We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pontefract Races

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Pontefract Park Park Road, Pontefract WF8 4QD, England
Phone Number: +44 1977 781307
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 191 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 104
    Excellent
  • 62
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
A fabulous season finale

Had a lovely afternoon of racing at Pontefract I can highly recommend this course it's so friendly. The park suite offers excellent food always high quality. We bumped into... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 October 2016
Sue J
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 191: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon of racing at Pontefract I can highly recommend this course it's so friendly. The park suite offers excellent food always high quality. We bumped into friends too so an unexpected surprise. We have had some lovely days here in 2016.... Bring on 2017

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Hi Sue Thanks for the lovely review - we're thrilled that you've had some enjoyable days with us and look forward to welcoming you back in 2017! More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

I visited on Monday 3rd October and enjoyed a good afternoon at the races. I paid to go in the members enclosure where we found plenty of seating on the sunny grassed area beside where the horses leave the paddock to enter the racecourse. A very friendly and welcoming experience with close access to the parade ring to see the... More 

Helpful?
Thank darrenroberts2016
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Dear Darren Thanks for the review! We're thrilled that you had a good day with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

A group of Ladies attended Ladies Day and had the Marquee package. It was great fun, particularly as I have never been to the races before and really good value.

Helpful?
Thank Tillydog72
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had a lovely day out! Our 2017 Ladies Day will be on Wednesday 9th August and we hope to see you again then! More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

I visited the Racourse with my wife to celebrate her birthday on the 22 sept.I booked the Park Suite as a surprise for her.We had a table for two in a corner next to a large table of gents only,about ten of them.The food was very nice and we enjoyed a lovely meal.Unfortunately after the food was enjoyed the table... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jim d
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's a shame that we did not know about these issues until the day after the race meeting as we would have been able to move your table to a quieter area. Sadly, we were not aware that the table next to you was all gentlemen - nor that you were celebrating a special occasion.... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Bar prices were extortionate the draft fosters was terrible we went on cans after trying first pint, for a thursday meeting the stands were empty sadly like most courses they are pricing themselves out of business

Helpful?
1 Thank quinny09
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We have passed your comments on to our catering company who set the bar prices and look after the beer - we are disappointed to see that you didn't enjoy the beer and will look to rectify any problems. Our 2 September race meetings have both seen fantastic weather and attendances... More 

Level Contributor
345 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

My first visit to Pontefract races, surprisingly as its the closest course to home. A glorious September afternoon helped, but it was a good day out, despite no winning bets. Nice clean facilities. Decent bars and reasonable queues. Usual expensive beer prices. Travel by train to Tanshelf station was good. A couple of decent pubs in the town centre. Not... More 

Helpful?
Thank lowvalleyred
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - much appreciated! Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Pontefract and we look forward to welcoming you again. We will pass on your comments re the beer prices to our catering company, CGC Events. More 

Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

Attended pontefract races in September 2016 the weather was beautiful, the course was brilliant all bars and seating areas were well kept clean and tidy. Overall a lovely day the area for horses parade and winning enclosure was great easy viewing will definitely visit again

Helpful?
Thank Jill L
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Hi Jill Thanks for the review - it's great to hear that you had a good day out and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pontefract! More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Been to this venue many times in all areas from family enterance to premier lawn area great day out drinks a little expensive but on the whole good all round experience and generally surrounded by nice people

Helpful?
Thank bigphilsmith1963
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! It's much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again very soon! More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Overall a great day at the races. No issues getting to the bar, food was a HOG ROAST. Staff very helpful and great customer service.

Helpful?
Thank mark7242
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

HI Mark Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed your day with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Pontefract in the future. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

I have been a few times here, it's a bit grubby with rubbish but good for a long walk around the race track.

Helpful?
Thank Ljmcsexy
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - i believe this may be a review of the park rather than one of our race meetings? It'd be great to get your review from one of the race meetings that we hold each year. More 

Travellers who viewed Pontefract Races also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pontefract Races? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pontefract Races and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pontefract Races staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?