We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ghosts of The South

Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 84 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3202
Phone Number: +1 843-343-9255
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 22:00
Description:

This Tour Company is located in downtown Charleston, SC. And has been in...

This Tour Company is located in downtown Charleston, SC. And has been in business for approximately eight years. The company offers Ghost Tours nightly of the Historical District.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 139 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 92
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Nice way to spend the evening

Our guide was informative and wove together the local lore and history very well. The walk is at a good pace with breaks and the time is over before you notice it. While I... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
tanyap924
,
Louisville, Kentucky
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our guide was informative and wove together the local lore and history very well. The walk is at a good pace with breaks and the time is over before you notice it. While I noted in some reviews that people were upset that you couldn't get into the graveyards and such, it is private property so you cannot expect the... More 

Helpful?
Thank tanyap924
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was disappointed with this tour. It was advertised as a candlelight tour. When we got there and asked about candles we were told there weren't any, that was just the name of the company. That is not what the advertising implied. After much convincing of my friend that this wouldn't be scary, it was ruined by the guide jumping... More 

Helpful?
Thank BellePiper
haunted29401, Front Office Manager at Ghosts of The South, responded to this review

Correct, the guests do not carry candles. We stopped this practice years ago at the advice of our insurance company. Also many guests found this juvenile. We will not apologies for a guide who was enthusiastic and was engaging with the guests. Maybe you should have chosen a dull/boring and non-enthusiastic tour. Also as our standard practice we contacted other... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our tour was rained out the first try and the following night we called John to see if he had room for our group of 4........lucky for us he had room and we enjoyed a great tour of the old historical area of Charleston. John was so knowledgeable, sharing ghost stories, picture of the sprits, history of the buildings and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

John was our tour guide and he made this tour really fun! He told stories about Charleston and showed us pictures of ghosts! Really fun and interesting. Total walk is really only about a mile and not difficult.

Helpful?
Thank dwilkes
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

John did a great job mixing Charleston history and ghost stories with pictures. We had a small group which provided a nice personal touch.

Helpful?
Thank sunray85
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

We participated in the 8pm tour with John. My husband and I have been on a variety of ghost tours and this one did not disappoint. John knew a ton about Charleston's history and shared his knowledge in a fun and engaging manner. During his stories, he shared pictures on an iPad which greatly enhanced the overall experience. Definitely recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank NoVaTraveller82
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

I found the tour guide to be a bit rude and prior to handing over the cash only payment I chose not to spend 80-90 minutes with him. I have never written a negative review about any experience i have had but I felt the need to this time. Perhaps it was just a personality clash or he was having... More 

Helpful?
Thank 916eileenp
haunted29401, Guest Relations Manager at Ghosts of The South, responded to this review

We investigated this complaint. And we found that it was exactly as you stated. "A clash with personality's" . No one else complained about this guides personality. We contacted people who were on the tour that specific night who witnessed "the clash" . And they all said, the guide acted as professional as he could under the circumstances. More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Outstanding tour with John; his love of history and knowledge of Charleston comes through naturally through his excellent storytelling. A terrific guide makes all the difference and you won't regret taking this tour with John.

Helpful?
Thank grekar2
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We took part in the ghost tour at 8pm through ghosts of the south. John the tour guide was very informative as well as being very personable and professional. We got to see a lot of really interesting historical sites and the ghost pictures were impressive to say the least. I'd go back on this tour in the future.

Helpful?
Thank chrisv94
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Great tour. She is very intellectual about the area and the spirits. Couldn't be more happier with my first ghost tour

Helpful?
Thank Austin D

Travellers who viewed Ghosts of The South also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ghosts of The South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ghosts of The South staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?