We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre

#1 of 6 things to do in Comber Features Animals
78 Ballydrain Road, Comber BT23 6EA, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9187 4146
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Good for birdwatching enthusiasts.

Unless you're a birdwatching enthusiast this may have limited appeal. Beyond the initial entrance... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Murph976
via mobile
Educational and Fun

Visited recently with my family including 5-year old twins - we had a great time - entrance fee a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
coffeetime93
,
Northern Ireland
Read all 129 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good29%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (11 reviews)
“castle espie” (32 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
78 Ballydrain Road, Comber BT23 6EA, Northern Ireland
CONTACT
Website
+44 28 9187 4146
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unless you're a birdwatching enthusiast this may have limited appeal. Beyond the initial entrance ponds there was little to see when we went. It possibly didn't help that the duck hatchery was closed. Its definately worth a visit if questionably worth the entrance fee. Sensory...More

Thank Murph976
MMM3103, Marketing and Communications Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this review

Hi Murph976 Thank you for taking the time to review you visit to Castle Espie - feedback is very important to us. Our duckery is currently under construction, which is why it is unfortunately closed to the public at the moment. I am sorry if...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited recently with my family including 5-year old twins - we had a great time - entrance fee a little pricey but we had an amazing day. Lots to see and plenty of picnic places throughout the site - lovely wishing tree and play forest....More

Thank coffeetime93
MMM3103, Marketing and Communications Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this review

Hi coffeetime93 Thanks for taking the time to write us this lovely review - feedback is very important to us and we love hearing about people's days out at the centre. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called on May Day. Place was very busy as it was such a beautiful day. Went into cafe and had the worst cup of coffee and muffin ever. The tables weren't cleared, plates of half eaten food which should have been removed. Such a shame...More

Thank shashajor
MMM3103, Marketing and Communications Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this review

Hi shashajor Thank you for taking the time to write this review - feedback is extremely important to us, so we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. I would like to pass on my sincerest apologies that you did...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with granddaughter, although have been many times before with daughters and couldn't wait to return with them and their children. Always something of interest going on and the number of different birds on show is amazing and they are quite tame and are easy...More

Thank Robert C
MMM3103, Marketing and Communications Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this review

Hi Robert C Thank you for taking the time to write this review - feedback is very important to us and we love to hear about people's days out! It is fantastic to hear that you and your family have had many happy memories here,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent Sunday morning here with my family. Good food for breakfast and decent value. Entry seemed steep but once in there's so muck to do and look at that I'd recommend a visit to anyone.More

Thank Davidwilliamss1
MMM3103, Marketing and Communications Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this review

Hi Davidwilliamss1 Thanks so much for taking the time to review us - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. As we are a charity, entry prices can be a little higher than the norm, but this goes towards the essential conservation...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is unfortunately £8.50 per adult to gain entry , when you walk thrare ugh initially you see a series of small duck ponds with some small ducks and approx 400 seagulls in my opinion castle espie is on power with a good local park...More

Thank 57EVE
MMM3103, Marketing and Communications Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this review

Hi 57EVE Thanks for taking the time to write this review and I am so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to Castle Espie. Our admission prices are set at this price because we are a charity and all proceeds from admission prices...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

I went to Castle Espie today with my wife and young son. We had arrived early to avoid the queues and the main reason for choosing Castle Espie was a 2 for 1 offer I get with my perks card. On arrival at the till...More

Thank Andrewgmurphy
MMM3103, Marketing and Communications Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this review

Hi Andrewgmurphy I am sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit to Castle Espie. Firstly, in regards to the perks card, it is clearly expressed in the T&Cs that the offer is not valid on event days. I do apologise if this wasn't...More

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Came here almost 3 years ago with ny eldest who then was 9 and back then i thought refurbishments were going on. Came yesterday with my son whos now 12 and my 18month old daughter and was very disappointed. 1. Upon arrival they guy at...More

Thank Zoe C
MMM3103, Marketing and Communications Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this review

Hi Zoe C I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to Castle Espie. You most certainly should not have been charged gift aid without being asked, and I am surprised to hear this as we cannot normally process this without...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

A great day out all be it cool, but it is February so didn't expect heatwave in NI. Fantastic walk made extra special by the very, very informative volunteers, willing to assist when need be BUT not overpowering. The hides and pools were a great...More

Thank vianalky1950
MMM3103, Marketing and Communications Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this review

Hi vianalky1950 Thank you for taking he time to leave us a review - feedback is so important to us and we love hearing about people's days out at Castle Espie. I am so delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit, and I know the...More

Reviewed 9 February 2017

Very much worth the money here, free parking too which is a bonus. The cafe was not really good around 15-20 minute wait for drinks really surprising. However in the main here to see the various ducks etc. There is plenty to do and a...More

Thank PaulGlasgow1
MMM3103, Marketing and Communications Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this review

Hi PaulGlasgow1 Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Castle Espie. Feedback is very important to us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and would like to apologise for the long wait in the café - this...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sugarcane Cafe Bistro
442 reviews
3.87 km away
Balloo House Bistro
462 reviews
6.49 km away
TT Bistro
236 reviews
4.47 km away
Daft Eddies
516 reviews
5.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pure Day Spa
120 reviews
5.17 km away
Mount Stewart House
709 reviews
6.42 km away
Nendrum Monastic Site
66 reviews
4.75 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Pr4da
How much to get in
31 October 2016|
Answer
Response from MMM3103 | Property representative |
Hi Pr4da - admission costs vary depending on age etc. - here is a list of all costs. The more expensive of each option is admission with gift aid, but that is not essential; Adult: £8.20 or £7.45 Concession (65... More
1
Vote