We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Laurance Rockefeller Preserve

Features Animals
Moose Wilson Road, Jackson, WY
+1 307-739-3300
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Never Any Place to Park

I've been to this Preserve a half-dozen times, and the closest I've been to actually seeing it was... read more

Reviewed 9 February 2018
mrliterature
,
California
Beautiful Family Friendly Atmosphere

First, I would like to thank the Preserve for only allowing a certain number of people into this... read more

Reviewed 8 February 2018
magicmomentfamily
,
Wyoming
Read all 701 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good16%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“phelps lake” (221 reviews)
“visitor center” (91 reviews)
“easy hike” (43 reviews)
LOCATION
Moose Wilson Road, Jackson, WY
CONTACT
Website
+1 307-739-3300
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"phelps lake"
in 221 reviews
"visitor center"
in 91 reviews
"easy hike"
in 43 reviews
"parking is limited"
in 34 reviews
"beautiful hike"
in 30 reviews
"sound room"
in 17 reviews
"woodland trail"
in 16 reviews
"death canyon"
in 10 reviews
"mile loop"
in 10 reviews
"miles round trip"
in 13 reviews
"great trails"
in 8 reviews
"short hike"
in 14 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 18 reviews
"park ranger"
in 8 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 8 reviews
"grand teton national park"
in 22 reviews
"jackson hole"
in 19 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2018

I've been to this Preserve a half-dozen times, and the closest I've been to actually seeing it was when I got into a line of cars and was told that the wait time to get a parking space was 45-90 minutes. If you're not there...More

1  Thank mrliterature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

First, I would like to thank the Preserve for only allowing a certain number of people into this place throughout the day (well cars anyway). We only had to wait about an hour to park, but it was worth it. The visitor's center alone was...More

1  Thank magicmomentfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Laurance S. Rockefeller Preserve is a refuge within the Grand Teton NP and is operated by the NPS. The preserve is located on the scenic Moose-Wilson Road, which is closed to RV's and trailers. It has a visitor centre, which is open between 9am and...More

Thank pingaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2018

The scenery is amazing and the hikes are all well marked, short, with little elevation gain. Get there in the morning because parking is limited.

Thank karen2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We have been here many times, but never stopped at the visitor center until this year. What an amazing experience. The sound sensory room is something I could stay in for hours. Great visual display, and informative too.

Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We stopped by the Preserve to do a short, 3-mile hike that the Park ranger recommended. The only problem: the route had been changed due to work at the Preserve and our route increased to about 4.5 miles; clearly the work had begun sometime earlier...More

Thank Ira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We spent a nice afternoon exploring this whole area. Lots of great trails to try out. The Rockefeller family certainly did a great job dedicating this area. Definitely worth a stop.

Thank YankeeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We spent a sunny afternoon following one of the marked paths leading to Phelps Lake and following the creek back. The lake is hidden until you get to it and when you see it, it’s stunning. There seemed to be some work going on early...More

Thank Beverley_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Stopped here as part of our exploration of the Grand Tetons. Gained a real appreciation for the contribution of the Rockefellers and their role in creating this park and Yellowstone. Went on a decent hike and saw many animal tracks, but no animals this time....More

Thank 2bits2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Our first stop in the Tetons. Off the beaten path, very nice hiking, beautiful terrain. Interesting Visitors Center. Waterfalls and lake very impressive!

1  Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Jackson
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
1,102 reviews
6.10 km away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
742 reviews
6.17 km away
Alpenhof Lodge
313 reviews
6.24 km away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
1,069 reviews
6.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Teton Thai
619 reviews
6.00 km away
Dornan's Pizza Pasta Company
439 reviews
6.15 km away
Pizza Pasta Co @ Dornans
182 reviews
6.14 km away
Spur Restaurant & Bar
805 reviews
6.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Jackson Hole Aerial Tram
1,617 reviews
6.30 km away
Chapel of the Transfiguration
240 reviews
5.97 km away
Jackson Hole Mountain Resort
873 reviews
6.55 km away
Moose Wilson Road
252 reviews
4.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
cjampilot
15 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Peggy R | Reviewed this property |
It is so beautiful during the summer. Great hikes
0
Votes
Sarah W
7 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rick T | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately the smoke is awful. Not a good day to be hiking today. Sorry it took so long to respond to your question, as we work to keep our dogs happy with those TREATS.
2
Votes
476scottee
13 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Daniel B | Reviewed this property |
Certainly not as busy as mid summer, still active though. September has other challenges, wildlife is very active late August/September. Sometimes the road is closed because of bear activity. However the fall colors make it... More
1
Vote
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor