We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Charleston's Finest Historic Tours

#90 of 216 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 375 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC
Phone Number:
+1 843-577-3311
Website
Description:

Tour Charleston by bus or on foot with genuine local flavor. Combine the...

Tour Charleston by bus or on foot with genuine local flavor. Combine the city tour by bus and Magnolia Plantation and Gardens for a complete Charleston experience. Along the way your tour guides will share and entertain you with you their knowledge of Charleston's rich history, famous landmarks and colorful characters.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 74 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 52
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Enjoyed This Immensely

My wife and I took the combined all-day Charleston City Tour and Magnolia Plantation Tour. Our guide is named Will, and he did a terrific job for us. From the time he picked us up... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 May 2016
Tom D
,
Bay Harbor, Michigan

Similar Things to Do in Charleston

Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016

I booked a walking dog tour with Charleston Finest Historic Tours and late that night I was sent this cancellation message: ' Alan, we had to cancel our tour tomorrow because of mechanical problem. I will refund your ticket thru Tix. Call: Grayline or Adventure Tours may be able to take you. Thanks, Jo' I am guessing they cancelled due... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allen B
new jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

This trip covered what we wanted to see at Magnolia Plantation, however, we have never felt so rushed and I'll informed. A good buy, saved us driving and covered the basic Plantation experience. However, wished we had skipped what Will suggested when we arrived. Should have headed around the house to the river and explored more of the garden. Tour... More 

Helpful?
Thank mathmomnj
Bay Harbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2016

My wife and I took the combined all-day Charleston City Tour and Magnolia Plantation Tour. Our guide is named Will, and he did a terrific job for us. From the time he picked us up at our hotel until he dropped us off we had a fun and interesting experience. I highly recommend both this company and this guide to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
Monson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2016

Will was an amazing tour guide. His knowledge and humor was greatly appreciated. We did the historic downtown and Mansion combination tour. Certainly a good way to get a feel for the city as well as visit Magnolia Plantation. While the azaleas were past peak, it was still a great visit. The gardens and outlying areas were very entertaining.

Helpful?
1 Thank Leona B
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2016

The city tour was so informative and the Magnolia Plantation tour was fun. But the best part was our tour guide, Will. He really knew his info and kept us entertained the whole day. Thank you,Will for a great time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda S
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We reserved a tour for 3 people the day before and provided a cell phone number. The next day we paid for the tickets at the Visitor Center and sat waiting for the bus, which never showed. Went back inside and a Visitor Center employee called the company to ask about the bus. Turns out the AC was broken and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sister67_13
JosephineG1, Manager at Charleston's Finest Historic Tours, responded to this review

The Visitor Center always was/is notified first of any cancellations for our company. However, THERE ARE many people working in Center and apparently someone did not get the notification, which can happen in the rush of many visitors. We are glad the visitors were able to get a tour and apologize for their inconvenience. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

A+ all day tour with Will. Will was professional, educated, friendly and fun. My husband and I had an AWESOME day with Will and we learned so much. I only hope that Charleston Finest Tours realizes the quality of this employee. Rick and Karen Edmiston from Florida.

Helpful?
Thank Kedmist
JosephineG1, Manager at Charleston's Finest Historic Tours, responded to this review

Rick and Karen, Thanks for the great feedback! Yes, we know what a great job Will does and appreciate your taking the time to let others know , as well. More 

Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2015

We called the day before we wanted to go on a combo tour (city and Magnolia Plantation). They picked us up at our hotel near the market at 9:45am. Our driver, Will, was awesome - he's been working on his presentation for years and is very good at it. We really enjoyed it and learned a lot of interesting history.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelly R
South Carolina
Level Contributor
379 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2015

Jeff with Charleston's Finest picked us up at 10am at our hotel and took us to the visitors center to get tickets and at 1030am we promptly departed via bus and the narrated bus tour started. Very informative tour and well worth the cost. At the end of the tour,Jeff was kind enough to let us get off at the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaCoopers
south jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

We came from N.J. on a bus tour. We had the walk on guide and used our own bus and driver. The guide was very rude to our driver. The bus was big and the streets are small. Could not stop or pull over to get good pictures of anything but the Citadel and Fort Sumter (and you can only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SouthJerseyGrammy5
JosephineG1, Owner at Charleston's Finest Historic Tours, responded to this review

Since we do not make the rules for tour buses stopping on narrow city streets, that is an issue you should address to the City of Charleston. Fort Sumter is in the Charleston Harbour surrounded by water, almost one mile off shore. You would need to take a boat tour to see the Fort in detail and you were on... More 

Travellers who viewed Charleston's Finest Historic Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston's Finest Historic Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charleston's Finest Historic Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?