We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A wee gem

Played here yesterday for the first time, what a lovely wee course. It was a bit wet underfoot in... read more

Reviewed 19 September 2018
fiss
,
scotland
Great for family fun

Three young boys and two adults took on the golf course - well the par 3 version. One plays the... read more

Reviewed 21 April 2017
JGrant44
,
Cork, Ireland
Read all 18 reviews
20
All photos (20)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good52%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
19 Sep 2018
“A wee gem”
26 Sep 2017
“Lovely golf course”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Jan
Feb
Mar
Contact
Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Website
+44 1770 830273
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
5
8
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
5
8
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Played here yesterday for the first time, what a lovely wee course. It was a bit wet underfoot in places but that is to be expected with the rain we have had. Unfortunately it made some of the bridges quite slippy to walk over. Greens...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank fiss
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank you for this review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed Lochranza Golf. We're sorry the bridge was slippy after the rain- we went out immediately to deal with the problem.

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Spent a lovely morning here,a lovely course,lots of deer stags on the course.Amazing. They took no notice of us.We were worried we would hit one with the ball,but thankfully no.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Faymar_12
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for reviewing Lochranza Golf. We're delighted to know that you had a lovely experience.

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We played here as part of the Arran golf pass, it is without doubt the worst course on Arran. The majority of the course is waterlogged, the greens are awful and generally just poor condition. It is a real shame because the location is great...More

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank AdamC2916
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

It would have been really helpful to us at Lochranza Golf if you had called in for a friendly chat to let us know what the specific problems for you were so that we could do our best to put them right. As you will...More

Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

If I had a course in this surroundings I would play a lot more. Stunning. It has a hazard I've not encountered before. A herd of stags. !

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank andy w
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you. We're really glad to know you enjoyed your experience at Lochranza Golf with its quirky wildlife hazards.

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Expensive for quality of grounds/greens compared to Kintyre and others on Arran Disappointed , however great for family pitch and putt standardMore

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Tewksgirl
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

The fee for 9 holes is £12 as clearly stated on our website. Unlike the other six golf courses on Arran, Lochranza Golf is not a club. It does not make a profit and is kept open by goodwill because we value it as a...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

Three young boys and two adults took on the golf course - well the par 3 version. One plays the same holes as on the full size course but using tee boxes closer to the green. It is very informal and may not please the...More

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank JGrant44
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking time to review us- it was clear you were having fun, even in the rain. We created the pitch and putt course in response to a demand for shorter golf and golf for novices. Lochranza Golf Course is first...More

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I are not golfers but we had a couple of hours spare and the prospect of 'having a go' on a sunny afternoon was an opportunity not to be missed. The manager cum campsite warden was very welcoming and more than happy...More

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Chris_and_Jean
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you for your carefully-considered review. We are glad you enjoyed Pitch and Putt. It has been very popular this summer. We are not a golf club and do not hold golf competitions but the design of the nine hole golf course does win praise...More

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed playing 9 holes putting for one pound. We played three times! I got better with practice. Beautiful location! We will return next year!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank CHILL617
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Thank you very much for writing this review about the putting. It's good to know you enjoyed it. We intend to add another putting green for next summer so you will have a choice in the future.

Reviewed 17 July 2016

Probably the best place to see wildlife on Arran. The deer use the golf course and I wouldn't like to be there in rutting season. Nice wee challenging 9 hole course with lovely scenery.More

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank CarnegieHoward
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you for this. I'm very glad you enjoyed your golf here. You're right that rutting stags in October are best given a wide berth but it is an amazing time to be in Lochranza- my favourite time of year. The golf course is at...More

Reviewed 24 February 2016

Don't be fooled into thinking this gorgeous 9 hole course will simply be a breeze in the park. It is rated in the top 100 9 hole courses in Scotland. Yes it is gorgeous, you can just pay and play but it will test your...More

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank I H
kath097, Manager at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Thank you for your enthusiasm. It's great to know that you relished the challenges of the course. We appreciate you sharing your experience in this review.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
James R
16 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kath097 | Property representative |
Hi, I can only answer for Lochranza. You can hire golf clubs here and we do not have a dress code. If you search for Golf on Arran you'll find information about the other six courses on the island. Hope this helps.
1
Vote