We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beaufort River Tours

1006 Bay St, Downtown Marina of Beaufort, Beaufort, SC 29902-5570
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Relax and learn along the bay

We love taking boat cruises. It's a great way to relax and learn about local history, culture and... read more

Reviewed 10 April 2018
Medina J
via mobile
Super disappointed

In town from out of state and panned on taking the river tour. When we contacted Captain Dick he... read more

Reviewed 29 December 2017
Lynne M
,
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 60 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Dolphins where they live and play; ecology of the salt marsh; homes of the planters; shore and wading birds; major motion picture sites.
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“sunset cruise” (6 reviews)
“boat ride” (5 reviews)
LOCATION
1006 Bay St, Downtown Marina of Beaufort, Beaufort, SC 29902-5570
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain lawrence"
in 6 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 6 reviews
"boat ride"
in 5 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 5 reviews
"bottle nose dolphins"
in 2 reviews
"dolphins playing"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 3 reviews
"relaxing ride"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful town"
in 2 reviews
"dick"
in 17 reviews
"prince"
in 13 reviews
"tides"
in 13 reviews
"marsh"
in 6 reviews
"wildlife"
in 6 reviews
"crew"
in 3 reviews
"homes"
in 9 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We love taking boat cruises. It's a great way to relax and learn about local history, culture and ecology. Captain Dick is knowledgeable and friendly. Just dress warm if it's cool and take a nice beverage to sip on while cruising. We ate at Panini's...More

1  Thank Medina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at Beaufort River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you, and I agree with you about Panini's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

In town from out of state and panned on taking the river tour. When we contacted Captain Dick he indicated he did not want to go out on the river "too cold" despite being 50 degrees and his website stating he does the tours year...More

3  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at Beaufort River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

The wind-chill was around 43; no one would have enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

It was definitely worth the money. Captain Lawrence was very receptive to showcase my us what we wanted to see.

Thank dfinley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Spent an amazing afternoon on the Prince of Tides. Captain Laurence & his First Mate James were friendly, informative and "Funny!" We learned so much about the area and the views of Beaufort and the islands from the water were gorgeous. Capt. Laurence took extra...More

Thank Btassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We are frequent visitors to Beaufort and we love the area. In face, we love the area so much that we purchased a villa on Harbor Island. We made a reservation for the Dolphin Tour on two separate occasions, on two separate visits, and both...More

7  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at Beaufort River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Sorry, but that's the best we can do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

While we only saw 2 dolphins the boat tour was great. Learned so much about the tidal areas, the marshes, antebellum history, bridges, hurricanes, ecosystem and more. The captain made the ride so interesting and educational. A great way to see this beautiful coastal area...More

2  Thank j0anne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at Beaufort River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Capt cancelled trip with blue skies and no threat of rain. We were not offered a discount or apologized to. They were rude, rude, RUDE! They only seem to want to make a quick buck (it wasn't a full boat), and not in the true...More

5  Thank JanieDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at Beaufort River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

It poured rain 20 minutes later

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Our experience was terrible. We called in the morning and was told "you need to reserve a spot because they typically fill up." They instructed us to be there 30 minutes early. When we purchased our ticket we were told "looks like you will be...More

6  Thank lreynolds4776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at Beaufort River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

It poured rain 20 minutes later

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

This was a last minute Sunday decision for us, and they happened to have 2 seats available. It was the perfect addition to our trip. Our captain was so informative and pleasantly entertaining, and we saw lots of dolphins. Definitely recommend -- for $20 well...More

2  Thank TheodoraTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at Beaufort River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We took the sunset cruise this weekend, and we can't say enough good things. Captain Lawrence (I think that his name) was very friendly and even asked for input from the passengers about where we wanted to go for the evening. The tour lasted about...More

3  Thank amandao5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Owner at Beaufort River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Beaufort
Best Western Sea Island Inn
853 reviews
.16 km away
The Rhett House Inn
1,052 reviews
.22 km away
The Beaufort Inn
1,387 reviews
.22 km away
City Loft Hotel
1,024 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Bull Tavern
1,082 reviews
.17 km away
City Java & News
229 reviews
.35 km away
Wren Bistro
917 reviews
.33 km away
Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor & Sandwich Shop
183 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bay Street
411 reviews
.11 km away
John Mark Verdier House
74 reviews
.23 km away
Rhett Gallery
36 reviews
.15 km away
Thibault Gallery
19 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Karen r
24 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Richard G | Property representative |
Yes, 2:00 daily
1
Vote
DanielBeaufort
10 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Richard G | Property representative |
Depart at 2:00 return around 3:15
0
Votes
Michelle K
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ScarboroughFair | Reviewed this property |
I would contact Captain Dick's River Tours and ask them your question. If she's small and would stay on your lap, they might consider letting you bring her on board. But, it's always best to clear any unusual requests with... More
0
Votes
;