We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Avenida Almenara s/n | NH Hotel Almenara, 11310, Sotogrande, Spain
Phone Number:
+34 956 58 20 54
Website
Today
08:00 - 19:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 19:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 63 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 7
    Excellent
  • 16
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Fine resort

Challenging golf course with excellent hotel facilities. Not very crowded. Saw a snake at tee-off #6. Closed to Valderrama and Sotogrande.

Reviewed 4 August 2016
Yonfucius P
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

No control of what happens on the course. Tried several times to ask the Marshall to get a slow Ball to go faster. But nothing happend so we went together In a 5 Ball. But Then another Marshall came and told us we Were Not allowed to play 5 persons in 1 Ball. Even we still was waiting behind the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan P
portsmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I have been going to the CDS for many years playing golf on expensive courses and not so expensive courses. So I would class myself as very experienced of the why's and wherefores of golf on the costa. Never have I been treated so badly as I have just been at Almenara Golf Club. We played on Friday 7th October... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank moschino
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Challenging golf course with excellent hotel facilities. Not very crowded. Saw a snake at tee-off #6. Closed to Valderrama and Sotogrande.

Helpful?
Thank Yonfucius P
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2016

In general not a bad course, but compared to the other big names in the area not great. Conditioning leaves alot to be desired!

Helpful?
Thank Albie H
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Beautiful setting and well maintained course. Prices however and the fault here and should be adjusted to today's current market. We will return of course.

Helpful?
Thank samyzach
Benahavis, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Played two of the three 9 hole courses, Los Lagos and Alcornoque. Wow take spare balls - very tight if not OB one side water hazard the other. Need accuracy off the tee to manage the tight fairways but greens were in excellent condition. Some lovely scenary and landscaping can be a useful diversion if you do not play well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. Courses excellent and hotel as good as any on the Costa. Bit far out, and not a lot going on in sotogrande, but great for a long weekend!

Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Have golfed twice a year in Spain for the last 20 years but no more.We are 2 couples who love our golf and arrived at Almenara on Monday the 19th October for our booked tee off at 10.10am.The weather was very overcast and light rain with a very poor forecast for the rest of the day.We discussed with both ladies... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Alan C
agomezcava, Director Comercial at Almenara Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Alan, We regret the experience you had during your golfing holidays in our golf club. Last week we had big rainfalls along the area causing floods in all the golf courses from the Costa del Sol. The weather in the strait of Gibraltar is quite unpredictable, and although we had light rain in our daily forecast report, we suddenly... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2015

A reasonable Hotel, with fair rooms, great food on room service, reasonable restaurants, good staff. And the beat view of the sea, and mountains around.

Helpful?
Thank Don K
agomezcava, Director Comercial at Almenara Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Don K, Thanks very much for you kind words. It´s always easy and heartwarming to serve clients like you. We will share these comments with all our staff, and look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Antonio Gómez. More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2015

My first experience of golf in Spain and thoroughly enjoyed it. All 3 nines were tough, every hole is different and there are no easy drives. The Lakes and the Pine Trees were probably our favourites. When we played (late April) the courses were fairly quiet but in pretty good condition considering what we were paying. If I had to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lordmartyr
agomezcava, Director Comercial at Almenara Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Lordmarty , Thank you very much for your kind review . Almenara Golf Club Team always work for the happiness of our customers. These comments reinforces us to keep on working hard . On behalf of the entire team, all the best. Antonio Gómez. More 

Travellers who viewed Almenara Golf Club also viewed

Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
 
San Roque, Costa de la Luz
Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Almenara Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Almenara Golf Club and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Almenara Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?