We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 2254 Mouse Point Road | State Highway 7, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-315 7579
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Description:

Marble Point Winery is situated just 13km south from the small alpine...

Marble Point Winery is situated just 13km south from the small alpine village of Hanmer Springs heading towards Christchurch. We are the only vineyard in this area; at 297m above sea level, we are among New Zealand's highest altitude vineyards. Our situation on the banks of the Waiau River and the micro climate it creates allows us to grows grapes where many people thought we would fail. Varieties grown are Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Riesling and Pinot Noir. We are open for tastings 10am to 5pm Daily.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 48 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 32
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Nice stop

On the way to Hanmer we decided a last second stop. Was well worth it, tried some lovely wine while having some good banter with the person serving. We grabbed a platter and had... read more

Reviewed 6 March 2017
mattmander
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017

On the way to Hanmer we decided a last second stop. Was well worth it, tried some lovely wine while having some good banter with the person serving. We grabbed a platter and had a couple of wines with a great view and some nice dogs to give us company. Very good Chardonnay.

Helpful?
Thank mattmander
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We had a 40th birthday party planned and Marble Point was the chosen venue, which was booked and confirmed. Correspondence was very light and a week out from the party the restaurant decided they could not honour the booking. I cannot say that the experience/food was a bad one because it didn't happen. I can say however that the customer... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank deeonthewire
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Yes we do evening functions by arrangement only. Our normal trading hours are 10am to 4pm, any function outside of these hours, we have to organise additional staff etc. For this type of special event we have rules, at the end of the day i am a business and we have to make money, so i can afford to pay... More 

Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Stopped off for a look around and came away quite impressed. We had lunch here and were treated to a good platter of breads, meats, and cheeses. There are the usual wine tasting activities, and a selection of honeys, and local foods available for sale. A worthwhile place to stop at, and have a good look around.

Helpful?
Thank 62Peter1952
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit to Marble Point More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
490 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

It has been a great sunny day and we've enjoyed every kilometer of our journey from the Canterbury Planes to Hanmer Springs. On our way we visited one of New Zealand’s probably highest altitude vineyards at around 300 m above sea level. The vineyard is situated in rather a rough environment surrounded by country farms and mountains. After some tasting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BURGWIN
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Thanks for your responce More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way out of town...what a view. The lamb was HUGE! We had to have a wine too of course and the chardonnay was a great choice

Helpful?
Thank finediner78
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Great You Enjoyed Your Visit More 

White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

The setting is lovely. The winery is nestled is by a river with snow capped mountains as a backdrop. The perfect place to stop off we thought for lunch. We did a wine tasting before so we could choose a bottle to accompany our meal. The woman serving us told us there was a $5.00 charge for tasting but this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kateonthemove
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

We run 2 businesses here our cellar door and our restaurant, our restaurant purchases the wine at the same wholesale price as any other business and marks the wine up accordingly, the mother in law is $11 a glass or $45 bottle which contains 5 Std. glasses. If in the future we lease the business to another party they would... More 

Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We have been here twice with a car club for lunch. In December 2015 we had a separate back room with a wine tasting followed by lunch. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. This time we had the main restaurant pretty much to ourselves with a few other patrons lurking around. The setting & view is so lovely. We had a set... More 

Helpful?
Thank Channon R
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate that you have taken the time. More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Both of us enjoyed our meal, friendly service and the nice location overlooking the river. Having made a prior reservation, it was disappointing that we had to ask for the wine list, glasses to go with the carafe of water that was brought to the table, a fork that was missing from the setting and condiments after the meals arrived.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hank145
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our food and friendly and what we consider homely service. Sorry that your experience wasn't quite up to the mark, we are always endeavouring to be the best we can, although it only takes a slight upset with staffing or bookings to arrive late or early and we are unable to provide our usual high standard of... More 

nelson
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Called twice in June, first time told us closed for annual holidays, second time website said open but still closed - 50+ kms from Hanmer for NOTHING. Had been before and food good but wouldn't bother again.

Helpful?
Thank gjbNelson
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

We are 13km from Hanmer Springs, if you ring to book our answer phone will always be up to date. We were closed for staff holidays from 6th June to 29th. This is the 3rd year we have done this and will continue to close each year around this time for staff holidays for 21 days. We try our best... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

We were here 6 years ago and had very fond memories of a cosy, small boutique winery. With that in mind we returned to recapture the atmosphere that was unique and welcoming. This time around we arrived to discover this place was almost unrecognizable. Not in a bad way though. Obviously success has meant this place has grown to accommodate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna W
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit and our food. It's so nice that you appreciated our "old fashioned" service, exactly what we want to achieve "Home Away From Home" atmosphere where everyone feels welcome More 

Travellers who viewed Marble Point Winery also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Marble Point Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Marble Point Winery and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Marble Point Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?