We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Anna State Park

6800 Lawyers Rd, Spotsylvania, VA 22551-6404
+1 800-654-4118
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Family fun

This beach set on Lake Anna can be a lot of fun with the kids. We brought a giant beach ball and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Peter H
,
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Brewfest

This was a great place to hold the brewfest. I actually had a old friends reunion at this event one... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
4wyne
,
Spotsylvania, Virginia
via mobile
Read all 111 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Lake Anna offers boating, fishing, hiking, and just all-around fun.
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good41%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“beach area” (11 reviews)
“hiking trails” (9 reviews)
“lake anna” (16 reviews)
LOCATION
6800 Lawyers Rd, Spotsylvania, VA 22551-6404
CONTACT
Website
+1 800-654-4118
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beach area"
in 11 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 9 reviews
"lake anna"
in 16 reviews
"bunk beds"
in 5 reviews
"two nights"
in 4 reviews
"boat ramp"
in 4 reviews
"concession stand"
in 4 reviews
"tent camping"
in 4 reviews
"snack bar"
in 4 reviews
"nice trails"
in 4 reviews
"fire pit"
in 4 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 3 reviews
"gold panning"
in 3 reviews
"bath house"
in 3 reviews
"holiday weekend"
in 3 reviews
"rocking chairs"
in 4 reviews
"kids swimming"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This beach set on Lake Anna can be a lot of fun with the kids. We brought a giant beach ball and tossed it around in the water. There is a concession stand for drinks and food. And, there is a mining exhibit with plenty...More

Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a great place to hold the brewfest. I actually had a old friends reunion at this event one year and couldn’t have been any better. Great Lake atmosphere, pleanty of space and a great run and controlled event!!!plan on doing it again this...More

Thank 4wyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We met friends for a stay in late December. The waterfront Cabin was great: spacious, very clean and well equipped. We enjoyed having the wood fireplace-it really enhances the cold weather experience. We enjoyed hiking the trails and being able to bring our dog was...More

Thank Traveldogs36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

the park is nestled in the forest on the shore of Lake Anna, with a beach and snack bar. The visitor center is interactive and well designed. There are also gold panning tours, miles of walking trails and a bunch of beautiful lodges rented by...More

Thank Bschaeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Stayed August of 2017 to visit several NPS Battlefields in the area- nice. On arrival, advise the gate attendant that you are staying and your entry pass fees are waived. Next stop drive to office (about a 1/2 mile on down the road) for your...More

Thank heavyheavyfuel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I visited this park for two nights mid-week in August. Activities: *Swimming - During good weather it is actively guarded during the day. The guards were picky about where I put my beach umbrella and were firm with the kids about where they could/couldn't use...More

1  Thank crayolabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We tent-camped for a few days, and I felt this is one of the nicer campgrounds we've been to. We went in early August, and we didn't have a problem with crowding at the beaches or on the trails. As for tent camping, there aren't...More

Thank rockcreek_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I read the good and bad reviews here before giving a visit to the State Park at Lake Anna a try last weekend. What a shame that this park is so dirty! And their fee system is crazy. It's $7.00 just to enter the park;...More

3  Thank NANCANVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaStateParks, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Anna State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. As I had responded to other reviews about our fee structure, the park is so much more than the beach. The $7 - which pays for an entire car of people to enjoy the whole...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We are regulars there, we don't live far and we camp in our rv there regularly.The campgrounds are fine, big and spacious, large spaces, clean camp bathrooms but...... The beach area,OMG!!!! It's chaos.Hammocks everywhere,loud music everywhere,kids swimming everywhere,and I mean everywhere.The Fourth of July we...More

Thank suzielocust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaStateParks, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Anna State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

The biggest challenge is that there is so much demand for water access and swimming in northern Virginia. We limit access based on capacity to help control this but the beach is extremely busy. As the demographics of our visitors have changed we have found...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

I had no internet and the Parking is Terrible. You have to get there early. No one cleaning the bathrooms on a regular.

Thank doris915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12345611
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Spotsylvania Hotels
Best Western Plus Thornburg Inn & Suites
127 reviews
26.03 km away
Quality Inn
67 reviews
26.28 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg
98 reviews
26.32 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange - Montpelier
118 reviews
28.53 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Anna Cabana Restaurant
15 reviews
6.63 km away
Billiken's BBQ Company
43 reviews
5.77 km away
Asian Cafe
49 reviews
5.77 km away
Chef Lee Chinese Restaurant at Lake Anna
42 reviews
6.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Anna Nuclear Information Center
15 reviews
9.14 km away
Ellwood Manor
23 reviews
21.59 km away
Cooper Vineyards
61 reviews
21.82 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
CzGw
Lake Anna Staff, attached report summary clearly states positive results for stated bacteria, "In summary, 9 of 16 Lake Anna sites tested positive for Naegleria fowleri amebae. Identifying the risk of contracting Primary Amebic Meningoencephalitis infection when N. fowleri amebae are present in the water is a very complex issue and there are no U.S. Standards. When concentrations of amebae are high there is a greater chance of becoming infected, but we do not know what all of the risk factors are and what the actual risk of infection is" contradicting response provided. However, point taken testing was from 2007. Assuming current testing results described include testing for N. fowleri, could the staff please add those test results here for public information & awareness? It does seem like a nice location, more public info would be much appreciated.
23 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from VaStateParks | Property representative |
We test the water regularly and close any of our beaches that are out of compliance. Please know that Lake Anna is large, the park's beach area is small. The specific report referenced deals with amebae that grow in... More
1
Vote
blondefox7
25 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from suzielocust | Reviewed this property |
I believe there's 2 boat area bathrooms, several stalls each.not a problem. On summer weekends there's a snack bar open too next to one bathroom.
0
Votes
Richard R
1 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from NANCANVA | Reviewed this property |
It costs $7.00 to enter the park and $3.00/pp to swim in the gated lifeguard area. A few feet downshore is another open beach that costs nothing, but there's no lifeguard. Swimming here isn't all that wonderful. The water is... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123456