We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 8570 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3127
Phone Number: +1 830-643-4146
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 8 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2
    Excellent
  • 0
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
River Trash at its finest

After reading the reviews I'm surprised people still visit this place. I was being gracious to give it 1 star. The owners/staff are completely rude and trashy. If you've had the... read more

1 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 May 2016
6breckels
,
Austin, Texas
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

After reading the reviews I'm surprised people still visit this place. I was being gracious to give it 1 star. The owners/staff are completely rude and trashy. If you've had the pleasure of never meeting them just read their responses to these reviews and that will give you a bit of in site. We have a family of 6, 4... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 6breckels
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this review

Really!! Eight whole reviews!! Out of thousands that stay here. Yes people still do visit this place. First of all you did not stay here, you did not rent tubes from us, you did not purchase anything from us, so what gives you the right to review our business? I personally am calling trip advisor and putting you on a... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

As guests if the camp, we used their tubing service the first day. They charged us 20 per tube, and 18 per cooler tube. They said we could do the 3 hours float. They shuttled us 4 min down the road. Dropped us and said, we would see them in 1.5 hours. Why? Newscaster their 3 hour float is you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this review

Our three hour float is a float not a PULL as what your men did as witnessed by all of our employees. The river changes sometimes on a daily basis and we strive to give our guests the best possible float. We will not endanger our guest as we will not have inebriated guests floating the river at night. Your... More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

Worst experience ever! We were packing up to leave and the people who run the place came out cussing and screaming and pulled a shotgun on us. Then proceeded to fire thus shot gun. And threatened to stick it up my butt and shoot again... This was not the first time this has happened nor their first weapons offence!!! They... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank thewiltfamily
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this review

First of all check out is at 11 am - not 11.36. The gates close at 11 am to clean up the campsites, garbage, and maintenance . I kindly asked you to leave but you would not! Five of you came to my personal residence, ignored the sign, and started pounding on my door screaming obscenities, and you tried to... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

For the 2nd year, our group from San Antonio enjoyed a camping weekend with a great group of friends from Houston. Go Texans! The campsite is very well maintained and the owners, as always, were courteous and good people! The owners work very hard to keep things under control for the safety of their camping guests. Floating the river is... More 

Helpful?
Thank CameraManCoronado
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this review

Thanks we try to our best. We miss you this year "2015", the river is running better than ever this year!!!!! More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

A last minute decision to go tubing and camping brought us to Billy Goat's Gruff on the 4th of July weekend. A lot of other places I called were overpriced or the campsites were no where next to the river. Billy Goat's Gruff is a small and private property. It is very nicely shaded and clean. I found it to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank CameraManCoronado
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this review

Thanks Coranodo Group - we sure missed yall this 4th of July 2015 More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

I really wish I had checked these reviews before I had went. We go every year and had chosen this site because over the phone were simply told 15.00 each and a minimum of two nights. We pay in advance with a credit card get there and the nickel and dining began. The sites are oddly small. in a space... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank busyfootballmom
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this review

The $1 is for WORD tax that helps clean up the river. What ever float you signed up for is what you paid for. Our employees need to put up our tubes after 10 hours of work. Oh and that's right you tried to STEAL our tubes and then were asked to leave, bye Felicia More 

Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

We love camping in this area and we decided we would try this place. Its a complete scam though!! They were very rude to us, and lied to us about prices, lied about accomadations, etc. Not only is the website misleading but i also called them before coming and she assured me of all the amenities they had, then we... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank TravelingTexans007
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this review

Hmm again - why don't you describe the amenities? Prices can and will change from season to season and even in season pending on river flow. We update the website as fast as we can. If we make a mistake please point it out so we can update the information asap. More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

This place does not deliver any kind of "customer service"--they charge higher prices don't deliver anything extra, compared to all other places on the river . I used this location for just toob rentals. We called the day before to see how the next day would work. They gave us the wrong information about "calling ahead" and we had to... More 

Helpful?
19 Thank JTravelerHouston
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this review

Our prices are competitive We arrived when you wanted us to. You had to walk only about 30 feet. The facilities were locked because it was during a week day and you never asked to use them and are built from reclaimed material and designed to look old. You were upset because you wa wa wa had to carry your... More 

Travellers who viewed Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?