We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island View Riding Stables

Features Animals
| Mount Temple, Moneygold, Grange, Ireland
+353 71 916 6156
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Beach Ride

My family and I had a generally positive experience with the beach ride. They take you along the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
AlexanderD
,
New Jersey
via mobile
Riding trip

We were 6 riders of different levels and different wishes. The stable arranged wonderful trips for... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
6Saga
,
Espoo, Finland
Read all 127 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
For the time of your life on horseback! Island View is a family run Trekking centre and riding school that offer horse riding for all- beginners or experienced, children or adults. Beach rides, lessons, day rides to the stables' private island, residential holiday packages and short breaks are available all year round.
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good14%
  • Average2%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
| Mount Temple, Moneygold, Grange, Ireland
CONTACT
Website
+353 71 916 6156
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour beach ride"
in 7 reviews
"riding experience"
in 6 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 4 reviews
"amazing scenery"
in 3 reviews
"lovely guide"
in 2 reviews
"stunning beach"
in 2 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful week"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful ride"
in 2 reviews
"horse ride"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful horses"
in 2 reviews
"canter"
in 14 reviews
"trotting"
in 7 reviews
"treks"
in 8 reviews
"rode"
in 9 reviews
"horseback"
in 7 reviews
"novice"
in 12 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My family and I had a generally positive experience with the beach ride. They take you along the road until you reach the beach and then get to ride along and also do some cantering. Another positive is that Island View is easy to get...More

Thank AlexanderD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island View Rid... L, Owner at Island View Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for your nice review. We look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were 6 riders of different levels and different wishes. The stable arranged wonderful trips for us on three days, we saw beautiful landscape and had unforgettable experiences. Our requests were thoroughly heard, both for those who wanted speed and adventure, and for those who...More

Thank 6Saga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseyursi, Owner at Island View Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thanks so much for your lovely review- we are blessed with a beautiful location and love sharing it with our customers. It is also nice to have clients like your group who treat our horses with respect and appreciate them as the lovely reliable horses...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely spot. Great horses,lovely guides and freedom to have a proper hack if you have the experience. Thanks for a great afternoon. Cormac and Piaras

Thank Cormac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseyursi, Owner at Island View Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a lovely review. many thanks for taking the time to share your views. We enjoyed taking your for a ride. best of luck and hopefully we will meet you again sometime.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

What started out as a beautiful experience riding horses on the beach quickly turned south. The two girls who were the trail guides couldn’t have been older than fifteen years old. It started out fine until lead horse got spooked and the rest followed. The...More

3  Thank Hkent1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseyursi, Owner at Island View Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am sorry that the last part of your ride didn't all go according to plan for you, unfortunately horses are not machines and even the most reliable horses can act out of character ( which is a very rare occasion), as I am sure...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

I enjoyed a wonderful ride out on yesterday morning with a very pleasant guide for company. I opted for the one and a half hour trek. My horse Bouncer was great to ride and we enjoyed walks, trots and canter's along a deserted beach. On...More

Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseyursi, Owner at Island View Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

hi, We pride ourselves in having well schooled trekking horses that listen to the rider and we regularly school them ourselves. Its lovely to hear that you appreciated that and obviously you are an experienced discerning rider. So hanks a million for taking the time...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

As the weather had eased some (we had a lot of rain on our drive down from North Donegal, which had all but stopped), I rang up the stables and they said if we arrived earlier, we could start earlier, (whilst the weather was better),...More

Thank QGJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseyursi, Owner at Island View Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, unfortunately, like any other sport or adventure activity riding is not without risks. We always have a first aider available to deal with these'situations'. Its great that you can see it for what it is and appreciate that we aim to run a good...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my 16-year old daughter had a wonderful week with lots of hours in the saddle. We did the atw, which I can fully recommend for experienced riders. We stayed at the B&B the Lookout right next door, which is also great.

Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseyursi, Owner at Island View Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much, what a lovely review and its great to hear that you loved both the rides and the B&B during you one week stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Very nice welcome for our group of four novice riders. We were all happy to trot and very much looking forward to our time on the beach. We were all a bit disappointed then that we walked out in a solemn silent line, walked only...More

Thank 514marianne12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseyursi, Owner at Island View Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

hi , I am sorry you were disappointed with your ride. If you didn't trot much then that was due to the fact that guides figured it wasn't safe to do much more than a short trot with this particular group. Also the fact that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

What a fantastic experience today. A two hour ride on the beach and lanes around Cliffony. it was amazing and Clara our guide made the experience special for us. This must be one of the best horse riding experiences ever. Super horse's, amazing scenery and...More

Thank GlennJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseyursi, Owner at Island View Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

We are delighted with your rating and review! Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We had a terrific time with four kids ages 7-13 riding horses on the beach. Staff put the most nervous of the kids at ease and were very helpful. Highly recommend the experience. Bring cash (no cards)

Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseyursi, Owner at Island View Riding Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thanks for your very nice review. We all enjoyed the ride with your happy jolly bunch of kids. happy New year and all the best to your family for 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1,936 reviews
13.14 km away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
996 reviews
13.43 km away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
161 reviews
14.51 km away
The Holyrood Hotel
1,331 reviews
14.87 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Harrison's Bar and Restaurant
231 reviews
2.65 km away
Langs Bar & Restaurant
300 reviews
3.68 km away
Eithna's by the Sea
308 reviews
6.00 km away
Riva Macari's
19 reviews
4.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Atlantic Sheepdogs
56 reviews
4.98 km away
Gleniff Horseshoe
52 reviews
6.89 km away
Classiebawn Castle
44 reviews
4.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Marie F
15 January 2017|
Answer
Response from horseyursi | Property representative |
hi . Thanks for your enquiry. Its €28 for adults gor a 1hour trek and we do anything from 1 hour up to 5hours. Our website has a listing of all the different rides complete with a short description. The most popular Treks... More
0
Votes