We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Ventures

Features Animals
Beach Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
+254 42 2332420
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome instruction!

When I first came to Aqua Ventures, I hadn’t dived for years and was nervous about jumping back in... read more

Reviewed 26 July 2016
jd2222_12
,
Nairobi, Kenya
The place for relaxed and fun dives

Everything about Aqua Ventures is right. It was my second time with them. This trip was to do my... read more

Reviewed 23 May 2016
Theresidentyeti
,
Nairobi, Kenya
Read all 57 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Aqua Ventures is an owner operated company established in Watamu in January 1990. Steve and Helen Curtis, the proud owners of the company, have successfully managed Aqua Ventures and moulded it into what is considered one of Kenya's leading dive centres. Steve an ex-military diver from Zimbabwe has been diving in Kenya since 1982. Helen, Kenyan by birth, has been diving since 1989. Watamu, being the first established Marine Park and reserve in Kenya, with its superior underwater topography and uncluttered beaches made it the natural location for Steve and Helen to start their business. From humble beginnings at the Ocean Sports Resort, Aqua Ventures operates three diving boats and has a well equipped diving centre with 3 compressors and over 50 sets of well maintained diving equipment.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average0%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“dive masters” (4 reviews)
“between dives” (3 reviews)
“marine park” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 07:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Beach Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
CONTACT
Website
+254 42 2332420
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

When I first came to Aqua Ventures, I hadn’t dived for years and was nervous about jumping back in with some friends visiting Kenya. Helen led me through a thorough refresher in the pool, and Steve was my buddy on the dive. Both were so...More

Thank jd2222_12
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Julie. We were happy to re introduce you to diving and hope you have an awesome trip in Samoa practicing your skills!!. Can't wait to hear about it!

Reviewed 23 May 2016

Everything about Aqua Ventures is right. It was my second time with them. This trip was to do my advanced PADI. The team - from the dive masters to the boat crew - are all friendly and professional. The equipment is well maintained & clean....More

1  Thank Theresidentyeti
Reviewed 2 April 2016

If you letting your 10-year-old son go down under water to 12 meters’ depth only the very best diving instructors is good enough. I dived in January this year with my sister. I haven’t dived in 15 years and had no intention to start again....More

1  Thank Steffenobil
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for your very nice and positive review - it was a pleasure to dive with you and the boys. Jack did so well and Fabian too.

Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Steve and Helen were exellent teachers and guides. As first time divers of varying ages we felt we were in experienced, professional, and patient hands. We would highly recommend aqua ventures.

Thank Tessa V
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thank you for your review Tessa, it was great to meet you all and to introduce you to the underwater world!

Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

We did 3 dives in the marine park with Aqua Ventures. We had excellent equipment and very professional lovely dive guides. All dive sites were great - lots of beautiful and healthy coral, vast variety of fish, and each site was different. Another great thing...More

Thank Rachel_F_Sydney_Aus
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Thank you for your comments Rachel. It was great to meet you and Ofir and so glad that you enjoyed yourselves

Reviewed 10 January 2016

Went on 3 great dives with Aqua Ventures, they are a top operation with very well maintained equipment and they are extremely safety conscious. I have been diving with Aqua Ventures for at least 6 years now and have never been disappointed. Thank you Helen,...More

2  Thank PeerIuel
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Thank you for your kind comments Peer. Always great to see you here and look forward to catching up in December!

Reviewed 17 December 2015

I dove three times with Aqua Ventures. It was convenient because it was on site at Ocean Sports where I was staying. Dominick and Safari were the dive masters for my first two dives and Helen (the owner) was my dive master on the third....More

Thank Brent E
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2016

Thank you so much Brent, for your enthusiastic review - it was a pleasure to dive with you and we're so glad you had a good time in Watamu!

Reviewed 12 November 2015

Recommended diving operator for sure. My experience: I did four fun dives over the course of two days with Steve, Safari and Dominic (Dominic specifically as my DM). I rented all my equipment from Aqua Ventures for my dives. Diving briefs per dive site were...More

1  Thank Matt W
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Great to meet you Matt and Thank you for the positive write up - we're so glad you enjoyed your experience

Reviewed 3 November 2015

Spent 10 days in Watamu, I really wanted to dive but was very nervous because I hadn't dived for 3 years when I got to Aqua ventures. The lady who owns and runs the business was very helpful and understanding. I was so happy that...More

1  Thank HJudit26
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Thank you for your kind words - we were happy to be able to get you into the Ocean so that you could get to (almost!) enjoy the underwater experience

Reviewed 20 August 2015

When we went to book our dive they were very frank with us. They told us it was not prime season. That the visability may not be top notch and that we could only go before the breakline. We appreciated the honest and booked with...More

1  Thank ctveav
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Thank you for your kind comments - we also enjoyed Diving with you and maybe you will have a chance to come back when the sea is calmer!!!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
NON SOLO GELATO by anna
61 reviews
.59 km away
Come Back Club Watamu
234 reviews
1.47 km away
Bahati Gelateria Italianna Andrea
230 reviews
1.51 km away
Makuti Ristorante Pizzeria
129 reviews
1.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Safari Kenya Watamu - Day Tours
424 reviews
1.61 km away
Joseph e Toyota Kenya safari - Day Trips
21 reviews
1.52 km away
Roma Watamu Safari - Day Tours
16 reviews
.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
n1a2n3a4
27 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Helen C | Property representative |
Hello, Is this Marti who I've already spoken to on the Phone???!!
0
Votes