we...More

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

A beautifully kept walled garden, an absolute treat to visit. A very warm welcome on entry with a knowledgeable explanation of the grounds prior to exploring. Absolutely stunning in Autumn with the amazing colours. Really interesting and not just an hour walkabout. The toffee smelling...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank WesWar
CharlotteKirton, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

What a wonderful review, thank you WesWar! It sounds like you had a great day out at Scampston and we are delighted to know that the children made the most of our adventure kits. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future!

Reviewed 31 October 2018

Whether its for coffee and cake soup and a roll or a hot meal..the service is lovely and the area pleasant to sit in and enjoy.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank susan l
CharlotteKirton, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you Susan for your kind five star review, we are pleased to know you have enjoyed your visits to the cafe.

Reviewed 16 October 2018

I have been to most of the properties near here that are open so it was exciting to make a day trip here to see something new. The weather was superb - allegedly the warmest October day for seven years. The gardens were perfect with...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Tim M
CharlotteKirton, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you Tim for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time at Scampston and appreciated the autumnal colours of the Walled Garden. Unfortunately the shutters must be closed when the Hall is not open to visitors for insurance purposes and to protect...More

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely Piet Oudolf walled garden with a variety of settings. The cafe food was good but it shut early.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Mart652
CharlotteKirton, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you mart652 for your five star review of Scampston, we are so pleased you enjoyed the different elements of Piet Oudolf's design and hope to welcome you back in future.

Reviewed 30 September 2018

The gardens were fabulous! The planting was really interesting & although the borders were no longer in flower, it was good to see all of the seed heads left on the plants as winter food for the birds. The Hall was closed as it was...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Catherine T
CharlotteKirton, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you, Catherine, for your lovely feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Scampston and appreciated our approach to helping out our local habitat and wildlife by leaving the seed heads on plants. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

No excuse as the restaurant was not busy for the tables to be left so grubby. There were only eight people having meals.More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank joan_bannister
CharlotteKirton, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback Joan, we are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your visit to the cafe. I can assure you that our tables are cleaned and checked regularly, as we strive to meet the highest standards for our customers. I...More

Reviewed 29 August 2018

Scampston Walled Garden and Parkland is desperately in need of some investment and tlc. Poor value for money at £8.50 per head compared to other gardens - such a shame.More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank JCLa07
CharlotteKirton, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback, Joanna, and we are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your visit to Scampston. We do feel that our ticket prices are in line with other similar attractions and reflect the various activities on offer during a visit....More

Reviewed 28 August 2018

Even on a Bank Holiday Saturday we found the gardens to be an oasis of calm - we were often the only people in the 'rooms' that make up the whole garden. If you are a fan of a minimalist style then you will find...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JGHFlint
CharlotteKirton, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you JGHFlint for your positive review, we are pleased to know you found the garden to be a calming environment. We hope to welcome you back to Scampston to enjoy a tour of the hall in future.

Reviewed 17 August 2018

I was delighted to discover this garden was near to where we were staying, being a great fan of Piet Oudolf, his garden design and use of plans. We thoroughly enjoyed a walk around the gardens, enjoying the different garden areas, planting combinations and late...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Quirky-Bird-Gardener
CharlotteKirton, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi there Quirky-Bird-Gardener, we wanted to say a big thank you for this wonderful review. It sounds like you had a great visit and managed to experience the different aspects of both Piet Oudolf and 'Capability' Brown's visions for Scampston. We're so glad you enjoyed...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Easthill Farm House
60 reviews
7.54 km away
The Old Lodge
625 reviews
8.39 km away
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
27 reviews
8.62 km away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
1,420 reviews
8.92 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 98 nearby restaurants
Royal Oak Pub & Kitchen
149 reviews
7.17 km away
Brandysnap Bistro
206 reviews
8.01 km away
The Wentworth Arms
16 reviews
7.03 km away
The New Inn
290 reviews
7.96 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 31 nearby attractions
Go Ape Dalby
375 reviews
6.24 km away
Eden Camp Modern History Theme Museum
2,409 reviews
6.98 km away
The New Inn
30 reviews
7.94 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tim M
16 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CharlotteKirton | Property representative |
Unfortunately the shutters must be closed when the Hall is not open to visitors for insurance purposes and to protect the items within, such as the Gainsborough paintings and intricate fabrics, which can be damaged by... More
0
Votes
Keeley D
31 July 2018|
Answer
Response from CharlotteKirton | Property representative |
Hi Keeley D, thank you for getting in touch. We have plenty of fun things for children to do at Scampston! There is a small playground in the Fairy Forest area, with a trail of fairy doors to find. We also have a nature... More
0
Votes
MissJetSetterUK
22 July 2018|
Answer
Response from CharlotteKirton | Property representative |
Hello, thank you for your question. Dogs are permitted in certain areas of the Parkland on leads. The ticket office will outline these areas on the estate map upon your arrival. We are unable to allow dogs into the Walled... More
1
Vote