We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Virgin Balloon Flights - CLOSED

| Stowmarket Recreation Ground, Off Finborough Road, Stowmarket IP14 1JR, England
+44 844 576 7535
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyed the balloon ride- but there is lot more to it

Let me narrate the positives first- Superb ride - the wind was just right and we covered almost 4... read more

Reviewed 22 April 2017
Shabana S
via mobile
Inflexible Customer Services

I have tow tickets that had expired by 3 months so I contacted customer services today. I offered... read more

Reviewed 29 March 2017
Helen B
Read all 280 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Stowmarket is set on the banks of the River Gripping. Flyers can expect to have good views over Bury St Edmunds to the west and Ipswich and the Suffolk coast to the east. Appreciate the beauty of Eastern England on your flight as you take in the views over the Home Counties, stretching towards the outskirts of London.
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good4%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible37%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
| Stowmarket Recreation Ground, Off Finborough Road, Stowmarket IP14 1JR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 844 576 7535
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Let me narrate the positives first- Superb ride - the wind was just right and we covered almost 4 miles in one hour. The landing was absolutely amazing - didn't realise that we had landed. Great idea of clicking a selfie of the balloon- pilot...More

Thank Shabana S
Reviewed 29 March 2017

I have tow tickets that had expired by 3 months so I contacted customer services today. I offered to pay an admin fee to have them extended but they refused and said there was nothing they could do for me. I am so disappointed with...More

Thank Helen B
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

I would urge everyone to take their business elsewhere. Do not be conned like so many of us have been. Virgin Hot Air Balloon Flights customer services are rude, aggressive, and unprofessional. So needless to say, you will never see your money again and certainly...More

Thank Mauvell1668
Reviewed 10 February 2017

When i booked two tickets I specifically asked if there was an expiry date and was told explicitly that "no there was not" so i went ahead and booked. I therefore had no reason to check that there would in fact be an expiry date....More

5  Thank kessawessa1
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We were given two tickets for a wedding present. Two years on and we still haven't flown. I even upgraded the tickets so I could fly on a Saturday and stop taking days off from work for no reason. So it certainly has been a...More

2  Thank MrSpud1969
Reviewed 11 January 2016

I bought 2 luxury balloon flight tickets for my wife at christmas 2014, when we went to book the flight the very rude person on the phone said we had already booked a flight and didnt turn up so we had nothing to book this...More

5  Thank Karl P
Reviewed 2 January 2016

we booked to go onto the hotel air balloon in august in knebworth house but it got cancelled booked to go in septmeber to milton keynes so that was us travelling for nearly 45 min. when we arrived we was 10min late tried to call...More

Thank tylertiyah
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Just had a fantastic balloon experience, flying on the first day I had booked for. Everything worked just as the website said and I thought it was all superbly organised. Russell Collins and his crew were so professional and calm that I didn't feel nervous...More

2  Thank emmylou778
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015

Hi EmmyLou We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time on your hot air balloon ride from Ludlow. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review of your experience. We agree, Russell and his crew...More

Reviewed 20 October 2015

Not been able to fly due to weather for over a year now. Had bought this for a special occasion long gone. Asked for a refund as i can't fly pregnant now and they said no but offered to extend the voucher dates. For what...More

1  Thank radhika p
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015

Hello Radhika Sorry to hear that you haven't been able to fly as yet. As we explain at the time our passengers buy their flight vouchers, hot air ballooning is a weather dependent activity and we simply won't fly you if it is not safe...More

Reviewed 18 September 2015

Virgin is absolutely hopeless, beautiful weather again today - low wind speed and glorious sunshine, but cancelled AGAIN. This is beyond a joke - extremely expensive gift for an anniversary 3 years ago! Extremely rude and impatient man on phone, also.More

1  Thank Freya B
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Hi Freya, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Hot air ballooning is a weather dependent activity - our balloons travel with the wind and it's vital that we put passenger safety first. Although it may look like a nice day...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Shepherd and Dog
210 reviews
.55 km away
Radhuni Indian Restaurant
109 reviews
1.56 km away
Walnut Tree
7 reviews
1.45 km away
Costa Coffee
16 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
East Anglian Activities
12 reviews
1.51 km away
Museum of East Anglian Life
152 reviews
1.56 km away
Rattlesden Gliding Club
5 reviews
.94 km away
Klub Equest
8 reviews
.14 km away