We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari

Features Animals
Open Now: 07:00 - 17:30
Open today: 07:00 - 17:30
Share
Book In Advance
Tours from Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
290
All photos (290)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“crab”(23 reviews)
“octopus”(18 reviews)
“wasini island”(37 reviews)
About
PLENTY OF AVAILABILITY every day. Pilli Pipa has being running dhow safaris since 1989. It is a small family owned company run by Selina and Harm Lutjeboer. Safe, personal and professional service to guests. Guests taken into the pristine and...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 07:00 - 17:30
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Website
+254 724 442555
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We were sold this trip by Virgin holidays, but when the car picked us up at 6 in the morning and said it's a 2.5hr trip to the boat I nearly turned around and went back to bed! 5hr return journey in a car on...More

4  Thank OlandBoy
Valerie S, Owner at Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

So glad you had a great time. You obviously have a sense of fun and adventure. I often find it irritating when people complain about the long ride from Mombasa or Diani. I have been living here for years but I still find the journey...More

Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We went on this dolphin and snorkeling trip and for the price we expected a great time. This cost us $125 per person and we paid €20 for a similar excursion in Hurghada/Egypt. So the expectations were quite high. We were told that this was...More

5  Thank Henrik L
Valerie S, Owner at Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

We do take positive criticism Hendrik but if you had mentioned something to the manager on the day, we would have pointed out that you were given a brochure by our rep who came to see you. The brochure clearly states that THERE ARE NO...More

Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
196
43
20
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
196
43
20
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab octopus wasini island seafood saw dolphins biscuits marine park dhow safari marine life swim with the dolphins swahili food scuba diving day trip recommended trip picked up from our hotel coral reef an amazing experience
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great snorkelling but you are manu boats and many groups at the same time so its a bit crowded but we are all about presevartion so we like thats ir controlled and organised. Dont put your feet down or you risk destroying the coralls,just float...More

Thank E9456PYannr
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Started at 11am in an exceptional dhow which was well stocked with snacks for the journey.We were taken for snorkeling with a school of dolphins in the marine park within the ocean.All this was concluded with a delicious and exotic meal comprosing of fish, crab,...More

Thank Jane K
Valerie P, Owner at Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Jane for your kind words, we are so happy that you enjoyed the day. We strive to give guests the best time possible and it's always good to hear that somebody appreciates the marine park experience.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great day at sea. helpful and service minded staff, Dolphins and snorkeling. Very nice and tasty Seafood lunch.

Thank Tourist267584
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is not meant as a negative review I walk with a stick and the fact I have mobility issues was obvious to the rep who took my booking as he asked for help for me to get onto and off the boat and up...More

Thank Lynne B
Valerie S, Owner at Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You are absolutely right Lynne, this trip was not suitable for you. Our office lady remembers your rep phoning in and she checked that there was going to be high tide that day which meant a bush walk of about ten minutes. The possibility of...More

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Great snorkelling trip, everything was well arranged and the staff and guides were very friendly. Free tip: arrange this via Oranje Safaris, it's €20 cheaper than with TUI or Polmans

Thank Paul L
Reviewed 25 September 2018

I had really been looking forward to this trip as had done something similar 22 years before. Granted it was a long time ago and things have changed dramatically, but was very pleased to find out they were still doing it. The unfortunate thing was...More

1  Thank tamarpeters
Reviewed 31 August 2018

I thoroughly recommend this excursion for a great day out. The crew were well trained and helpful. I travelled out there last week and thoroughly enjoyed myself so am booking again for Christmas. The weather was brilliant and got to see whales which for me...More

Thank mvh072016
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

although our hotel reception booked with them on the phone they lost track of our booking and never picked us up at 7.15 at our hotel. when contacting them to ask where they are they told us that it was an internal mess up and...More

Thank Ramona G
Valerie S, Owner at Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

We did apologise profusely Ramona, it is totally untrue to say that we did not apologise and it's very unfair of you to call us an unreliable organisation for one mistake by a staff member. One staff does not make our entire organisation, I hope...More

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We booked our trip at the hotel reception. At 7.15 we we're supposed to be pick up at the hotel. 1 hour and several calls later we are still in the hotel. All in all they forgot to pick us up and they are sorry....More

Thank petz26
Valerie S, Owner at Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

For the general reader this review is written by the person accompanying the 'Unreliable organistaion ' review. So two reviews from two people who did not come on our trip yet it gives the impression that our dhow safari is a bad service. They did...More

Reviewed 21 August 2018

スワヒリビーチホテルの紹介でこのツアーを申し込みました。 一人参加で130USDでした。 泳ぎが不得意な私にも、ライフジャケットを貸してくれて、インストラクターが浮き輪で引っ張ってくれて、サンゴ礁や色々な魚を教えてくれました。 とても楽しかったので、おススメです。 In the introduction of Swahili Beach Resort Hotel, I applied for a day trip by Dow ship to Washini Island. I left the hotel at 7 o'clock and took an hour and a half to Shimoni by car. On the way,...More

1  Thank MUMOMO
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 nearby hotels
The Funzi Keys
93 reviews
10.05 km away
The Ocean SPA Lodge
52 reviews
20.48 km away
The Sands At Chale Island
676 reviews
28.30 km away
Kinondo Kwetu
141 reviews
34.07 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 49 nearby restaurants
Kaole restaurant
9 reviews
2.55 km away
Tiki Bar
85 reviews
43.97 km away
Sails Beach Bar & Restaurant
346 reviews
38.32 km away
Nomad Restaurant
611 reviews
41.33 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 79 nearby attractions
Kisite-Mpunguti Marine National Park and Reserve
53 reviews
2.29 km away
Wasini's Blue Whale Boat Operators
69 reviews
2.32 km away
Wasini Island
144 reviews
2.79 km away
Charlie Claw's
55 reviews
3.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Shann5
28 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from jeffandrenate | Reviewed this property |
I e-mailed them before I traveled then met them at their offices. couldn't have gone easier. Hope you have a great time - we did!
0
Votes
Manuella O
18 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Valerie P | Property representative |
0722343431 Raymond matiba highly recomended
0
Votes
martismith
29 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Valerie P | Property representative |
We do pick up from Diani Sea Lodge at about 7.15 a.m and you would get back at about 6p.m You can book a trip by email. We are not allowed to put our email address here so maybe you could give me your email address or look... More
1
Vote