We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Palmetto Hall Plantation Club - Arthur Hills Course

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 108 Fort Howell Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29926-2771
Phone Number: +1 843-342-2582
Website
Description:

Palmetto Hall Plantation Club features 36 holes of pristine golf, immersed...

Palmetto Hall Plantation Club features 36 holes of pristine golf, immersed in Southern elegance and natural beauty, making it a must play for every golfer. The Arthur Hills and Robert Cupp designed courses are premier properties for enjoying the true Hilton Head experience.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 61 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 27
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Challenging course, great staff

We found the Cupp course online for a decent price for a tee time so we decided to play a round. I'm glad we did as the course was a great challenge and not crowded. Our tee... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 July 2016
Charleston_Explorer
,
Charleston, South Carolina
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Festus, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful facility. Staff very helpful. Played the Cupp course, highly recommend it. Great trip. Beautifully area... Full service 19 hole

Helpful?
Thank Tink1757
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
283 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Challenging course, no doubt. Tight and long. The wind and humidity make it play longer. If you're not hitting your driver well prepare to write some HIGH numbers down. The course was I decent shape, above average for sure. It was great for us, but, we didn't see many people on the course. It is the end of July and... More 

Helpful?
Thank yaser z
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2016

We found the Cupp course online for a decent price for a tee time so we decided to play a round. I'm glad we did as the course was a great challenge and not crowded. Our tee was a 2PM afternoon round and it really felt like we had the course to ourselves. I believe we only saw three other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charleston_Explorer
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
195 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

The Hills course is temporarily closed for green renovation. The Cupp course was in real good shape (a portion of a couple greens were being renovated also). Enjoyed two rounds played in less than 4 hours each (one in the morning, one in the afternoon a couple days later).

Helpful?
Thank ghodecker
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Played the Hills course 5/7. Was told by the pro shop that greens were slow & a little bumpy, like they have been aerated. Not even a close description of the worst greens I have ever played. Could not call them "greens" because there was no grass on most of them. Terrible condition...no surprise there was no one on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ceil13
Dan M, General Manager at Palmetto Hall Plantation Club - Arthur Hills Course, responded to this review

I will apologize for you not truly being told the conditions of the Hills greens before you went out on the golf course and your experience here at Palmetto Hall. I would love to discuss where you booked your time and a little more detail about your day here at Palmetto Hall so please call the club and ask for... More 

Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2016

We played the Cupp course twice this week and found it to be in great condition with especially nice greens. The practice area is excellent and allows for all types of practice. We also took lessons from Brad Davis (pro at the club) which were outstanding. He is very skilled in correcting swing flaws and providing uncomplicated corrections. I highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrichards1150
South Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

I played at Arthur Hills twice and was thoroughly impressed on several levels. From the customer service, to the quality of the course and pace of play everything was top notch. The highlight of my time there was receiving a lesson from club pro, Samm Wolfe between rounds. Samm was able to dissect some of my flaws and correct them.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gabe R
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

This was the third course our group played in three days. Overall best condition, the greens were nice, rolled pretty well and true. The fairways were still nothing great, very tight lies even in the middle kid the fairway. Food and beverage service was not great. Very little on the seldom seem beverage cart, nothing in the grille.

Helpful?
Thank Steve K
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Greens were absolutely terrible. Would not play there again any time soon. Recommend going elsewhere! All grass almost gone, mud and dirt.

Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Dan M, General Manager at Palmetto Hall Plantation Club - Arthur Hills Course, responded to this review

Let me first apologize for the experience you had at Palmetto Hall and the condition of the Hills greens. The transition has not been kind to that course and we did not put our best foot forward. I would like to extend an offer to come back at your convenience as my guest and give us the opportunity to show... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Two very good, and walkable, courses. The staff was very friendly, practice range was in good shape, and the courses were difficult but fair. Even in January the conditions were good, greens were consistent, and the fairways firm. For the price, I paid about $25, this place can't be beat.

Review collected in partnership with Windows 10 app

Helpful?
Thank sologolfer
Dan M, General Manager at Palmetto Hall Plantation Club - Arthur Hills Course, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments and glad you had a great time at Palmetto Hall. We look forward to having you back soon! Dan More 

Travellers who viewed Palmetto Hall Plantation Club - Arthur Hills Course also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Palmetto Hall Plantation Club - Arthur Hills Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Palmetto Hall Plantation Club - Arthur Hills Course and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Davidson, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Palmetto Hall Plantation Club - Arthur Hills Course staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?