We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Crowden Hill Farm, Morpeth NE61 3NH, England
Phone Number:
+44 1670 791778
Website
Fee: Yes

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 48 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 30
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Fantastic place to view wildlife

This was a great place to take the kids where they could see wildlife that most people very rarely saw in the wild. A good play area was set to one side for the kids whilst mum... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 April 2016
alan23502016
,
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2016

This was a great place to take the kids where they could see wildlife that most people very rarely saw in the wild. A good play area was set to one side for the kids whilst mum and dad could have a cup of tea. Very sadly now closed.

Helpful?
Thank alan23502016
Kim O, Owner at The Sancuary Wildlife Care Centre, responded to this review

Alan thank you for your review although we were most surprised to see a new one as sadly the centre was closed to visitors by Northumberland County Council in August 2014. Although we cannot allow visitors to see the wildlife due to zoo licensing issues, The Sanctuary in itself is still running on a shoestring ! The animals are still... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2015

We stayed in The Owl's Nest cabin at The Sanctuary and cannot recommend the place highly enough. There is other accommodation on site (The Donkey Barn and The Goat Barn) if you're looking for larger places to rent. What a fabulous place. The animals are diverse, to say the least, and all loved and well cared for. As we stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
Kim O, Owner at The Sancuary Wildlife Care Centre, responded to this review

Hi Shirley Thank you for such a great and positive review - it is much appreciated. Just wanted to say to other readers that The Sanctuary cannot at present offer any more guided tours and unfortunately due to licensing issues, the wildlife areas have now been blocked off and no longer open to the public. However holiday lets guests can... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2015

I stayed with my family and friends for 2 weeks in August. The venue is not open for public due to zoological licence issue which wad suddenly imposed on them in 2014, but as guests at the onsite barn conversion,we were allowed a guided tour to look at the rescued animals, including owls, snakes, peacocks, ending with pony rides around... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mari W
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Sadly the sanctuary isn't open to the public but it is well worth booking one of their guided tour. Kim and Alan are fantastic, very welcoming and knowledgeable. For the price you'll get some hands on experience with many of the animals and they even ensure that everyone has refreshments and biscuits on arrival! The work Kim and Alan and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blackbox2342
Lancashire, Uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2015

Whilst staying close by, we were looking for somewhere to take the children. We saw the sign from the main road and decided to visit. After approx. 10 minutes down a long windy road we arrived to find a sign saying CLOSED!!! Impressed we were not!! Why did they not put the CLOSED sign on the main road. We wasted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank emmaLancashire_uk
Kim O, Owner at The Sancuary Wildlife Care Centre, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you travelled here to find The Sanctuary is closed. The Sanctuary has been closed to the public for visits since August 2014. However, there are Closed signs clearly displayed in the village of Ulgham which is 1 mile from the centre and although a country lane - does not take 10 mins but no... More 

Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2015

Due to the zoo license issues at the moment, the sanctuary isn't open to the public but I cannot recommend the guided tours enough! Kim went out of her way to fit us in, we were meant to be part of a larger group but sadly some people dropped out. We got to get really close to lots of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank visablewoman
Kim O, Owner at The Sancuary Wildlife Care Centre, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your tour of The Sanctuary and especially meeting some of the animals up so close. We were lucky with the beautiful sunshine too weren't we ?! Thank you for mentioning in your review about the fact The Sanctuary is closed now for general admission due to the zoo license issue but as you say... More 

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2014

My husband and I loved our stay even though the weather was not so good. Loved waking up in the morning to the cockerals crowing and the donkeys braying. You need plenty of ginger biscuits to keep the donkeys and horses happy. The cottage was lovely and it was very peaceful which suited us both as we just needed to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Amazing place that obviously takes good care of all the animals that it has rescued. It is not a large attraction but we spent a great hour there with our children aged 3 and 5. They really loved feeding the ponies and we were so lucky to see the fox too ! A real first for our kids. The play... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mac_man2014
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

what a total rip off and so boring. do not take small children unless you want them asleep all morning. we were in there for 20 mins so bored and will not return

Helpful?
2 Thank blackbean33
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Myself, partner and 7 year old visited here today as we are all animal lovers and knowing The Sanctuary is in need of as much financial help as possible thought it would be good to go and give our support. To start with please don't go if what you expect is a children's petting farm then come on here and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Gary W

Travellers who viewed The Sancuary Wildlife Care Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Sancuary Wildlife Care Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Sancuary Wildlife Care Centre and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Sancuary Wildlife Care Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?