We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Earth and Sky

Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6960
Save
Review Highlights
Stunning Evening - Amazing Experience

Always likely to be a gamble but definitely worth it. Observatory was located here due to high... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Bernard T
via mobile
Earth and sky

I was so looking foward to stargazing while in Tekapo, the weather however did not want to play... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Chantelle B
via mobile
Read all 702 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Earth & Sky Stargazing and Observatory tours operate in beautiful Lake Tekapo situated in the South Island. Visitors find enjoyment, entertainment and inspiration through a ‘hands-on’ experience as knowledgeable astronomy guides share the wonders of space, promote a scientific understanding of the southern night sky, and help reconnect people with a special part of nature using powerful telescopes. Tours operate at two big sky locations including the University of Canterbury Mt John Research Observatory. Lake Tekapo sits at the heart of the gold ranked ’Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve‘ (est 2012) - Earth & Sky - the best attraction in New Zealand to show you the universe.
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“hot chocolate” (72 reviews)
“night sky” (92 reviews)
“star gazing” (83 reviews)
Closes in 13 min
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 00:00
LOCATION
Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
CONTACT
+64 3-680 6960
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Always likely to be a gamble but definitely worth it. Observatory was located here due to high number of clear nights each year, so high probability you'll see stars etc. Note, the clouds come and go quickly so might be cloudy when you arrive at...More

Thank Bernard T
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I was so looking foward to stargazing while in Tekapo, the weather however did not want to play ball. We booked in on a rainy day with full cloud cover knowing how quickly the weather can change, for the 10pm tour. Earth and sky can't...More

Thank Chantelle B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pretty much the only thing of note to do in Tekapo, I was highly looking forward to this activity. I was not let down. Initially booking the more expensive tour, when I checked in, I was told that the tour I had booked would not...More

Thank Adam33Wood
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for sharing your visitor experience with our team, and those wishing to join an Earth & Sky Stargazing and Observatory Tour. We are pleased that you would recommend our tour above all else here in Lake Tekapo! As you may understand,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were really looking forward to The Mt John Night Observatory Tour this tour. Our original booking was cancelled because of weather so we forfeited our accommodation booking for that weekend and re-booked for a fortnight later. We were advised at check in that there...More

Thank lavieenrosie
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your visitor experience with us. We are disappointed that you felt underwhelmed with your experience during your Mt. John Observatory Tour. Here in Lake Tekapo, we are situated in an alpine environment which can often...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is so unfortunate when companies make people pay to go up a "private road" which is taxpayer funded to access a great geographical feature. The university of Canterbury supposively "own" this road and lease it to earth and sky who then charge a ridicolous...More

Thank Pip H
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your personal views during you recent visit to the University of Canterbury Mt. John Observatory. The Mt. John Access Road is indeed privately owned and does not benefit from any other funding. The Road User...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were originally booked on the Mount John Tour but were switched to the Cowans Observatory tour as the road to Mount John were iced up and closed. We had a great night and the guides provided a wealth of information. Got some great photos....More

Thank Bryce J
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience for the Cowans Observatory Tour that you recently joined. We are thrilled that our friendly Customer Representatives in our village office were able to relocate your tour for you. In Lake Tekapo, it...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We signed up for two-hour star gazing tour. Was hoping for lots of stars and planets. But we got the entire Milky Way above our heads! Omg! The utterly clear and overwhelming sight is probably possible only because this is a dark sky reserve area....More

Thank YP l
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, It is great to read such a star studded Trip Advisor review from one of our valued customers. We are thrilled to read such an informative review, which will certainly aide in helping other visitors choose to join one of our tours. The...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked onto the short tour which ended up being done on the shores of the lake rather than in the observatory due to weather conditions. The guides were incredibly informative and everyone got a chance to look through both telescopes with questions actively encouraged....More

Thank Kirstin R
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, We are thrilled that your tour experience as a whole went above any beyond expectations. The weather conditions in Lake Tekapo can be very changeable and can result in adverse weather patterns. We are pleased that upon speaking with our friendly booking team,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After 3 years, we decided to give star gazing at Tekapo another go. Our attempt in 2014 ended in total disappointment because of bad weather. This time round, on 17 April 2017, it was a complete opposite!! We had booked the Mt John Observatory Tour...More

Thank SW123L
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your tour experience with our team and other travellers. We are thrilled that you had a second opportunity to visit New Zealand and chose to travel to Lake Tekapo with hopes for better weather. Our...More

Reviewed 17 July 2017

The guides were so knowledgeable and welcoming. Well worth the time and money. Still buzzing from the trip and new knowledge I have acquired. I love being able to look up at the sky and now tell exactly where the Southern Cross is. The close...More

Thank suzlaj75
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora, It is great to hear that you would recommend our Earth & Sky Stargazing Tour to others! Our team work hard in keeping with new discoveries and keeping their information up to date and relevant. Our Astronomy guides enjoy showcasing their knowledge and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
929 reviews
19.94 km away
Shawty's Cafe
515 reviews
22.37 km away
Astro Cafe
684 reviews
21.18 km away
Poppies Cafe
659 reviews
22.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
1,834 reviews
20.21 km away
Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour
151 reviews
25.01 km away
Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon Shop
146 reviews
16.33 km away
Mount John University Observatory
466 reviews
21.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
wipasirik2015
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Adila B | Reviewed this property |
We did the night tour but I believe they also offer day tours. Night is probably best especially if the sky is clear.
0
Votes
Evi Y
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sandy H | Reviewed this property |
We did notice a disabled parking bay and some smoother concrete paths to some of the areas. They provide great coats but as others said take your own warm hat and gloves and a rug for the wheelchair. We did the twilight tour... More
0
Votes
nomdeplume83
11 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from keefenkong | Reviewed this property |
Hi, yes it will. Other than the moon another distraction will be the cloud. As the weather is so unpredictable and always changing, my experience there for Mt.John at night, none of the weather forecast were accurate. Earth... More
1
Vote