We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hopsewee Plantation

494 Hopsewee Rd, Georgetown, SC 29440-5598
+1 843-546-7891
Website
Save
Review Highlights
No electricity for 2 days-did not pay, did not stay

Stopped by 2 times last week, the clerk told us no electricity on but generator on for food, we... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
LaRee H
,
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Worth the Visit!

We had a great visit to Hopsewee Plantation. The tour was informative and everyone we met went out... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Carolyn W
,
Charlotte, North Carolina
Read all 482 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Hopsewee Plantation is an original lowcountry rice plantation on the North Santee Rive built between 1735 and 1740. Birthplace of Thomas Lynch Jr., Hopsewee is one of just 12 remaining birthplaces of Signers of the Declaration of Independence. The home has not been modified from its original design and is furnished with 18th and 19th century antiques. Two original slave cabins remain on the property. The guided tour explores the history of the Patriots and Planters who lived at Hopsewee while you explore the architectural features of the house from Attic to Cellar. Enjoy the hour long tour or just come for lunch in The River Oak Cottage Tearoom with Lowcountry favorites such as Shrimp and Grits, Pulled Pork, Soups and Sandwiches and our Southern Tea service modeled after a British Afternoon Tea.
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good21%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“tea room” (166 reviews)
“tea house” (32 reviews)
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
494 Hopsewee Rd, Georgetown, SC 29440-5598
CONTACT
Website
+1 843-546-7891
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped by 2 times last week, the clerk told us no electricity on but generator on for food, we would not eat there if only had that small generator running for 2 days. Decided not to stay for tour, no one knew why electricity was...More

Thank LaRee H
RaejeanB, Owner at Hopsewee Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Our power was out for a brief time (less than 2 hours) each time due to circumstances beyond our control. The automatic generator came on immediately to keep all our foods at safe temperatures. Sorry this happened when you came.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great visit to Hopsewee Plantation. The tour was informative and everyone we met went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. Be sure to plan your tour for a time that allows you to eat at the Tea Room. Great...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Carolyn W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were both very pleased with the tour of Hopsewee. The lady who was our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the house and the owners, past and present.She was very personable and answered all of our questions. We would highly recommend this tour. On a...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank elbryo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I always like to visit historical places wherever I visit. This is a must see! Lovely grounds and the house tour was awesome. I particularly enjoyed the beautiful original woodwork in all the rooms. Had never seen birthday candle crown molding. Everything is preserved in...More

Thank b2002lab
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hopsewee is the perfect place to learn the history of the SC rice plantation era at a real live plantation home. In an engaging 45 minutes, docent Jean shared life, customs, history &geography in an insightful way. We then enjoyed a delightful tea with delicious...More

Thank jacquelynn605
Raejean B, Owner at Hopsewee Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So glad you enjoyed! We look forward to having you come back to visit!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a beautiful old plantation in a wonderful setting. The house is lovely and full of artistic, vintage items of furniture, artwork and construction, particularly crown molding, chair rail and fireplaces. There is a wonderfully informative plantation tour with a very knowledgeable guide. You...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank rosemariede
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Awesome. Your docent is very informative. This home is occupied by the famiily who currantly owns it. You are allowed to examine the attic and the cellar. Very interesting.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Pamela C
Reviewed 14 October 2017

tour of home was interesting with historical info well given by the guide including Black history info. But they squeezed in too many people(almost 20) & all you could see in the small rooms were heads. You had to wait until the group moved to...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank kevdale
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The road trip was worth it to have lunch in the Hopsewee restaurant. Charming ambience and real southern fare without the grease and sugar ....excellent choices. You can't go wrong. I was there with my friend Nathalie Dupree who knows her southern food and she...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank 700ScarlettOhara
Reviewed 11 October 2017

House is very much the original and lived in by the owners - so thank you for letting us visit. Our tour guide was very informative and helped give a flavour of life back then. There are several exhibits to see, including an old building...More

Thank Peter C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
T.W. Graham & Company Seafood Restaurant
241 reviews
15.30 km away
River Room
518 reviews
19.68 km away
McClellanville Diner
32 reviews
16.58 km away
Big Tuna Raw Bar
247 reviews
19.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Washo Reserve
6 reviews
7.19 km away
Georgetown Harborwalk
229 reviews
19.68 km away
Hampton Plantation State Historic Site
149 reviews
4.75 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JMJR76
15 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from RaejeanB | Property representative |
Thanks Ethel! You are correct! If you purchase your tickets in advance, we return the 6% fee charged to be used in the tearoom. When making reservations online, we charge $5 per person which we return to you along with... More
1
Vote
NantucketBasket
9 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Annette K | Reviewed this property |
Yes we actually are scheduled for a tour and tea for the 24 th
0
Votes