We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Blues Train

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 20 Symonds St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 1300 885 993
Website
Today
18:30 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Fri - Sat 18:30 - 23:30
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

For something decidedly different and entirely enjoyable, Queenscliff's...

For something decidedly different and entirely enjoyable, Queenscliff's legendary Blues Train is one of Victoria's most spectacular entertainment and dining experiences.The Blues Train departs Queenscliff between the months of August and May, offering a unique musical meal and show. With a capacity of 200 (50 in each of the four carriages) it has become enormously popular as a function venue and can accommodate and provide catering for parties of one to 200 people for a unique dinner and show - including weddings, birthday parties, corporate functions, christmas celebrations and special occasions. The Blues Train event begins at the historic town of Queenscliff. Patrons tuck into a hearty meal prepared by our Blues Train caterers. Drinks to take on the journey are available on the platform from the T-bar in the guard's van, open at each of the four stops.At each stop revellers swap carriages to find a new band tuning-up ready for the next act. One of the carriages only has seating running along each wall. The seating arrangement and up-beat music in this carriage leaves little option other than getting up for a bit of a boogie.But you don't have to dig the blues to enjoy the Blues Train, you just have to be open to a really good time.The Blues Train runs along the old Geelong train line, stopping in turn at Suma Park historic homestead and winery, and then at Drysdale before turning around and making its way back to Queenscliff, again via Suma Park.The Blues Train has hosted many great musicians since its inception, including Aussie blues legends Jimi Hocking, Chris Wilson and Lloyd Spiegel and Aria Award winners Collard Greens and Gravy and Mia Dyson.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 264 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 158
    Excellent
  • 61
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Fantastic!!!

Although we live in Scotland we have been lucky enough to visit Australia every year. We have been on The Blues Train at least 6 times and enjoy it every time! Love the bands, and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
arthur863376
,
Dundee, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 264: English reviews
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although we live in Scotland we have been lucky enough to visit Australia every year. We have been on The Blues Train at least 6 times and enjoy it every time! Love the bands, and being able to change carriages to hear the bands is great fun! The dancing carriage is awesome! Would recommend anyone to come here, Also we... More 

Helpful?
Thank arthur863376
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Blues Trains is a fun night. I'm not even really a fan of blues music, doesn't matter, we all had a ball. 4 different carriages, get to mix things up and sit with different people each time.

Helpful?
Thank Gail C
TheBluesTrain, General Manager at The Blues Train, responded to this review

Hi Gail C, thanks for the awesome review ! Great to hear that you and your group all had such a good time, hopefully we'll see you all on The Blues Train again soon. Kind Regards, The Blues Train More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a pity that such a nice event is tarnish by people drinking too much and a lack of organization. I had the bad experience with dinner. I left my table in the carriage allocated, with two full glasses of wine in order to get my food. When I came back to the place it was taken by another group.... More 

Helpful?
Thank FranciscaBonilla
TheBluesTrain, General Manager at The Blues Train, responded to this review

Hi Francisca, thank you for taking the time to place a review. It's a shame to hear that your night on The Blues train was such a big disappointment. We are sorry to hear you had an altercation with a group of patrons when seating for dinner. We do note that just prior to you collecting your meal your carriage... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was very fun indeed It was worth it As it was very fun And I recommend it to all people That come down to Qweenscliff

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan J
TheBluesTrain, General Manager at The Blues Train, responded to this review

Thanks Jonathan J for taking the time tor write a great review. So good to hear you had a fun night, looking forward to seeing you on The Blues Train again soon, toot toot. More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was a really fun night out and so well organised too no rudeness from anyone at all and the food was yummy too I'd happily highly recommend this to anyone !

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen C
TheBluesTrain, General Manager at The Blues Train, responded to this review

Thanks Ellen C for taking the time to review us and happy birthday to your friend. Great to hear you had fun night and a yummy meal. Looking forward to seeing you an friends on board The Blues Train again very soon. More 

Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me emphasize something right at the outset. The bloody music in carriage D was way too LOUD. It was uncomfortably LOUD. It was LOUD and DISTORTED. I have been to many concerts in my lifetime but this was amateurish, the placement of speakers made it uncomfortable for many patrons in carriages. You can't escape once the train moves....you ask... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank slymest
TheBluesTrain, General Manager at The Blues Train, responded to this review

Hi Slymest, thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your time on The Blues Train. We acknowledge your concerns and unfortunately we accept that we had a volume issue in that carriage on the night of the 28th. Whilst, this issue was rectified by the next stop, we understand that this doesn’t have any bearing on your... More 

Point Cook, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All started on a good note. BUT security did not step in when two couples were obviously hyped up by excessive alcohol. The owner gives a safety talk at the start saying that bad behaviour would not be tolerated but that's exactly what happened. These two couples were loud & rowdy talking loudly over one of the performers with a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank agnes17
TheBluesTrain, General Manager at The Blues Train, responded to this review

Hi agnes17, thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your experience on The Blues Train. We’re sorry that the night didn’t quite live up to your expectations and that another customer verbally abused you. We by no means condone the behaviour of any patron verbally abusing anyone else. The Blues Train tries to cater to a variety... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were really looking forward to the Blues Train experience but sadly it just didn't quite get there. First up, the music and the performers were great and made the whole weekend trip worthwhile. Dinner is included and the meal was tasty, but certainly functional rather than special. The organisation was impressive, managing so many people, and in spite of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank annek3040
TheBluesTrain, General Manager at The Blues Train, responded to this review

Hi Annek3040, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all the feedback we receive! We pride ourselves in having the best of the best when it comes to our musicians, so it’s fantastic to hear you loved it they are the heart of the night! Our staff are very professionally and experienced when it comes to... More 

ballarat
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Whats the word for that experience that you really look forward to,and it just doesn't meet the expectation?Music was fanrastic,fun on the train,food ok,people.The bar was cash only,so we all pay taxes,and carry credit cards.Paying cash for overpriced drinks went out with button up boots.

Helpful?
1 Thank trekkerballarat
TheBluesTrain, General Manager at The Blues Train, responded to this review

Trekkerballart, Thanks for taking the time to review your night on The Blues Train. We're glad to hear you loved the music and the train - it is after all what we have built our reputation on. WOW overpriced drinks... what rock are you hiding under! We price check all our drinks against local bars, pubs , cafes and restaurants... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Had a good time- food was ok, musicians were talented, drinks were too pricey, staff were friendly Would be better in the day to see outside

Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron W
TheBluesTrain, General Manager at The Blues Train, responded to this review

Thanks Aaron W for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor your recent experience on The Blues Train. We understand that everyone has different tastes, be it in food, music or sporting teams. The Blues Train is a tourism-based music experience, a mini-music festival in one night; it is not a restaurant-on-railway / tram tracks. We cater to over... More 

Travellers who viewed The Blues Train also viewed

 
Queenscliff, Victoria
Queenscliff, Victoria
 

Been to The Blues Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Blues Train and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Greater Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Blues Train staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?