We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 800 733 529
Website
Description:

Join the White Island Tours crew aboard the luxury cruiser 'PeeJay' for a 6...

Join the White Island Tours crew aboard the luxury cruiser 'PeeJay' for a 6 hour adventure to explore New Zealand's only active marine volcano - White Island.

Sitting 49km off the coast of New Zealand's North Island, this is one of the world's most accessible live volcanos. With the majority of the volcano sitting beneath the sea it means we are able to disembark directly into the crater complex - no mountain climbing required.

Being a live volcano there is little doubt that White Island is home to New Zealand's most impressive geothermal activity. Visitors are able to get up close to roaring steam vents, bubbling pits of mud, hot volcanic streams and the amazing lake of steaming acid. The vivid hues of yellow and orange resulting from the abundant sulphur on the island make it a photographer's dream.

Experienced guides will lead visitors on a two hour exploration of the inner crater, providing a fascinating commentary on the geology of the island as well as stories of attempts to mine sulphur. Along with volcanic and geothermal features, you will see the remains of the sulphur factory which have survived multiple eruptions since being abandoned in the 1930s.

Once back aboard PeeJay there may be time for a swim from the boat before being served a light packed lunch which can be enjoyed while viewing the outer walls of the island where Pohutukawa forests grow and large Australasian Gannet colonies exist.

Our journey home often provides the opportunity to spend time viewing dolphins, whales and other marine life. We hold the necessary government permits to interact with these animals and it's a great way to end an already amazing day.

Tours depart daily (weather permitting) from Whakatane.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 753 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 574
    Excellent
  • 84
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Excellent trip

We went on the White Island trip on 23rd October 2016. The trip was extremely well organised. The guided walk around the island was a good length of time and our guide (so sorry I... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2016
Rachel N
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 682: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We went on the White Island trip on 23rd October 2016. The trip was extremely well organised. The guided walk around the island was a good length of time and our guide (so sorry I can't remember your name but a youngish gentleman) was excellent. The packed lunch was very a lovely surpise too (we were expecting something less impressive).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
Management response:

Hi Rachel N, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit to White Island with us. It was great to hear that you were a fan of our lunch! We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Whakatane, and that you'll return again! More 

Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

A must see for Kiwis and travellers alike. Well run tour with super friendly and helpful team looking after us for the day...and a nice lunch to boot. Thanks Peejays

Helpful?
Thank Jo K
Management response:

Hi Jo K, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit to White Island with us - and our packed lunch! It was great to have you on board with us, and we hope you'll visit again soon. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

This is a rather unique opportunity to visit an active volcano crater. The visit must be booked as a boat trip ( NZ$ 438 for 2 adults = £272 ). Should the weather be bad the company will phone you that the trip is not possible as the landing on the island is by zodiac (rubber boat) and involves a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank goldsb
WhiteIslandTours, General Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your very comprehensive review and glad you enjoyed your visit to White Island. We're sorry to hear that there were some aspects that took away from your experience and have taken your feedback onboard. All the best for the remainder of your travels. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

A fabulous trip. It involves a boat trip of about 90 minutes each way and a walk around White Island, lasting about 2 hours. On both the way out to the island and back we saw pilot whales, dolphin, seals and many varieties of sea birds. The skipper allowed ample time for viewing without disturbing the wildlife and we have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joy M
Management response:

Hi Joy M, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We can't help but agree that visiting White Island truly is a once in a lifetime experience - one that we're so pleased you choose to take with us. More 

Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

If you are interested in geothermal geology, getting a taste of how the world was at the beginning or just want to do something different, do it. We got dolphin and whale watching as a bonus there and back. Even it you don't see marine mammals, it's a wonderful boat trip, plenty of birds to view and the boat cruises... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tantranorth
Management response:

Hi Tantranorth, We were thrilled to hear that you had such a great visit to White Island with us and really enjoyed reading your informative review! Thank you for the kind recommendation, and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to New Zealand! More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is a fantastic tour with experienced guides who share a wealth of information. It is relaxed enough that people of most fitness levels can participate.The exceptional staff take good care to make sure everyone is safe and enjoys the experience. This is an experience not to be missed. I suggest staying at White Island Rendezvous which is excellent accommodation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dmgawronski
Management response:

Hi dmgawronski, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed visiting White Island with us and that you considered it to be "an experience not to be missed" - that is high praise indeed! More 

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

What an adventure landing on the crater at White Island sulphur fumes every where not real good if your asthmatic but they give you a gas mask and you have a 5 minute walk to the crater edge. She was a bit noisey belching gas steam and rumbling. The guides give you a run down of the basic history of... More 

Helpful?
Thank JULIECALDWELL
Management response:

Hi JulieCaldwell, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to White Island with us and noticed that you retained many of the interesting historical facts - including that of 'Peter the Great'. Though the prospect of walking on an active volcano could be scary, our staff are... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

OMG!! So awesome. Greetings from Texas. My friend asked as I was planning my trip "Do you want to go see an active volcano?" Yes I do.... A few days before we were going to be there, the volcano erupted. The threat level was a 3, and everyone looked at us funny when we said we were going to White... More 

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin R
Management response:

Hi Benjamin R, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience - your enthusiasm is infectious and made it a great read! We can't help but agree, that the opportunity to visit an active volcano is not one to be missed, so we're thrilled you were able to visit with us and had such... More 

Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

If you are thinking about a trip out to White Island....just do it! I am so glad we did! I am still Gobsmacked days after our visit, it is so desolate, hauntingly beautiful, treacherous and alluring. Can't wait to do it again. The 90 min trip over was good and choppy which made for an awesome ride for us but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn Fergie F
Management response:

Hi Dawn Fergie F, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're thrilled you hear that you enjoyed your visit to White Island Tours with us so much. We do our best to minimise the impact of rough seas, but do recommend that anyone prone to seasickness please bring with them medication. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

What an experience.... We planned this part of our NZ adventure based on reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed.The trip out and back is not a simple pleasure cruise as the last 20 min or so is on the open ocean. The key is to be prepared which we were (travel calm) but many on our trip... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dale H
Management response:

Hi Dale H, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and share your experience! We're so pleased that you added White Island to your New Zealand travel schedule, and that you had such a great time visiting the island with us. It's particularly awesome to hear that you had such a positive experience with our staff, and... More 

Travellers who viewed White Island Tours also viewed

 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to White Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of White Island Tours and other visitors
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from White Island Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?